We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
“Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Over the last three years I have been staying at the Sheraton Old as my company's office was located a few blocks away. I live in Richmond VA and would sometimes have to travel on very, very short notice. The folks at the Sheraton Old Town always accomodated me in whatever fashion I needed on very short notice - as I stayed more, the Sheraton felt more like a home than just a hotel...I got to knnow the staff. The staff was always incredibly courteous, accomodating and professional. Working long hours it was always nice to grab a quick late dinner at the fin and hoof. I highly recommend this property - they've also accomodated the families of my daughters travel soccer team. Great people! Great Place!

Room Tip: The views of the Potomac from the top floors are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words Brett. We love having you here and you are part of our Sheraton family. Long term guests that spend so much time on the road deserve the extra touches of a nice hotel where the staff and services make them feel at home. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!!

Kindest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    149
    56
    35
    15
See reviews for
111
66
21
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The shuttles will take you to Old Town free of charge. You won't have to pay for a cab! When you are ready to be picked up after shopping, dining, or exploring, just call the hotel and a van will be sent to get you you.
The torpedo factory has a variety art for everyone. If you have time to take a cruise down the Potomac, I would recommend the paddle boat. Be sure to ask someone in a green shirt to explain all of the sights. Very interesting!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed Old Town, the Sheraton Suites and our shuttle service. We do our very best to keep up with the shuttle request and hope to have you visit us again very soon!

Happy Summer!

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed two nights over the Memorial Day weekend at the Sheraton Suites Old Town, and it was an alright stay, with many hiccups along the way. It had an OK location to DC, as there was a shuttle which took you to either Braddock Road Metro or Reagan Metro every half hour, on-time to help you go into DC, which helped a lot.

When we checked in, the front desk person was very courteous, made a smooth check in, and answered our questions and we parked our car in the $20/Night parking lot. The atmosphere was very welcoming for the most part at check in. The very first problem of many was that he forgot to give us the "breakfast tickets" since only some room packages has breakfast, and on our confirmation sheet from hotels.com, it clearly said "free continental breakfast". Next, there was only one working elevator on check-in day, which has been mentioned a lot. We had to wait five minutes until the elevator arrived, and only half the people online to use the elevator got on the next round. Luckily, a staff member took us up to staff elevator.

When we arrived in our "Club King Suite", it was a slight surprise, towards the negative. The view that we requested of the river was great, you could see the highway, and downtown DC a little, which was also nice. Refrigerator, microwave, cabinet, doors separating the two rooms and a nice, clean room overall was the rest of the pros. To the negatives, our room was quite small, as the pictures seemed a little larger for the room (as many said here before). There were two types of bottled waters, a Nestle water bottle (two of them, free), as a "Voss" bottle, which had a payment of $4. When I looked at that bottle, I saw it had a broken seal, and slightly used when we entered the room. I went to the front desk, and they called up one of their housekeepers, who had very broken English. She didn't speak much at all, took that bottle, and never returned the bottle. The outcome of this, they charged us those $4 when we didn't use the product and gave it to a housekeeper lady. We are now in the process of retaking our $4.

Next, a slightly more normal 3-Star quality aspect, dinner. We took out to our room some dinner at the "Fin & Hoof Restaurant", and the food was for the most part alright, slightly overpriced for some items, but manageable. TV was all great (one of the few hotels we traveled to with HD channels, and they had all the regular channels of cable).

Before we went to bed, we went to the indoor pool. Bad call, as soon as we took a dip into the very shallow 3 foot throughout pool, we were shivering very much within 30 seconds, and quickly jumped into the hot tub, which we had to be in for a long time to warm ourselves up. How can you swim in three-foot deep water and when its very frigid?

Sleeping conditions were very nice, clean beds, cozy, and we fell asleep normally, and slept well both nights. When we woke up, we then went back to the restaurant for breakfast, and had to waste 10 minutes to get those tickets, and they were for "Continental Breakfast" only, all the cold items. We then upgraded for $5 each ticket to hot breakfast. Pretty good selection, which slightly rotated each day. Very nice waiters there as well, as I would like to commend that aspect. Both elevators worked that day, which was a relief.

When we returned that night, we didn't even bother going to the pool, and we ate leftovers from the large portion meals from the other day from the restaurant, and other stuff. The next morning, the same routine, which was breakfast, etc. Only one elevator was working, again. It was a smooth check-out like check-in, as they gave us a paper with all charges, the restaurant, parking, etc. We dropped the room key when we took out our car from the garage, so the gate would open, and we drove away from the hotel with an OK feeling about it. Then the mysterious fee of that one opened water bottle came up, which was a surprise, and we were not pleased about the staff there. Overall, a good hotel, minus all the fake fees, and minor glitches here and there.

