We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
1 review
“Interesting Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I stayed here this past weekend and we had a decent time. The room was decorated nicely, but we soon found a lot of quirks, especially in the bathroom.

However, the one positive thing is Miss Mills who got us through our check in process in a heartbeat. She also gave us extra towels and shampoos. AND THEN she gave us great advice on 4th of July and the best ways to get into the city. GO TO MISS MILLS if you're there. She's funny and gives a great impression of DC hospitality.

Room Tip: Wifi is rocky and intermittent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Miss Mills was able to turn a not so memorable experience into one that left a positive impression. Thank you for your comments and believe me when I say, she has already read them-). She is very good at what she does and is an awesome team member.


Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    63
    41
    22
    17
See reviews for
62
42
36
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burke, va
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We moved back to the DC area a few days ago. The house we rented was supposed to be unlocked but upon arrival, found it was locked up tight. It was close to 11 pm and after driving 12+ hours with two cats, we wanted to sleep. I tried to find a hotel that would accept pets near the house. Thought I'd found one, but when I went to check in, the NO PET sign was up. I asked it he knew of any that did and said he did not. We were leaving the parking lot and the security guard stopped us and said that the Red Roof Inn down the way did. I was so happy.

I went to the lobby and was greeting by Anthony. He was so pleasant and told me about the rooms. It was just as he said. Wood floors and temperpedic bed. We settled right in and had a glorious sleep. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel or Anthony.

I did just see that someone else posted that the rooms are small. Yes, they are but you are just sleeping there. I love the wood laminate floors. No icky carpet. They give a military discount too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Being Pet friendly sets us apart from most chain hotels. Sorry to hear you were not able to settle into your home, but glad to hear we were able to relieve a little stress. Anthony loves what he does and it show. Thank you for you comments, we hope to see you again.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A lovely hotel if your visiting DC, being from the UK I came not knowing where anything was, Miss Mills was absolutely fantastic in providing about the area. Impressed so much with her service we gave her a card at the end of our stay thanking her for everything. Never let this girl leave she's a credit to hospitality.

Rooms were also very clean and tidy, air con very helpful too! Bathrooms lovely and clean!

Best part too was the free coffee in a morning, brilliant!

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Your kindness made her DAY! she posted the card for all to see-)...Thank you so much. She really is a keeper.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

$123 for no breakfast ,no senior discount. The faucet handle moved when the water was turned on and off. The bathroom was so small that fit only 1. The room was too small for 2 people to get around. On the counter was 1 POCKET pack of tissues, what a JOKE that was! My puppy found a dirty womans hair scrunggie by bed. The night we registered we were never shown that there was a coffee machine around the bend and out of view. I feel sorry for the people that took the premium price of $10 more that came with a bottle of water, a bottle of juice, granola bar, and popcorn. That's a bigger joke than the packet of tissues. NEVER AGAIN !! PS. It's way off of the path of restaurants and such.

Room Tip: If you have no choice to stay there , as in our case, save the $10 and don't get the premium . Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for informing us of your concerns-we are a work in progress with the inclusion of the premium rooms to our package. All feedback is very helpful as it gives us insight as to what our guest expect. We will continue to make changes and improve in this area.

Again, thank you
Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Situated in the not-tourist-area of Alexandria this is a value for budget conscious traveller who really will not do anything in the room but shower and sleep. You cannot walk into Old Town from here and be aware of very low budget motels on either side of this property if that matters to you. I was approached by a homeless man on property. But rooms are clean and very basic - bring earplugs - highway noise is constant as in fire sirens at all hours and people talking as they pass outside your door. No coffee maker in room and no fridge but a safe which was good. Walk to lobby for coffee and the staff are all attentive. Only one side here gets a good wireless signal and that is highway side of hotel near laundry. Ice machine and washer were not working on our visit. Bring your own laundry soap and dryer sheets, none sold. We are not smokers nor have pets and were lucky as none of the dogs or smokers had rooms nearby us. But be aware this. It's a 10-15 min drive to get into Old Town Alexandria. There is a Metro fairly close by (Huntington) also a drive. Since we limited time in the room we were a-ok with these budget accommodations but would stay in the Hampton also close by next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Your comments are very important to us and right on point. We are a basic no frills, pet friendly and smoke free property. Being exterior does present challenges. Where we stand out from most of our competitors is our ability to make all of our guest feel special.
Thank you,

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Sarah was very very informative & Knowledgeable of the area and gave excellent advice. Polite and Professional as well. I wished all Hotels had someone like her in them, traveling is tiring at times and people like Sarah who show they really do "care" about you makes all the difference.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for noticing Sarah's awesomeness! She is a natural at what she does, I will be certain to share your comments with her and the rest of my team.

Thank you,
Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I experienced the roof under bad circumstances; canceled connecting flight, hot night, grumpy me. The room hadn't been cleaned, which was kind of creepy (really, former guest, think about your snack food choices), but Isaac at the desk did everything he could to fix the situation. The next morning, Sarah was pleasant and helpful. This is a nice enough place, nicer than you might expect on first sight, but the staff makes the real difference. Well done, Roofers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Best, I am so pleased to hear that my team was able to "get It right". Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to do that ! We really do appreciate it.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.