We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pet friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel many times over the years because they allow pets. It has always been good enough, but at our recent visit we noticed a big improvement. The room is clean and includes a refrigerator and microwave and free wifi. But best of all, there is no extra charge for dogs and there is a convenient place to take them out - and they even provide bags for picking up after your dog so you don't have to remember them yourself. The price is good and the value is great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    63
    40
    22
    17
See reviews for
62
41
36
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in our last night of this wonderful trip in one of my buses, departing Orlando and making a trip to Niagara Falls, Canadian side.
This hotel was not good for many reasons. They took forever to start giving us the keys, that they had not ready yet when we arrived around 10:00 pm. (also they misplaced my credit card information... and charged me a month after the trip).
After an hour waiting (30+ people with kids outside next to the stairs... thank God it was not raining) since the main lobby it seems it is vault against robbers... and they do not open it at night but through one reinforced glass window... they finally gave us the keys, they did not advice of elevators far away from the lobby and many of my people had to go to the 3rd. floor using the stairs with their luggage. Rooms were as expected... run down but acceptable for a night. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Not bad but not good... next time I may try the Days inn nearby... at least they do have breakfast... not just dark water with a hint of coffee for the same price.
Carlos.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Clean comfortable hotel. One of the better red roof i have ever stayed. Staff very courteous.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011 via mobile

Our bed had a stain that looked a lot like blood on it. For $80 it wad ridiculously overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn for 4 nights. We reserved 2 rooms. Our room was fantastic. Room was clean and it looked like it was newly renovated. When we checked in the front desk was very friendly and the check in was quick & easy. We checked in around 5:30 and the front desk was very helpful in sending us to a great pizza place for a light supper. Our friends room had a few problems with their room and they advised the front desk on the problems the next day (tub didn't drain, AC was loud) and they were switched to a room right away which didn't interfere with our plans for the day. The location of the hotel was great. We drove to Arlington and went to the visitors center to receive a visitors pass which was great. It allowed us to park at a 2 hour meter for 24 hours for free. We parked near the metro and took the metro to Washington which was very easy to do. I would definately recommend this hotel for those visiting Washington. We all agreed that our favorite spot to visit was Mt. Vernon. Don't miss Mt. Vernon it was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I really enjoyed the staff and the manager at this property was on point. He made everyone else job easier from what I seen while staying at this location. I will be back because it was clean and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room and the prices are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Gap, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Rooms were always clean and supplied properly. Manager and staff went out of their way to assist with any needs or request that I had! Inn was very convenient to both locations that i visited. Outside grounds were cleaned on a daily basis and attractive. Will stay at this inn anytime that I return to Alexandria. Super Job!!!

Room Tip: I like the business suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookIt.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.