We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location to Explore DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Strongsville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Location to Explore DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I love Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. We had a hard time finding a hotel in DC that was affordable and large enough for a family of 5. We got a suite and it was perfect and not too costly by DC standards. It is close to the metro to go into DC for sightseeing and walking distance to the quaint shops and restaurants of Old Town, Alexandria, Virginia. And close to the water taxis to the baseball games. They had a van that would take you to the metro station. I would recommend this for DC sightseeing and relaxing in Old Town at night.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback, we are glad you had a nice visit. We agree, the Sheraton Suites is a great place to call home when visiting Old Town Alexandria and the Washington DC area. The spacious suites and convenience to all the attractions make the hotel perfect for both leisure and business travelers. Please do come see us again so that on your next visit we can earn a perfect 5 star rating!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    149
    56
    35
    15
See reviews for
111
66
21
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times for weekend getaways a few times a year. The weekend rates are not too expensive usually $99/night. We have learned that you can park in the neighborhood if you read the signs and park in the proper places. The rooms are large and comfortable. There is a Trader Joe's a few blocks away if you want to get snacks and beverages for your room. You can walk everywhere including to the Metro station if you wish to visit DC. The shops, galleries, and restaurants are numerous and lots of fun to visit any time. We have stayed at other hotels in Old Town but like this one especially when the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments and more importantly your long term loyalty. The price is always right here at the Sheraton Suites and the location is convenient to both Washington, D.C., Reagan National Airport, Arlington and of course Old Town Alexandria. Thanks again for staying at the Sheraton where you belong!!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Va
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The good...Good hotel, room was nice with french doors between the sleeping area and the bedroom. Clean, great bed, good location, great price of 109.00 with included breakfast for 2.
The Bad....It cost us $20 to park the car which we had to park ourselves.
The AC/Heating in the room kept us a bit to warm and we could not cool the room down, our friends down the hall didn't have this problem....Due the the holiday season, the lounge was closed and only breakfast was being served.
Would I stay here a gain, I would.....But with so many hotels in the area I would choose one of them first if I could.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback. I am sorry the restaurant was closed for dinner during the holidays as many of our customers choose other places over the holidays and the hotel was slower than usual. Hopefully, you were able to find local dining options that we provided that also included special discounts just for our guests. The hotel has individually controlled HVAC but if you really need to cool the room down fast in the winter we are fortunate to have windows that can be opened. This is a great feature as many hotels have the windows sealed. In fact it really only takes about 2 minutes as the cool air comes in fast due to the airpressure from the building. We want all of our guests to be completely satisfied so that they will return and tell others. I hope we can welcome you in the future so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Was here only one night for business. The one thing I didn't expect was the hefty charge for parking. Park on the street and avoid the parking garage fee. The street appeared to be fairly safe.

There are many places to eat and shop in the area. So, once your car is parked on the street, you don't want to lose your spot. You can walk to many nearby locations.

I found the staff and service to be great for my needs and the room was adequate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. I am glad you found the local neighborhood parking to be acceptable. While we do charge more for our parking the convenience of having secure, safe underground parking at a competitive price is very attractive to many of our guests without having to worry about meters and street traffic. What is most important is that you had a relaxing stay and we hope that you will try us again and tell others.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel two years ago after our marriage, and we decided to stay here again during my recent business trip. I am glad I made that decision. Kudos to Paul P. the front desk manager who checked us in with grace and attention to detail. He made our stay pleasant. The experience we had here was far, far better than the one I had at the Crystal City Sheraton, where I unfortunately stayed for one week on business. I felt like cattle at the Crystal City Sheraton despite being a SPG gold member. The longer walk to the metro from Old Town did not bother me (we all need more exercise while traveling). The gym is small here, but the (shallow) pool and whirlpool makes up for it. I will definitely return to this SPG hotel when I have business in DC again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Happy New Year and thanks so much for your feedback. I am glad Paul took such good care of you and hope to see you again and more often. Making a connection with our guests is very important and our staff is here to make sure you are comfortable and have such a great experience that you will want to return. Thanks again for telling everyone!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

For an SPG hotel, this is a disappointing property. Whilst the hotel itself is a little "worn", that can often be overcome by service and staff, but not in this case. Service levels were poor, from check-In through the overall stay. The coffee machine in my room had clearly not been cleaned recently (I asked for a change), with only 1 packet of coffee and no SPG complimentary water. The Club Lounge is greatly disappointing. Breakfast options are far too limited in range and quantity, and slow to be replenished. Overall, very disappointed, and low value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. A good stay starts with receiving everything you expect and more and I am sorry that you did not receive it. It does sound like you were upgraded at no additional charge to our club which allows for complimentary continental breakfast and not a hot breakfast which is served in our restaurant. All of our guests do receive complimentary water and coffee and should you request more we are glad to provide it. As you may know the hotel is completely refurbished including new carpet and the spacious suites provide the best value compared to a starndard room at other hotels. Again, I am sorry you did not find the hotel to your liking and hopefully you will give us another try so we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Happy Holidays,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We checked into the hotel Sunday night. The place was nearly empty. There is a strange phenenon of long term guests at this location. No wonder, it is in a very nice neighborhood with quiet streets. We parked on the street overnight. If you can, do this then you avoid the pricy parking garage. We booked onto a 'hospitality' suite. I don't necessarily suggest this for the regular traveler. The bed is nice. The table in these suites is like a corporate conference table. Kinda wierd if you aren't hosting an event. The Club is on the 9 th floor. Very nice. There is a pool, which we didn't use. This is a good choice for comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments and for your recent visit. We like to think that the Sheraton has something for everyone. Close proximity to all the Old Town shopping and historic sights along with easy access to our Nation's Capital Washington, D.C. Not to mention a quiet neighborhood only 3 blocks up from the Potomac River and a short shuttle to Reagan National Airport. Did I mention that all of our rooms are spacious suites. So whether it's business or leisure we have what you need to work, shop, dine, or play. Please come see us again soon!

Happy Holidays,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Address: 801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.