We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fourth stay ... there are reasons to return ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our fourth stay ... there are reasons to return ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Sheraton staff is always more than helpful. Certainly the shuttle to King Street is high on the list. We like the location of the hotel, close to shops and restaurants, the Potomac River and the streets jammed with Colonial architecture and history. And, if you are interested, the shuttle will take you to the airport for a quick train into DC.

The beds are amazing. You can TRY to read in bed ...but, too late, you'll be asleep before you know it.

Our room was actually two, I don't know about the others, but it was great to have two flat screen TVs, small fridge, and coffee maker.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandMtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Akron
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

A veterans group that I belong to held our annual reunion at the Sheraton. Our suite was very large with 2 flat screen tv's etc. I was less than thrilled because there was a fee for in room internet use but the lobby and our meeting room had free wireless. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is a 7 block walk to King street so plan ahead weatherwise. Be sure to walk down to Trader Joe's a couple of blocks away. The wine prices are fantastic and they have a good selection of foods. I would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thanks so much for telling our customers exactly what they get. A nice hotel, great restaurant, friendly staff, and all the conveniences of home. Please come see us again!
Regards, Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Great location to DC. They have shuttles to take you and pick you up from the airport or King street restaurants. Staff is very helpful and upbeat. Restaurant is decent and bar is pretty good. Rooms are great being they all are 2 room suites with a fridge, microwave, and wet bar area. Each room has a 32 inch flatpanel TV.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crashman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
I am glad you had a nice visit and that we met your expectations. Please do come visit us again as nothing makes us happier than to see our past guests return!

See you soon! Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The rate was good on a special but this is fairly far from the main visitor areas of DC. Hotel is decent though there was a terrible stink apparently due to the fact they'd just steamed the carpet on all floors.

Room Tip: Fine if you're in town for longer or if you want to explore Alexandria
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bogdanluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thanks for sharing your experience with your recent visit. While for some the location is off the main "drag", others do appreciate the neighborhood feel and the short distance to DC, the subway, and Old Town Alexandria. The smell you mentioned was the "new carpet smell" as we are happy to announce we have completely replaced all of the corridor carpet in the building an unavoidable consequence. I am still terribly sorry we did not meet your complete satisfaction and hopefully in the future you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Most Sincerely, Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here in August, 2011, on a family trip to DC. 2 adults and two kids. The location is nice, a short walk to all Old Town Alexandria has to offer with easy access to DC. I was disappointed by the hotel itself, however. It was quite cramped. The so-called suite was no bigger than a typical hotel room. The main bed was fine, but the pull-out for the kids had a very thin mattress. They both woke up with back-aches. We asked for a new mattress, but it wasn't any better. The hotel's website mentions a complimentary breakfast, I suppose it must come with some rooms. We were told it would cost us an extra $30 per person. So much for complimentary. Next time I'll stick with Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thanks so much for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that our sofabeds are not as comfortable as you would like. They are actually brand new and the top of the line but for some they do not do the trick. Many of our other guests including large tour groups are actually quite pleased with them and the large suites which are designed to give you a more open feel with natural lighting. Generally our all suite rates are similar to most standard room hotels and lower than the Embassy Suites because the breakfast is not included. We do have many packages that have breakfast and other amenities included and I am sure we offer more value. Regardless, I am sorry we let you down. Hopefully in the future you will give us another chance.
Warmest Regards, Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed here while traveling for work recently. The hotel is situated in a decent location. There are some places to eat within walking distance. Some cute parts of Old Town are nearby, and there is a hotel shuttle that will take you into the center of Old Town, as well. The hotel has parking, but every time I've stayed there I've never had a problem getting on-the-street parking right in front of the hotel. The parking is metered during work hours, but I always had the car with me during those hours, so I didn't deal with that. Also, there is a Supermarket located a block away, and with a small fridge and a microwave in the room, you could easily get something there and heat it up in your room. The staff was always friendly to me. Overall, it's not a bad hotel. I don't know if I would say it's the ideal location for a DC vacation, but it was fine for work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meghan429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts about your recent visit. We like to think we are the most ideal hotel to stay in when visiting Old Town Alexandria and the Washington DC vicinity. You get the neighborhood feel of Old Town, we are 2 miles from Reagan National Airport, and just a short ride to DC all for great value and a spacious suite to boot. We hope you find us again when work brings you back.
Warmest Regards, Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stay at this hotel regularly on business trips to Alexandria. The suites are comfortable and spacious, the restaurants and staff are good, and it is very convenient to walk to the shops in Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Wow! Thanks for your long term support and loyalty. See you soon!

Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#14 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Address: 801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Starwood so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing