We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Elkton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed this past weekend for a short D.C. getaway. The staff was very polite and helpful. They also supplied us maps of Alexandria and the Metro. Hotel and suite were comfortable and clean. Very quite location with a few nice restaurants within a couple blocks. Kings St has more restaurants and shopping, its a little further walk, but the hotel shuttle was willing to give us a ride. The shuttle was very prompt and a short ride to and from Reagan National where we picked up the Metro into D.C. We enjoyed our stay and will return again if we plan another trip to D.C.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Happy Holidays and thanks so much for your kind words. We hope to see you soon and often!

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    193
    71
    41
    18
See reviews for
138
83
25
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster,PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed at the SSOT last weekend for Annual Scottish Christmas Walk. Received the internet rate and even with the $20/day parking fee (my only complaint) paid right around $100.00 per night. What a bargain for the area!
My room was ready early, check-in was seemless with a very helpful young lady at the front desk. My wife and I found the room spotless and with a nice view.
The heart of Old Town is about a 10-15 minute pleasant walk. However, just ask at the front desk and the shuttle will take you right down King Street to the waterfront (no need to call a cab if you get lazy).
Also, if you want to eat where the locals eat there is a decent little restaurant located 2 minutes from the hotel on N. St. Asaphs Street. My wife and I only ate breakfast there...not gourmet, but you can get a mountain of decent food for about $7.00 each. The Sunday morning buffet gets very crowded and costs around $11.00 each.
My wife and I have stayed in several Alexandria hotels and the SSOT is certainly a good location at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Staying on the 4th floor or above might just give you a decent view from your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to have you back each year for the Scottish Walk which is a great event. I am glad you found the accommodations clean, spacious and comfortable. You can be sure we are working on being even better next year.

Happy Holidays!

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Westaued here during the Thanksgiving holiday. The layout of the hotel is great. I love the suites. They are spacious and the beds are super soft. The rooms are averageAnd met my expectations. The issues I had with the place and things to be aware of:
1- The rooms do not have real refrigerators. They have an appliance that looks like a refrigerator, but the note on it says, it does not operate as a refrigerator to keep items cold. Therefore if you want a fridge you need to call the front desk and ask for one. Weird. Who wants a box the pols Ike a fridge but doesn't keep items cold like a fridge.
2- The parking garage is very expensive. It was more than 2/3 the cost of the stay! If you can, try to park on the street of you don't want to pay that much.
3- We prepaid the room online when we booked it. We gave them a card when check in for incidentals. However they charged the card anyway. Therefore we paid twice for the room. After a couple calls, we got them to reverse it.
So these things are something you may want to consider before booking. There are other hotels in the area just as nice with free parking and breakfast included. Try one of those...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thanks so much for your feedback. I am so very sorry we did not meet your expectations. Over the holidays we try to keep our rates very competitive and you will not find a better value for a Full Service Suite hotel, however the parking rates do not change and I understand how they may seem high when you get such a good value on the room. I hope you have a chance to notice our web site which offers parking and breakfast packages that can help offset this expense as well and you can always check our web site for the best deals. Of course the neighborhood has plenty of free parking on the street, but many people do not mind paying for secure underground parking protected from the elements. Our refrigerated coolers are truly very efficient and keep things cold but do not operate exactly like a regular refrigerator. We have ice machines on all the floors and refrigerators are abailable by request. In our efforts to be "green" we opted for the coolers to save energy especially since many of them go unused.

I truly hope you will give us another try and appreciate your feedback and for sharing your experience.

Happy Holidays,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We recently stayed at this Sheraton because our connecting US Air flight at Reagan Airport was canceled. As you can imagine, we were quite upset about losing 1-day we could have spent with our relatives for Thanksgiving. We were pleasantly surprised to find that this Sheraton was clean and modern. We were given a 1-bedroom suite which was pretty spacious for two people. The suite has a couch, sitting chair and a full business desk. The room also comes with two 27-30" LCD TVs, one in the living room and one in the bedroom. We didn't get a chance to use the gym and pool, however they looked nice and clean. The location is great if you want to see old town Alexandria. We were able to walk around to see the old buildings and a few sites before catching our rescheduled flight. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't have to pay for the hotel, so I can't say much on the value/price of this place. But if it were priced around $100-120, it would seem like a good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thanks for your comments, we are glad you had a nice visit under the circumstances. Hopefully next time you will have more time to enjoy the hotel and Historic Old Town Alexandria. See you soon!

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My wife and I were looking for one night in town, as well as a place to leave our car for the week as we flew out of Reagan National. The Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria was the perfect find.

We combined the one night stay with a week of parking in their parking garage...used the free airport shuttle and got a great recommendation from the Sheraton staff for dinner.

The bar tender at the Sheraton was friendly and provided excellent service. The Shuttle driver was quick and safe. Our room was much larger than we expected and served our needs perfectly. And we got a free paper in the morning to read while waiting for our plane.

The return trip was easy too. We road the shuttle from the airport and got a key to check out of the parking garage.

Great Job Sheraton, we'll stay here again when we want to see more of DC or just spend some time in Old Town Alexandria.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
I am glad you had a great experience. The hotel is very popular for those flying out especially over the Holidays and with our underground garage having generously sized spaces you can always find a good spot. I am glad you were able to enjoy our lounge too and hope that you will visit us on your next trip.

Happy Holidays!

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We found the hotel to be nice but were disappointed that the restaurant was only open for breakfast because we were there for the weekend before Thanksgiving. Saturday there was a booked event (wedding or something) and then there were signs in the elevator about the restaurant being closed except for breakfast until Friday, Nov. 25th. We did not care for the breakfast buffet as it was pricey and the food was cold. We would have preferred being able to eat in the hotel or have a drink in the evening but the bar was closed too.
The staff was nice and the shuttle service was very accommodating. Rooms were nice but older. We were surprised about the cost of parking which was included in our rate but when we arrived we were told the parking was not included. Luckily, I had printed the page showing parking was included in our rate or we would have had to pay the extra fee.
Free internet in the lobby was a bonus and location of the hotel was good. Just a short shuttle ride to King Street for restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to the ice machine and has a better view. We looked at the rest of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thanks so much for your feedback. I am so sorry that we had our signals crossed. The restaurant was open for dinner service Thanksgiving day, including the lounge and through the weekend and only closed for Lunch. I am glad to hear you did not have to pay for the parking package as we do have many specials running and there may have been a misunderstanding. Our breakfast buffet was very popular and it even includes made to order omelets but we will certainly make sure our food stays warm. The hotel was very full and busy for breakfast so I will make sure our staff watches the food more closely. Again, thanks for staying with us and for making us aware of your experience. Please do call if you come back!

Happy Holidays!

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were so disappointed with this hotel. They nickel and dimed you for everything! $22 per day for parking - you could park in a nearby lot for $7 per day and walk to the hotel. They advertised making a green choice by not having your room cleaned...then the $5 credit they provided in exchange didn't buy anything in their overpriced retaurant. $3.50 for bottled water in your room, when the vending machine charged $1.50 for a chilled bottle of water.
The temperature of the water in the pool was cold, and my 12 and 14 year old children were not allowed to go into the spa tub (even supervised) to warm up because they were under 16.
Everything about this stay felt wrong, and if we hadn't paid in advance we would have gone back to the Springhill suites!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry that our parking fee may seem steep. The $7 lot you mentioned is not secured or protected below ground with 24 hour in and out priveleges. If you take the time to check our rates are significantly lower than other nearby hotels and the Springhill is a good distance from Old Town. As for the pool we have not had temperature complaints but if requests are made we are happy to accommodate them. It is unfortunate that the City of Alexandria has a code for underage usage of the spa but we must follow the guidelines. It is certainly not our intention to have an unhappy custumer and I hope you will give us another chance. I know our rates are very attractive and the value cannot be beat. Again, we are very sorry you did not have a positive experience.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Address: 801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.