We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“put up over a layover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“put up over a layover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As our plane broke on the tarmac at DCA. The airline put us up here for the night. it was a great experience everyone at the hotel was very sympathetic to our situation, and we had a great "extra night" in Dc because of the staff.

Room Tip: try to get one facing the river. very pretty. and a quick walk to the water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. The Sheraton is a great place for a last minute layover and we often help out stranded travelers. Hopefully your next visit will be with us at the start!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    149
    56
    35
    15
See reviews for
113
66
21
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were here for a family reunion. The location was convenient to be able to walk to restaurants and the Metro station. Reasonable price for a very clean and nice hotel. There are also restaurants in the hotel. Each room has a bedroom and sitting area with a small cooler and microwave. Definitely check this out when you are in town!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for your kind words and for staying in Old Town at the Sheraton Suites, where you belong!

Best Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was in town visiting family and was hoping to find a hotel that was conveniently located. This hotel was convenient to Old Town (but may be a bit far to walk for some, there is a shuttle that runs in the evening to King Street) and Reagan National. I picked up a rental car from the airport but returned it before checking out so the airport shuttle (which runs every 30 mins) came in very handy... it picks up at #5 and #9 at the arrivals curbside. Not sure if the shuttle will take you to the King Street Metro station though. If you want to rent a car, there was an enterprise rental counter in the hotel lobby if you need to rent a car to take you out further such as Williamsburg or Mount Vernon.

We had a suite with a king bed and a pull out sofa with a flat screen TV in bedroom and living area. The room also had a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and sink which were all good to have for our stay. The rooms are nice but just be aware that although there is a door between the living/seating area and the bedroom it was a french double door with window and lace-like curtains so you could see if the was light was on in either room. Wasn't too bad but would have preferred a full door so we wouldn't bother each other watching TV or staying up later. Otherwise both beds were comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. We are SPG gold members so we had free wi-fi and it worked well especially since we had a number of devices ... iPhones, iPads, computers, etc. One feature I would have liked to have in the room was a safe, I could have left it in the safe at the front desk but decided to take all my mobile devices with me.

Our package included breakfast buffet which was nothing special but a typical breakfast ... waffles, eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausages, oatmeal, cereal, pancakes, fruit, yogurt ,etc. It was enough for us to start the day with a full stomach.

Depending on what I was planning to do, I would stay here again but getting to the Metro may not be easy. Parking your car is not cheap but it is comparable to other hotels in the area. You can park yourself which was not an option in another Old Town hotel we stayed out a couple of years ago(valet only).

Room Tip: Had room 1001 and was relatively quiet but there was some construction noise from a building site ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments and for sharing the details about the hotel. You will be happy to know the hotel will be adding safes to our rooms very soon. I am glad you had a pleaseant visit and hope to see you again and very often.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I frequently park in the underground garage at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria. Shuttle runs promptly on the half hour unless they have to take an airline crew to the airport in which case they will leave early. Good idea to get there 15 minutes early. Like this parking option especially in the winter so I don't have to scrape snow and ice off my windshield. Arrangement is through Global Parking. Cheaper than parking in DCA economy lot. Staff at desk in hotel is always friendly when checking in to park.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. Our parking rate for those that fly out of Reagan National is a great deal and even better if you need to stay the night before an early morning flight or want to avoid traffic. I am glad you could take advantage of it and hope your travels will bring you here often!

Best Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was a nice find in Old Town. Walking distance to many great pubs and restaurants.
Arrival and parking were easy, even with a crowd at the front desk. Checkout was also a breeze.
The room was large, clean and comfortable, and very quiet. The wireless internet was a bit iffy, but the workstations in the lobby worked great. There was a restaurant on-site and the room service was great: good food and very speedy. The only negative for the whole stay was the fire alarm that went off about 11 PM. I will say that the management seemed really disengaged and did not appear to be herding people out of the building. Some people said that they did not even hear the alarm on the 8th floor. Good thing there really was no fire!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 8th floor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments about your recent visit and I am glad you had a nice stay. The location, service, and suites make the Sheraton in Old Town a great place to stay. I am sorry that we did not give you a proper explanation and reason why we did not evacuate the building. The system per the local codes only sounds on the floor above and below where the trouble occurs when it is just smoke and a fire is not present. This way we do not have to inconvenience the entire building. Unfortunately, the fire department must reset the system and while we do recommend every to leave the building we do not require it once we know it is not a safety threat. I will certainly make sure our staff is more forthcoming so that others are not affected in the future. Again, thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I’ve stayed at Sheraton Suites Old Town several times, and I do it because it’s close to Reagan National Airport and I can leave my car in the hotel’s underground garage while I travel. The hotel’s a bit pricey, but leaving my car there for two weeks at no additional charge covers the cost of the room.

The hotel is all mini-suites with sitting rooms and kitchen facilities in addition to the standard bedroom and bathroom. Everything is comfortable and clean. But lately they’ve taken to charging extra for everything. Breakfast is no longer included. There’s a charge for wi-fi…even in the lobby. All the nice extras are now reserved for those who have paid extra to be Sheraton Club member. The much-touted “Link @ Sheraton” computers in the lobby are free, but the system is clunky and special arrangements have to be made to print anything – including your boarding pass. They even skimp on the toiletries and coffee supplies in the room.

Food in the restaurant is okay, but service is so bad that it’s best not to risk breakfast unless you have a free day.

All in all, the comfortable, relaxed but upscale atmosphere I’ve enjoyed in the past is gone. Staying farther away and parking at the airport is beginning to look like a much better option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments and I want to apologize for not living up to our Sheraton Standards. Breakfast and Internet have never been complimentary for our guests but we do have packages that are inclusive. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding about your booking and I will make sure our rate offerings are clear. It is true the hotel did have problems with our internet which was due to our new $100,000 internet upgrade which required several glitches to be fixed. You can be sure this is done and the system is exponentially faster. A good day starts with a good breakfast and our staff should be ready and able to greet you with a smile and the service you expect. You can bet we will address this so that others are not disappointed. Again, thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is really about the restaurant. Nice hotel. Nice accommodations. But the restaurant was plain god awful. Honestly It was practically indelible. It looked a little empty. I now know why. Really very surprising for a sheraton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback as we always appreciate feedback both good and bad. Of course I would hope you could be more specific as it will help us make corrections so that others are not disappointed and perhaps you will reach out to me directly so that I can address your concerns. Our staff is always happy to compensate any guest that is not happy with our service and specifically with our food quality and I must admit I have tried most everything on the menu so perhaps something else went wrong. Regardless, we want all of our guests to have the best experience possible and I am sorry we let you down. Please do give us another try so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Kind Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Address: 801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.