We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From a travel disaster to dream vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“From a travel disaster to dream vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My flight was cancelled and United Airlines gave me a room at Sheraton Suites for the night. I got to the hotel annoyed and tired. The person who checked me in was very nice and courtous.
I got to my room which was very spacial and took a nice shower. The room was clean and the environment in the room inviting. But I didn't give up - the change in mood got me back down to reception where I got some good ideas of what I should in town.
The hotel offered that the hotel shuttle will take me to King Street. The same shuttle does that route all day until 10 pm.

I have a great stay and I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    172
    63
    39
    15
See reviews for
124
77
24
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

we love staying in Old Town Alexandria and this hotel is great ... pet friendly ... close to everything including DC ...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The professionalism and courtesy of the staff and service providers is what distingushes this hotel from others. I am treated with respect from check in to check out. I can always count on a clean room and one in which I feel secure. Lastly the location provide's me easy excess to business appointments because of it's central location. Management is always available and eager to go the extra mile to make my stay enjoyable

Room Tip: Join the rewards program
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Wow, thanks so much for your comments. We truly are willing to help all of our guests to make sure they have a great experience. I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Most Sincerely,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Suites are much smaller than I expected. The pull out bed is very uncomfortable and really there is not room for two small teenagers in the bed.

The carpets were stained.

The hotel was nice but if you read and think that you are getting a free breakfast -- look again you have to belong to their club to get the free breakfast.

Parking is $22.00 a day on top of all the other fees.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. While some guests appreciate the one bedroom suites as they are much larger then regular rooms for the same price, others wish they were bigger and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our pullout sofas are typical of most but not ideal when 2 teenagers are in them. The hotel has many different packages and some include breakfast, parking, internet, and club level access. Some guests find them appealing depending on what they need when staying with us and they usually provide excellent savings. I look forward to replacing the carpet in August and hope to have you back to check it out. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again!

Most Sincerely,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Check-in staff were pleasant and helpful. Despite a large family reunion group and many families with kids, noise was not an issue at all. We had a king bed room on the 8th floor (Starwood Perferred Guest floor), where the hallway carpeting looked relatively new. The french doors separating the the living room from the bedroom was an attractive touch. The array of toiletries provided was amazing. In addition to over priced movies offered on the Lodge Net TV system, there was a decent selection of movies available for only $4.99!

Found parking on the street around the corner, thus avoiding the $22 parking charge. Also around the corner on Madison St. is a great italian restaruant called A La Lucia. Breakfast was included in the package we had. The coupons were for the buffet only which was fine but don't think it was worth the normal price of $15.95 The waffle maker was not working however. The serving staff were very attentative. The Royal Restaurant across from the hotel has a great breakfast as an alternative should you choose not to eat at the hotel.

Over all, a pleasant stay!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonsuitesva, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thanks so much for your comments we really appreciate them. You would think the hotel would get commission for all the guests that mention the Royal Restaurant next door and it is less expensive but a totally different experience. I am sorry the staff did not offer to make you a custom omelet with your buffet. This is always an option and I will make sure the staff is aware to offer it to all of our guests. Again, thanks for your comments and we hope to see you often.

Best Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

Went down to restaurant for dessert and coffee. Server seemed exhausted. She was not rude but far from friendly either. I ordered coffee with cream and bread pudding. After 10 minutes or so she brought coffee but no cream. I asked her for it again and she brought it about 10 minutes later. A few minutes later she brought silverware and a napkin...none of this with a smile...no apologies for the delay. My dessert finally came 30 minutes later. By this time my coffee was cold. She made no effort to offer a refill...I was pretty well abandoned. The bread pudding was huge but it was not very good and had barely a tablespoon is sauce dabbled on top...it came with a scoop of vanilla ice cream that was freezer burnt. It had yellowish ice crystals in part of it. I ate some of the pudding but didn't finish when it was clear I would not be offered anymore coffee. I could not get her attention to pay my bill (she would disappear for 10+ minutes at a time) so I left and went to my room and explained it all to someone on the phone. I said they can charge it to my room if they need to but that I didn't think they should...or at the very least hive me a break on the price since the food and service were terrible. He didn't indicate what they'd do but asked how long I'm staying. So I don't know yet if they plan to try to help me feel better or not. To add to my disappointment, when I got back to my room, neither tv worked!!! The front desk said they'd send someone to check it but by 10 pm Boone had come so I went to bed, and here I am with nothing but my iPhone to provide relaxation. What should have been a lovely evening turned into one big headache.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stayed at the Sheraton Suites in Old Town Alexandria for one night and found it to be a great hotel for the money I paid. The location is perfect if you are trying to take in Old Town Alexandria or visit downtown DC. The carpets in the hall were in need of replacement just like everyone says but the rooms were pleasant enough. The furniture was a bit worn and the sheets were not as soft as I would have liked but I did get a good nights sleep and found the room to be quite comfortable.

A few things I would mention:

Parking is $22.00 but there is parking available on the street if you can get it. I stayed on a Saturday night and parked right across the street from the hotel and saved the $22 I would have otherwise have spent to park in the garage. The area seemed safe and my car was not bothered in any way.

The shuttle to King street was not running when I was there. The hotel had a sign up that said that it was not running. This was a little bit annoying as it's advertised on their website but I guess there's not much you can do about that.

The front desk staff were very nice. Seth was absolutely fantastic and did a wonderful job of helping me with my bill. The front desk manager, Gina, was also very helpful over the phone and answered many of my questions. The front desk staff were top notch in my opinion.

Overall, a good and solid choice if you're looking for an affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria

Address: 801 North Saint Asaph Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria is an all-suites hotel ideal for family vacations. We're near Washington, D.C., Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Potomac, the Pentagon, Mount Vernon, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton
Sheraton Suite Old Town Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.