Room Tip: Ask to see all the fees they charge you, because some may be wrong and ask for a room facing the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments as we always appreciate feedback both good and bad. You can be sure a quick call to correct the communication about the water will quickly result in a credit. I ams sorry the pool was too cold and that we did not provide the breakfast coupons on arrival. Many guests do assume breakfast is included and often times our staff will provide it complimentary as a courtesy when we can. It is easy to see why so many guests expect this with all the other hotels that do not have restaurants but free service in the lobby. I am glad you enjoyed the food at our restaurant for dinner. We are very proud of the quality and surprisingly the prices are usually less than what you find nearby and we always have great specials for drinks and entrees. Our pool is designed as a lap pool and it is hard to find just the right setting to make sure everyone is happy. We will certainly keep an eye on this thanks to your feedback. Again, thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and we do hope you will visit again.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here the last weekend of April for a wedding. First the front desk staff is incredible Jacqueline Heatley provided exceptional service as well as the entire front desk staff. Room was comfy, free bottled water (not the Voss) and great views of DC contingent upon your floor and room.

Parking is free but not quickly accessible but keep in mind if you were to stay in DC you would be paying an arm and a leg for parking so no complaints here and also on the weekends there is parking on the street with just a quick walk to the hotel. Not far from all the shopping areas and tourist attractions in Alexandria but not exactly walking distance either.

Rooms aren't the most voluminous (especially if you are using the sofabed) so if you are in a party of more than 3 or 4 I suggest two rooms that includes if you have teenagers. There's not a fridge but more of a cooler in each room so if you need an icebox for lets say medication, just call the front desk and request it. My only suggestion FREE WI-FI FREE WI-FI FREE WI-FI FREE WI-FI!!

Will definitely recommend this hotel. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Wow, thanks so much for your comments I will certainly commend Jacqueline for her excellent service. I am glad you had a nice visit as the Sheraton Suites Old Town is a great place to meet for special occassions especially weddings being so close to DC and a few blocks from the Potomac River and King Street. You were very fortunate to be staying with us on a parking package and often times we have many packages that can save money for internet and breakfast as well. I am glad you had a nice experience and hope you do come and visit us again!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Husband and I stayed there on May 25, 2013
Manager Paul Parvanov went out of this way to find just the right room for us (Husband has some walking disability.)
Even though this was the beginning of Memorial Day weekend, we were able to check in early and given a really perfect room. It was clean, colorful, wonderful bed and comfy pillows. There were large flat screen tv's in both the Sitting Room and Bedroom.

In the morning we needed an airport lift. The large hotel bus was right there on time and off we went.

Mostly, we can't say enough about the manager who personally gave us so much courteous attention.

GOOD JOB!!!

Room Tip: Room 726 across from the elevator, partial city view. Very Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. We truly value your business and we are thrilled that we were able to meet all of your needs as we are with all of our guests. Please do come visit again and thanks again for your comments and feedback!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester new york
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The front desk staff was great - let me check in at 7:30 am with no hassle. The restaurant staff was mediocre at best - didn't seem to understand their own breakfast plans and confused guests by their strange questions about whether breakfast was included or not. Shuttle service around town was really appreciated.
Trying to print a boarding pass in the lobby business center was a disaster. Even with help from the front desk staff, it didn't work - they finally had to print for me behind the desk - which took more than 15 minutes, so they brought me the passes in the restaurant. Staff really tried, but there are some definite technology glitches!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments as we truly appreciate guest feedback. In fact you give me the opportunity to tell everyone that this hotel has now completely upgraded our High Speed Internet to improve our bandwidth and speed exponentially as of May 23. We also worked out all our other IT concerns so guests will be able to be quickly and efficiently connected to the world via our complimentary Sheraton Link business center or in our guest rooms. The breakfast packages are sometimes very difficult for our guests to understand mostly because some of the limited service properties include it for everyone and our packages must be arranged for. We also have some guests that forget there vouchers. Again, thanks so much for visiting and for sharing. We truly hope to see you again very soon!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is truly a hidden gem. We celebrated my daughter's 18th birthday on May 18th, so it was her "Golden Birthday". We stayed on the 10th Floor - rooms 1000 and 1002. Both rooms were clean and we had a view of the water. Even though construction of other buildings is taking place, we still had a great time. The swimming pool and very small gym were nice. Although we were expecting a hot breakfast buffet, we were given a continental breakfast. We had access to the club lounge that had free drinks and snacks. The shuttle is available for close locations. The hotel is within walking distance of the harbor and all of it wonderful surroundings. The Front Desk Staff, Jacquelyn and Van, were EXTREMELY helpful during our stay. The outdoor patio is a nice small quaint place just to "chill". Old Town Alexandria is a great place to visit and recap some history. The Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is a great place to stay

Room Tip: request a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for sharing. I am glad you had a nice visit and that Van and Jacqueline took good care of you. Please do visit again and please call me direct should you be celebrating another fantastic occasion so that I can see if we can do something special to make it even more memorable.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Address: 801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.