We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best sushi in DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Momo Sushi & Cafe

Momo Sushi & Cafe
212 Queen St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2613 (Old Town)
703-299-9092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 615 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Old Town
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best sushi in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hands down some of the best sushi I have ever had! Highly recommed for any sushi snob- plus the service is great. I eat here regularly and have never been disapointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    30
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasty, Authentic Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I ate at Momo Sushi while attending a business conference in Alexandria in November 2012. The location is just off the main tourist area, and the restaurant was busy on a Friday night with lots of locals in attendance. I ate at the sushi bar, which was the only spot available. I ordered a variety of sushi items a la carte- sea urchin, octopus, baby octopus, clam, and a few different rolls (spicy tuna, california, and crunchy seaweed). The food was prepared upon request, and everything tasted fresh and delicious. Momo Sushi has a variety of beers from Asia although no beers were on tap, which is a bit of a disappointment. I will return if I am in the area again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Old Town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Pricey but FANTASTIC sushi. Went here for a lunch date and was pleasantly surprised. The service was great but was pricey. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After trying the other selections in old town, this is by far the best. The atmosphere is nice, but slightly cramped downstairs (have not been upstairs yet). Everything tasted fresh, friendly staff and quick service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Sushi for DC area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Not the best sushi in the world, but worth a visit if you live in the area. Of course, this is the DC area, so expectations are lower than a restaurant in Japan. Cramp seating on the first floor, so ask to sit upstairs if you want more space--note: they do not accept reservations. My group tried the sushi, tempura, teriyaki and yakisoba--the plates were empty at the end of dinner. A bit pricey for sushi, but again the cost reflects the location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momo Sushi & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Momo Sushi & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momo Sushi & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.