We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay ... but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay ... but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited Washington, D.C. for two nights in August 2014. We looked for a hotel that wouldn't break our budget and found the Red Roof Plus in Alexandria, VA. We dealt with the hotel directly and got a good price - much better than anything in Arlington or downtown D.C. The hotel itself was fine - we had no issues with it, except the AC was pretty loud.

The bad things - there is no shuttle or breakfast of any kind. There is a Metro stop (Huntington) about 3 minutes away and some places to eat, so you will need a car.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    58
    36
    20
    15
See reviews for
57
35
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So we arrived and checked in, everything was fine, got our room key, nobody at the desk showed us where the room was, spent around 10 minutes trying to find the room, we asked a cleaner, she didnt speak any english, so she was no help, we finally found it, and the key didnt work to the room, so we went back to the check in desk, she switched the room, so now we were upstairs, we get to the door, somehow we got upgraded to a premium room, we got in, it was a standard room, its like they tried and failed to update it to be modern, anyway, we left and explored washington, came back to our room around 10pm, the key didnt work? Weird.. We went down to the front desk, and asked why it didnt work, they said the room was not available, but we were in it earlier, she didnt believe us, so she changed our keys and went back up to find someone else had been in there, in the beds and everything, luckily we didnt leave any of our belongings in there, so we went back down and explained, what the lady earlier did when we switched rooms had done was given us someone elses room, how stupid? So in the end we got a refund and went elsewhere, it was terrible, the room wasnt even clean, the bath had dirt in it, it was so dark in the room too, you could hardly see, worst hotel experience i have ever had, i dont reccommend going there

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest, I humbly apologize-there are no excuses to justify what you went through. We failed and for that I am truly sorry. Please know that we have a new procedure in place to help prevent this from happening in the future. Thank you for bringing this too my attention, I really do appreciate it. Our goal is to provide a clean and safe environment for all of our guests, and you informing us of your concerns allows us to stay focussed on that goal.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently renovated; Spartan but agreeable accommodations. Close to I-95/495 and to Metro (Huntingdon station). Wood-like laminate floor gives this a European feel. Do
Was clean, everything worked. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Decent is not our goal. We promise to make your next visit "GREAT".

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Of course this is one of the chain hotels, and thus there is not much to say, provided that you are familiar with these places. This one here is very typical, too, it is reasonably clean, room was quite large, furnishing in good state, what more would one need to lay the head. If you’re on the way through, you do not care that distance to DC is quite long (Red Roof Washington thus is somewhat misleading) and that there is nothing around it (there is an Italian across the street which delivers quite promptly), even Alexandria is some distance away and can only be reached by taxi or public transport (which admittedly is quite convenient). Sadly there is no breakfast, coffee only (which was very good though).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Traveler, what could be better than a good nights sleep and a good cup of coffee? Breakfast, you say?. I am certain we will see you again, and I promise to bring you a muffin to go along with your coffee. Thanks much.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time here; we stayed for 3 days. It was ok, but I was happy when it was time to leave. Floors were dirty with hair all over and bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned. Everything else looked ok but the state of the bathroom makes you wonder what else wasn’t cleaned. Rooms have been remodeled. Beds are comfortable and we had good, quiet sleep all 3 days despite the AC. AC worked very well but was positioned in such a way that the air blows on the face of the people sleeping in the bed farthest back. I was freezing and could only sleep by putting my head under covers which I don’t like to do. Pretty location set in the trees with grocery and restaurants within a few minutes driving. Good location for in and out of DC. There are restaurants and groceries nearby but you will need to drive there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Our goal is to exceed your expectations! we failed and for that I apologize. Your comments truly help us to focus on the areas that need improvement. Thank you for providing us with that information. We really do hope that you will give us another opportunity to GET IT RIGHT.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and i stayed there the first of the month and it was excellent. Workers gave great service,rooms were clean and no smoke. Got what I asked for. We stayed from monday thru saturday. Great location everything u could want is right there in the area. No trying to find where to eat, u have walmart,target and every drug store chain u could think of is right there.

Room Tip: I prefer 2nd floor not a lot of noise at the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We know your time is valuable, and we really appreciate you spending some of it sharing your experience with us. My team works very hard at providing the best service possible. I will share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you very soon

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vansant, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Miss Mill's that checked us in was exceptional. Housekeeping was awful. We left notes for them to leave extra towels and washcloths sever all days to only have to go to the front desk every evening. We left one for and extra pillow, nothing. Went to front desk to find out they don't have extra ones. Things we left on the night stand could not be found in the afternoon. We ask housekeeping to change a light bulb, it never was changed. They never left us a ice bucket liner. Overall housekeeping was TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Your comments have alerted us to an opportunity for great improvement. We are in the process of retraining our Clean Team. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.

Shirley Jordan General Mnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.