We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and covenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and covenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Regularly stay here when in Alexandria. The suite room lay-out is terrific or the business traveler. Very accommodating staff are a plus. Now with an Enterprise car rental desk in the lobby, it is most convenient.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments. I am glad you like our new Rental Car service. We love having them here to help our guests even more and save the hassle of renting at the airport. Please come see us again soon!!!

Best Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    148
    55
    35
    15
See reviews for
111
66
20
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

I am always guilty of being late in writing the reviews......so sorry. What can I say...another hit for SPG!! I was greeted with a smile...received an upgrade and the room rocked. It was clean, well maintained and the staff was awesome! This is a must try for travelers to the Alexandria Virginia area. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments. Please do come again!!!

Sincerely,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have stayed at other Sheratons with much better rooms and services. These are the TINIEST rooms I have ever had the unfortunate experience to try and squeeze a family of five into. The hotel doesn't offer the complimentary breakfast to SPG members as stated on their website. The pool is only open daily 4-10pm which was a disappointment to our three sons who wanted to visit the pool at 3pm. The website gave no indication of pool hours either; I've never stayed in a hotel with such odd pool hours. This hotel is definitely geared more for the hit and run type business traveler and not a family interested in touring Old Town Alexandria.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback, however I must admit that I disagree with your comments. Our suites are much larger than your average room because they are suites, however they are not designed to hold more than 4 adults and in your case you may have needed to have an additional suite. The brand website and our personalized web site clearly state the hours for the pool and also provides information about your SPG benefits which does not include free services until you reach Platinum Status. With regards to our rooms you will notice on our web site the photos and these are not altered in anyway to make the suites look any larger than they really are. In fact all of our rooms are suites so we do not have smaller rooms.
Regardless of our differences I am very sorry of your disappointment. We want all of our guests to be satisfied and I am sorry we let you down.
Perhaps in the future you will give us another chance and I hope that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I have stayed at the SSOT Alexandria on several occasions and the last stay will probably be my last. The service at the front desk was confrontational, avoided dealing with a couple of issues, and seemed to try to make me find a solution to the issues that arose during my last stay. I had to spend so much time fixing my own issues that it soured the whole experience. I contacted the managers and they were equally as confrontational. Sure, you receive a note saying. "I am disappointed that our service isn't up to your expectations.... " I don't care if you are disappointed or not, please simply resolve the issue. I had to point out their own policies to them to receive even a partial apology but the issue was ultimately never resolved, even when I sent in a complaint letter to Sheraton. It was just ignored. So, on the up side, the location is pretty good, the rooms are of decent size, but the service and attitude of management there really is not customer-service oriented; it is more oriented towards damage control/avoidance and putting out the minimum effort to solve customer issues.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments as I always appreciate feedback both good and bad. Unfortunately, I was on vacation and not aware of your concerns. Our staff is trained to make our guests happy and I am sorry we let you down. You did not mention your issues in your review and I did not receive your letter but I would welcome the opportunity to see what I can do to make things right should it be necessary. Please do reach out to me.

Happy New Year.

Steve W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed for just one night to attend an out of town work party. When I checked in, they did not have my reservation but was able to accommodate us quickly and they were able to put my friend and I in neighboring rooms. Fortunately for us the hotel was not booked, but I think the lack of reservation was my fault as I don't recall receiving an email confirmation and likely I did not get to the last page of my online reservation. The rooms were very spacious, smelled delicious and very clean and comfortable. As this is a suite hotel, we had 2 TVs and separate living and bedroom area.

What most impressed me was the prompt assistance provided by Maria in housekeeping when I called the next day to inquire if my husband's sunglasses were left behind. She called me promptly to let me know they had been found and helped me contact FEDEX for shipping. I received them in under 24 hours! Being a Starwood member I often stay in Sheratons or Westin's and have never had a bad trip. The only negative is that the front desk referred us to neighbor bar TJ Stone's and told us a card would provide something free. This did not work, and although the food was ok, the service was terribly slow for an empty restaurant and the food arrived cold. But the next day we ate at another restaurant for breakfast and the buffet was incredibly good!! I think the name was Royal Restaurant. They were packed and it was obvious that others enjoyed the food as well. So I've learned to pass on restaurants where there are few patrons.

Wish it was warmer so that we could walk and shop more. May plan to return to the area in the springtime. Would love to enjoy the waterfront more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

rooms were much smaller than pictured and the shuttle service is extremely slow!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

A classic Sheraton Suites, good loaiotn in north Alexandria, reasonable seleciton of restaurants surrounding area. You will need a car or cab as the Metro is a far distance. Suite very comfortable design and amenities, Lounge leaves a lot to be desired, very small space, not much variety served.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent visit. I am glad you had a good stay. Our Club Lounge is complimentary for members only and if you ever need additional items we are happy to provide them or you can go to our full service restaurant the Fin and Hoof Bar and Grill. Our shuttle does run to the airport where you can always pick up the subway, otherwise the Braddock Station is only a short 8 minutes walk and King Street only 10-15 minutes where the shops and dining is located. Some still prefer a cab and they are readily available and we gladly can call one. Thanks again for your feedback and please do visit us again soon!

Happy Holidays,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Address: 801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.