We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay for Spring Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay for Spring Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for an affordable hotel around the DC area. We chose the Red Roof Inn because of the great reviews that we read online. Luckily, the hotel lived up to their reviews. We made reservations for the Superior King Room. It was perfect. Clean room, newly renovated. It had a safe, microwave and fridge. It was located within minutes from a Metro Station and had plenty of restaurants and stores within quick driving distance. I felt very safe in the hotel. The parking lot was well lit and the front desk staff was very friendly. I recommend this Red Roof Inn to anyone who is looking for an affordable and nice hotel just outside of the DC area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri169, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and helped to make your time away from home pleasant. I will pass your comments on to my team! Spring Break should be fun!

Shirley Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    56
    34
    20
    14
See reviews for
55
34
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stopped in DC area and found RR on the web with a good site and made reservation. Arrived and was warmly welcomed, fast check in , and friendly people all around. Some great recommendations for places to eat and go see. Great bike path only 10 min away with large parking area and it leads all the way to Alexandria waterfront and DC if you want.....Great ride. Overall clean , neat , and inexpensive place to stay....will come back if in DC/ Alexandria area anytime. Thanks again to the staff for a great stay for a five day stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This location appears to have been just recently renovated. The rooms are new and well kept. In addition, the rooms have a fridge and microwave which is an amazing amenity to have for the price. In addition, there is a washer and dryer unit, $1.50 and $2.00 respectively at the end of the building. Didn't use them but that is a rare, and useful amenity.

The location is good as a base for sightseeing in D.C. assuming you have a car. The highway it is on let's you bypass the beltway and major highways into downtown D.C. so the trip into the city is much nicer with less traffic.

While there is no breakfast, there is coffee and hot water for tea in the lobby. The hotel is around several restaurants (within driving distance). We didn't take the Metro so I can't comment on how close it was.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside will be much quieter as they don't face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Quite a pleasant experience for the money. I like that the rooms were remodeled and modern, the location was pretty close to the metro station and to restaurants and shopping. The only down was a cigarette smell in the room out first night, but after we turned the fan on it went away. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from our Spring Break trip to DC. We chose this hotel based on reviews and it's proximity to the Metro. Travelling without my husband, we wanted somewhere we would feel safe walking as well. The first morning it was raining, so we took a cab to the Metro...only $6.00 on way, very reasonable. Sarah at the front desk was great and called the cab for us. The second day was nicer weather so we walked in the morning, and the trip only took about 15 minutes.
One drawback to not having a car, there are not any restaurants VERY close. The closest we found was a Five Guys about a half mile up the road.
The room was very clean and well kept. Our room was on the side facing the road, but the traffic was not loud enough to bother us. My daughter said the bed was too comfortable to get out!
All in all, it was a great room at a very reasonable rate. The staff was friendly and very helpful. On our last day, the shuttle was not to pick us up until two hours after checkout. Sarah held our luggage and even let us hang out in the lobby while we waited because it was super cold outside.
While we did not bring our pets this trip, it is great that they are also pet friendly, which we will also keep in mind when traveling with our fur family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend when we went to visit our daughter and son-in-law who just moved to Alexandria, VA from Miami in December. The hotel is directly across the street from their apartment complex so we chose the Red Roof Inn for its location and the price. The hotel's rooms have been recently updated and are very modern. Hardwood (or laminate-not sure) floors instead of carpeting make this hotel pet friendly and perfect for keeping the clean look. I liked that the sink area was separate from the toilet and shower area. The only think I was slightly disappointed in was that the bed and pillows were too hard. It would be a problem for a longer stay, but for overnight, I was ok with it. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spent three nights at this Red Roof inn and had a wonderful stay. We picked this hotel due to its newly renovated rooms and easy access to the huntington metro station. It was wonderful! Just a 20 minute ride from the smithsonian museums! The rooms were large and comfortable, and the staff was very nice! The rates were really good. We had a front room, so my only complaint would be the noise of the road in front of the hotel. A little sound proofing might be nice, but didn't stop me from getting a few great nights of sleep. I plan to make a note of how great this hotel was for my next trip back to the DC area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;