We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, pleasant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice location, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I booked through priceline and wound up with $80 for 4 nights of the stay, and $120 for the last night of our trip. I feel we got great value for the price. As someone with food allergies, I appreciated the closeness to Trader Joe's and Giant, as well as the in-room minifridge and microwave. The free shuttle to the metro was nice, as well, as after trudging around DC all day it was great not to have a 20 minute walk back to the hotel!
My one complaint would be the really sharp-cornered coffee table - my 5 year old stumbled taking the couch cushions off to make up the sofa bed, and got a nasty bruise on his back from the table. However, when I called to notify the front desk, they sent someone up right away to remove the table from our room, which meant no more accidents and more room to move around.
I would have liked a little more privacy - the doors between the bedroom and living area are only covered by sheers, and the bathroom door into the bedroom couldn't be locked.
Internet was pricey, at $10 a day - I'm used to even low-budget hotels having free wireless, and it felt like one more way to up the rate. Parking was $22 a day, which is expensive as well, but well worth it for the peace of mind. The garage was well lit and felt safe, even late at night. All in all, it was a nice place to stay, and if I could get the same rate I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    148
    55
    35
    15
See reviews for
111
66
20
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

We just came back from Washington DC after traveling for a week with two young children (5 & 7 years old). We reserved our room through Priceline and got a rate of about $100 after taxes. I was a little worried at first since it showed the Metro was 7 blocks away and King St (Old Town) also about 7 blocks away. The walk to Old Town takes you about 10-15 minutes and it is a beautiful walk. For the Metro at times we walked (also about 10 minute walk) and a couple of times we took the public bus (stop less than 1 block away) to the Metro. It wasn't an inconvenience at all.

The location of the hotel was great. We had a grocery store 1 block away and there was a Trader Joe's about 2-3 block away. We bought water and drinks, milk and cereal for breakfast and kept it in the small fridge we had in our room. Great for the kids!

The room was nice. It wasn't big but very comfortable. It was nice to have the bed with french doors separating the living area. We did use the sofa bed since we had our kids.

The hotel was very clean. Our room was clean and housekeeping did a great job. A couple of times they only would leave two towels but we called and in 10 minutes or less towels were brought to our room. Good service!

We used the shuttle that takes you to King St a couple of times when there was not much wait. We would have dinner at Old Town and when we were ready to go back to the hotel and didn't want to walk we would call them for a pick up. We would wait from 10-15 minutes but it didnt matter since we enjoyed walking the streets of Old Town.

Overall, great place to stay. Can't wait to go back to Alexandria and stay at the same place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

First the plusses: it's a reasonable walk from old town Alexandria if the weather is cooperative - but at 20 minutes or so, you'll want a cab if it's cold or rainy. The suites are okay if you're traveling alone or a couple, but if you have three need the sofabed, there will not be enough room left for suitecases (not to mention that the door between the living room and bedroom is glass and afford zero privacy, so why bother with a suite at all?) Service in the bar was okay; we didn't try the restaurant. Parking is underground and covered with direct access to the hotel. The fitness center was small but better equipped than many. We didn't use the pool or sauna but they looked pretty nice.

The minuses: the room was microscopic and (despite being nonsmoking) smelled of smoke. The staff couldn't seem to figure out, in three days and despite reminder phone calls, that three people registered in the room need three sets of towels, not two. The smoke detector was mysteriously missing one day, with wires hanging out of the wall, and back the next day - with no explanation, or even a message that staff would be working in our room. There was no in-room safe. The front desk staff seem to have been trained to avoid eye contact at all costs; twice we were standing there several minutes, with more staff members behind the desk than guests in front of it, with no acknowlegement whatsover.

As for the club level lounge, don't bother if you have to pay for it - it wasn't even open during the only evening hours we wanted to use it (despite being told it should be); the breakfast was pretty marginal and there were signs saying not to take food out of the lounge (really? i can't take breakfast back to my rom? that's a first!)

My overall impression was one of marginal facilities, with poor management that can't execute decent quality control or train their staff. I'd stay there again if I had to, but would stay elsewhere if I could.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 31, 2009
As the General Manager of the Sheraton Suites I am always disappointed to hear of unpleasant experiences, but I must admit it is not appropriate to over exaggerate and the motives of these comments are questionable.
The rooms are one bedroom suites with separate entrances to the bathroom and with French glass doors dividing the sleeping area and the living room that have sheers to block the site for privacy. Separately the living room and the bedroom could be considered small but together they are quite spacious especially when you consider the rates are the same at most hotels where you just get a room and most of our guests are thrilled when they get a suite for the same price. Each room also has 2 37 inch flat panel TV's one in the living room and one in the bedroom. Please visit our web site and you will see photos that give accurate appearances of our facility.
Our rooms are stocked with supplies for up to 2 persons and many times guests do not tell us that there are multiple people occupying the rooms. We are happy to send up additional supplies.
The rooms do not have safes but we offer them at the reception desk. During our room cleaning process the staff noticed you had a damaged smoke detector and immediately replaced it. They should have mentioned this to you and of course I am sorry they did not but I will address it with our staff.
The Club lounge is open for breakfast 7 days a week but we advise people not to take food from the club. Unfortunately, some guests stock up on food in there rooms and the club is not designed as a free to guest convenience store.
While I am very sorry that we did not deliver the service you expect you can be sure we will use your comments proactively so we can improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

My husband and I booked a room here for $119 (February 2009) for an overnight getaway and to visit Old Town Alexandria. It is a GOOD 8 blocks (15 -20 min walk) to downtown from here and since it is a little chilly we decided to drive into town. On a nice summer or spring day, just enjoy the walk!
We arrived at 10:30 am and even though check in wasnt until 3:00, the front desk was very friendly and checked us in. They have their own parking garage which requires room key access at $22.00 a night.
We had called room service for lunch and had they had just closed, but they told us if we ordered within five minutes they could still squeeze us in and they delivered within 20 minutes to our room.
The bed is SUPER comfortable, great big pillows, comfy linens. The bedroom has a 32 inch flat screen and there is another in the living area. These rooms are sold as "suites" and although they are nice the living area is on the small side. If you have more than 3-4 people (with the exception of smaller children) in the room. The bathroom is nice, your average hotel bathroom, nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Address: 801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.