We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“EXCELLENT STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and i stayed there the first of the month and it was excellent. Workers gave great service,rooms were clean and no smoke. Got what I asked for. We stayed from monday thru saturday. Great location everything u could want is right there in the area. No trying to find where to eat, u have walmart,target and every drug store chain u could think of is right there.

Room Tip: I prefer 2nd floor not a lot of noise at the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We know your time is valuable, and we really appreciate you spending some of it sharing your experience with us. My team works very hard at providing the best service possible. I will share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you very soon

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    73
    46
    26
    20
See reviews for
71
51
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vansant, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Miss Mill's that checked us in was exceptional. Housekeeping was awful. We left notes for them to leave extra towels and washcloths sever all days to only have to go to the front desk every evening. We left one for and extra pillow, nothing. Went to front desk to find out they don't have extra ones. Things we left on the night stand could not be found in the afternoon. We ask housekeeping to change a light bulb, it never was changed. They never left us a ice bucket liner. Overall housekeeping was TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Your comments have alerted us to an opportunity for great improvement. We are in the process of retraining our Clean Team. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.

Shirley Jordan General Mnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the Fourth of July weekend. The Washington D.C. area was packed. This hotel was up to the task. The check-in process was thorough yet quick. The rooms are remodeled. The room cleaners do a great job. To top it all off, Ginny is on top of everything if any issues arise. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Glad to hear we were able to accommodate you on short notice. Ginny is an asset to the team and is always willing to go the extra mile-thanks for noticing.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We moved to the Red Roof after a few nights in downtown DC and we were so happy we did! Great service from Debie and others, close to Metro stop with parking. The price was much more amenable than the prices downtown and the commute was easy!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Debie was very happy to read your comments. It's always good to hear that my team is doing a great job. Thank you very much and we hope to see you very soon.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I stayed here this past weekend and we had a decent time. The room was decorated nicely, but we soon found a lot of quirks, especially in the bathroom.

However, the one positive thing is Miss Mills who got us through our check in process in a heartbeat. She also gave us extra towels and shampoos. AND THEN she gave us great advice on 4th of July and the best ways to get into the city. GO TO MISS MILLS if you're there. She's funny and gives a great impression of DC hospitality.

Room Tip: Wifi is rocky and intermittent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Miss Mills was able to turn a not so memorable experience into one that left a positive impression. Thank you for your comments and believe me when I say, she has already read them-). She is very good at what she does and is an awesome team member.


Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burke, va
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We moved back to the DC area a few days ago. The house we rented was supposed to be unlocked but upon arrival, found it was locked up tight. It was close to 11 pm and after driving 12+ hours with two cats, we wanted to sleep. I tried to find a hotel that would accept pets near the house. Thought I'd found one, but when I went to check in, the NO PET sign was up. I asked it he knew of any that did and said he did not. We were leaving the parking lot and the security guard stopped us and said that the Red Roof Inn down the way did. I was so happy.

I went to the lobby and was greeting by Anthony. He was so pleasant and told me about the rooms. It was just as he said. Wood floors and temperpedic bed. We settled right in and had a glorious sleep. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel or Anthony.

I did just see that someone else posted that the rooms are small. Yes, they are but you are just sleeping there. I love the wood laminate floors. No icky carpet. They give a military discount too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Being Pet friendly sets us apart from most chain hotels. Sorry to hear you were not able to settle into your home, but glad to hear we were able to relieve a little stress. Anthony loves what he does and it show. Thank you for you comments, we hope to see you again.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A lovely hotel if your visiting DC, being from the UK I came not knowing where anything was, Miss Mills was absolutely fantastic in providing about the area. Impressed so much with her service we gave her a card at the end of our stay thanking her for everything. Never let this girl leave she's a credit to hospitality.

Rooms were also very clean and tidy, air con very helpful too! Bathrooms lovely and clean!

Best part too was the free coffee in a morning, brilliant!

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Your kindness made her DAY! she posted the card for all to see-)...Thank you so much. She really is a keeper.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 50 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.