We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming with excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“charming with excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

The Front Desk person was extremely charming and helpful. I made an error on-line with my reservation and she patiently assisted me in assuring I would get my room. Originally, I had planned to stay one night. But, stayed two instead. The room was exceptionally clean and very quiet. I was able to get plenty of work done on my computer without disturbance. I would offer, however, a more meaningful diet, rather than vending machines. Although, it was not an inconvenience for me to walk a few blocks to get something to eat. It was close enough that, I had a takeout dinner and it was still hot-warm when I returned to my room.

The price was very reasonable and the location was perfect, close to public transportation and within a walk to the Metro station, of course, I do not have a car, so this was extremely important to me.

In a nutshell, my stay there was next to perfect. I say next to perfect because, the food was lacking. At a minimum, can we get some donuts in the morning with coffee?

It should be noted, however, that the staff there deserve recognition. And, I checked in on 11/7/2010 and checked out 11/09/2010.

James Davis

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    55
    36
    20
    14
See reviews for
54
33
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, SC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed here to be able to get into the Washington DC Mall. This motel was close enough to the train station (about 5 minutes by cab) and within walking distance of the Metro -- about a 20 minute walk uphill. The Metro ride to the mall is about 30 minutes. A good Thai restaurant is across the highway as well as a pizza joint. No good breakfast restaurant nearby but the 7-11 on the way to the Metro has a great selection of hot food and we bought breakfast things there on the way back & put them in the room's frig -- there was also a microwave. So this place served our needs for inexpensive place to stay when visiting Washington.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The room is what it is, clean and affordable. Walk to the metro. Free parking at the Inn. Save money to go on the metro to see the sites.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The mattresses are uncomfortably worn. They have an in-room safe which results in an automatic daily charge. You apparently can void the charge in the morning by complaining that it wasn't disclosed up front. No coffee at check-out.. There was a hair dryer. This property isn't the worst, but it's below average for the chain.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

A friend and I used the Red Roof Inn in Alexandria as our starting point for the Rally For Sanity event in DC on October 30th.

The hotel is fairly no-frills but it was a good value (booking non-refundanble via the web saved about 10% off an already affordable rate). Clean and neat, friendly staff, easy to find, plenty of parking, etc.

The free WiFi was a nice addition to help us find a local restaurant on Friday night and plan our route into the city on Saturday morning. The Huntington METRO stop is about a mile away but has a ton of parking (several multi-level parking decks) and was a perfect gateway to get to the rally.

I would definitely choose the hotel again if I was looking for an affordable place to stay near DC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

My mother and I stayed here for six nights. She had a handicapped room, I had a deluxe. The price was way below what I expected to pay for the DC area, and did not increase on the weekend. Both of the rooms were very clean, the staff was very helpful and friendly, and we had a great stay...no problems whatsoever. Nothing fancy, but well worth the price! Free coffee in the lobby 24/7, metro station 1 mile away, every restaurant imaginable within a 5 minute drive, 1/2 mile from the beltway, easy to operate electronic safe in each room. I have to say this also: Both rooms were on the first floor, and for six days we saw NO bugs. To stay that long, on the first floor, with outside entry, during warm weather, in Virginia, and not to have seen even so much as an ant, well to me that is just amazing! They obviously take great pains to make this happen. I will, and already have recommended this hotel to friends planning trips to the DC area.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

....great front desk upon arrival and throughout stay
....less than 10 minutes north to downtown DC and same to shopping, restaurants, box stores
....rooms cleaned well each day
....no compaints

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.