We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Erie, Colorado, Usa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel was comfortable. Pool is only 3 feet deep for the whole length, but that was good for the little ones. Had asked for connecting rooms but were not able to get them due to a group being there. Restaurant was closed for dinner due to this same group. Ate across the street and had a nice meal. Breakfast was good, especially for a free buffet. Unfortunately, the wait staff seemed upset...perhaps because they felt they wouldn't get a tip????? We left one and always do so even when the buffet is included in price of the room. After all, they put juice and coffee on the table and got milk for the little ones and had to bus the dirty dishes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. Sorry that we weren't able to meet all of your dining needs but, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    167
    63
    39
    15
See reviews for
123
76
24
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton on July 12th while visiting colleges in the Washington area. The Sheraton was only a few miles from the city and the airport. We were able to take the hotel shuttle to the airport and then hop on the metro to head into the city. This was a great feature if you don’t want to drive in and out the city. There is also a metro stop about seven blocks from the hotel. However, its not in the best neighborhood.

The hotel was very pleasant. The lobby is nice and the staff was great. They recommended a great steak place around the corner and were very attentive to our needs. The front desk clerk said we can park for free on the street as long as we move our car before 11 am. That wasn’t a problem for us. So we parked for free.

We stayed in a suite and it was nicely appointed. The living room was divided by French doors. However the white paper thin blinds didn’t give much privacy. The coffee maker with the tea/coffee was a great touch. Overall it was good hotel and offered a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Sheraton and thoroughly enjoyed it. The suite was large, with the bedroom separated from the "living room" by beautiful french doors. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was awesome! Everything was clean and well maintained. The room had a small refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee maker with both coffee and tea available. The hotel is not in the "heart of the city", so we did have to drive our car to the Metro station. (By car, it took only about 5 minutes, and I suppose one could walk if you weren't carrying a lot of things). There is a supermarket, a Trader Joe's, and several restaurants within walking distance though. We went to an excellent one called King Street Blues that was only .6 miles away. It was beautiful walking there through the residential area and viewing the old townhouses. We even passed a street that was made by Hessian soldiers out of cobble-stones. Despite a large family reunion at the hotel, it was quiet on the floor that we were on. The only annoying thing about the hotel was that the garage sensor did not work, so every time we wanted to get in or out of the parking garage, we had to "buzz" the front desk. It was also somewhat annoying that we had to pay for internet and for parking; why not just add it to the cost of the room? Speaking of which, we used a special rate for our trip: first night was $119 and the next was the last 2 digits of your birth-year (which meant our 2nd night was $58!). While there, my husband did use the gym, and said it was small but had everything he needed. While most of the staff was friendly, the check-in people were "just doing a job", albeit it was after midnight when we checked in. Still, they did not "greet us", and continued to "work on paperwork" until we said hi to them. To top it off, our bill was then incorrect when we went to check out (the guy who checked us in did not give us the special rate, despite booking us under it), but the morning desk people took care of it promptly and apologized for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments an your constructive advice. We hope that you will choose us again for your future stays in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in Sheraton Suites, Old Town Alexandria, for four nights. The rooms were okay but smelled slightly like mildew. Only one elevator was working for the first three days and neither was working for a period of time during check-out on the last day. There were long waits for the elevator at times and/or the stairs had to be used. We were very surprised that there was a charge for in-room internet access. The good - the king bed was very comfortable. Some suggestions.....free in-room internet, better elevator service, and free breakfast for each guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Sorry for the unfortunate situation with the elevators. We have worked very closely with the vendor to repair this issue. We hope that you will choose us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Very clean hotel. Staff was friendly. The hotel was not as close to King Street or the metro as we liked. Though the hotel provided a shuttle, when we inquiry it was always 1/2 hour wait and of course you could walk there faster then the time they decided to provide you with the service. They had a pool, it was a lap pool which is not what a family with kids would have wanted. This could have been made clearer on the web site. The room through AAA came with free breakfast buffet for two. Which is a great deal if you are only staying with two people in your room. The first day, we were told our kids were free also at the buffet and then the bill came for them $17.50 for two small kids who barely at anything. Needless, to say we never ate in the restaurant again or used our "free breakfast" vouchers again. After all if you are a family, why would you split up where you eat and who in their right mind would pay $17.50 for two children to eat breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly work to ensure that the communications regarding the services and pricing are made clearer regarding the AAA discounts. We hope that you will use us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I am on night 2 of a 4 night stay & wish I stayed at the Westin or Hilton. We arrived at athoughtpproximately 5 pm yesterday evening & had to wait 10 mins for an elevator as only one was operational. Normally, I wouldn't mind the stairs if it didn't require trekking through what appear to be the back offices & the boiler rooms just to reach the 8 flights of stairs.
Last night also began our adventure to/from the metro. It took 4 attempts to reach guest relations to confirm transportation to/from the metro occurred every 30 mins between 6 am & 11 pm ( arrive in the lobby about 10 mins prior to departure). This morning, we arrive in the lobby, see any empty shuttle, & are told "he will make an announcement when he is ready to leave in a few minutes". At 10 after, we inquire about the shuttle running late, to be told it has already departed. I then ask if we have to wait another 30 mins but, the hotel asks the other driver to drop us off at the metro station.
Once we arrive at the metro station, we confirm again that the shuttle runs every 30 mins (yes, I am paranoid).
We arrive at the same metro station as drop off at 10 pm. Once 10:07 comes, we call the hotel inquiring about the shuttle. The night manager answers after we are cycled through the ptompts at least 4 times. My husband angrily explains the situation & is told there is not any transportation to/from this metro stop & we would need to return to the airport to obtain the shuttle.
We then call starwood, explain the situation. The representative offers to contact the hotel directly & inquire about them sending a taxi since it is now almost 10:30 and we are in an unfamiliar area with our 9 year old child. The starwood representative returns to the line letting us know she was unable to contact the hotel & we could take a cab, ask the day manager to reimburse us, & then place a request directly with starwood if the day manager denied our request.
I am certainly not looking forward to the next 2 nights in this hotel. This will be my first and only time in a sheraton. If it weren't for the fact that I have had great experiences in Westin hotels, this world probably my only experience at a starwood resort.
Also, the in room refrigerator is a ice box, not a refrigerator. There is a disclaimer staying it will not make food child. Not all of the outlet covers are secure.
On a positive note, the bed is comfortable & the room is clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We certainly apologize for the miscommunications regarding the shuttle services. We are also working with the elevator company and have resolved the issues that our guests experienced as a result of their equipment. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

So the downtown D.C. hotels are so overpriced, I thought I would stay in Alexandria. I had a rental car, so the drive was not a problem. Alexandria is a pretty and quaint area, but of course there is nothing to do at night, and everything closes early.
PARKING: Very easy, but $28 per night was too high, so the front desk offered to lower it to $22 just for asking.
CLUB FLOOR: Internet should be free, that is a given. Do hotels charge for shampoo??? Unfortunately, this hotel IS one of those that charges nickels and dimes. I took into account the $11 per night charge (their website indicates this is a "nominal fee." I'm sorry, when did eleven bucks become nominal? Nominal for me is like $2, or $3. (Ever heard of Trader Joe's $2 buck chuck? THAT"S nominal). So taking into account the expense of internet, and breakfast, I decided to go to pay more for the Club floor. $136 was my rate. I got to the hotel around 6:30pm, and the front desk said, oh there are snacks in the club until 7pm. GREAT, I thought. Clubs definitely vary around the world and from property to property. Usually they have a great view, offer nice snacks (sometimes a whole smorgasbord of appetizers, etc), wines, beers, even some have fully stocked bars! This was NOT the case in Alexandria.
When I walked into the Club, there was an employee (!!!) walking out with 3 bottles of water in her arms. All that was left were 2 bags of chips, some Costco/wholesale style warehouse frozen cocktail corn dogs sitting in a pan, and some apples Now, I'm vegetarian, so I didn't go for the hot dogs, FINE, SO I just took the 2 last bags of chips. Oh, and only 2 bottles of water left in the fridge! NO wine, NO beer, NO alcohol, nothing. NOTHING. I was annoyed and perturbed. I thought oh no, what is breakfast going to be like? Luckily breakfast was very nice. Nothing hot, which is fine for me. Bagels, toast, granola, yogurts, fresh cut fruit, bananas, apples, cereals, and a GREAT espresso machine. So for breakfast and the internet to be included was worth the $20 "upgrade."
BROKEN ELEVATOR: One elevator was broken - don't you think you should put a sign when there is only ONE operating elevator? I mentioned it 2x to the front desk, and nothing was done about it.
BATH ROBE: The room was supposed to include a bathrobe, but there was none, so I did call to the front desk and asked for one. It was delivered. I also asked for some bath gel/bubble bath or bath salts, but they had none.
CONFERENCE TABLE: My room was a king conference room suite. So instead of having a sitting room with a sleeper sofa, I had a full conference table, which was great. The only thing was there were no outlets at the table, only along the wall, which made it difficult to plug in and use some electronics (like a cell phone).
ROOM SERVICE: The hotel-book in the room said room service operated until 11pm. But then I found a small sheet that seemed to indicate room service stopped at 10. I got home at 10:15 my second night, so I called down to see if they could just bring up some hummus. I thought, well even if they are closing, it's just hummus? It rang, and rang. No one picked up, so I figured - OH WAIT - voice mail picked up and said they were on the other line with another customer so one could leave a message and they would call back. They did NOT say they were closed, and it did not transfer to the front desk, which it should have. I left my order for hummus on voice mail and never heard from them, not even when I checked out to APOLOGIZE.

OK, so that being said, it's a FINE hotel, but nothing special.
Don't pay for internet and breakfast, upgrade to the club floor, that makes much more financial sense. Don't expect much from their evening club service, but the breakfast is quite nice, with nice people working there. But it's not an upscale Sheraton or world-class level location.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the club floors. Big construction going on the backside of the building, but the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Sorry that we were not able to meet all of your needs. We appreciate your comments about the quality of our staff and we hope that you will choose to stay with us on your future trips to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Address: 801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.