We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel right at home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4641 Kenmore Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22304 (Formerly Sheraton Pentagon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Feel right at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Although the hotel is located somewhat outside traditional Alexandria "hotels ring" - closer to Pentagon City Metro station, regardless of your intentions or destination, you will be happy. Modern design and layout, the friendliest staff, spacious and VERY clean rooms, Paul Mitchell (!!!) toiletries, restaurant-style breakfast... - you will run out of breath describing the details that make this place one of the best on the area. I am planning of sending them "Reviewed on Tripadvisor" window sticker, as they totally deserve that! One advice - while booking, choose the package offer (the one with free breakfast for two and free parking). Rates are very good anyway, but the package helps to save an extra 30-40. Oh, and breakfast: bacon, waffles, omelet, bread, bananas, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, bottled milk, oatmeal (with the toppings!). It could be better to have a complimentary coffee/tea in a lobby 24/7, though, like at other Marriott properties - I am very picky when it comes to the room coffeemakers. It will really bring a nice touch, being almost a common practice even in the worse hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay. I am happy that we made you feel right at home. I greatly appreciate your feedback about the staff, rooms, breakfast service and about the coffee. These are great comments and they will all certainly be shared with the staff. Hope to have you with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    51
    25
    18
    11
See reviews for
73
30
19
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for nearly 3 weeks on business. It is very nice, but one can find fancier places. But the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They seem to know all guest by name on sight. The bistro in the lobby is inexpensive and the food is good. The fitness center is not large but it's impeccably clean and has great equipment compared to most places I've seen. The pool is very good and the lifeguards are good with kids. The extended stay rates are far better than the normal government rates most places offer. WiFi was great. Laundry facility is small, but only $1 per load and includes detergent. Every time I walked into the lobby, the staff greeted me by name and with a smile. I would DEFINITELY choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your extended visit to the DC area. It was a pleasure having you with us and we are pleased to see that your enjoyed your stay. I will certainly share your comments with the entire staff. We hope to have you with us again should your travel needs bring you to the DC the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Four of us enjoyed cherry blossom weekend in a suite at the Pentagon South hotel. We had a marvelous time. The rooms were clean, quiet, and beautifully furnished. The staff could not have been nicer, and were always on hand to provide transportation as needed. There is a bar and food available in the lobby any time we wanted, even serving Starbucks coffees! From our room we could see the Washington Monument. The hotel is located with easy access to the Washington sites, as well as being near Old Town Alexandria, and the boats down the Patomic. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences in your review. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you with our shuttle services. I will also be happy to share your comments with our food and beverage team, they all will be happy to know they have served another satisfied customer. We hope to be your choice on your next trip to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After a while, all of these places start to look the same. Once you have the basics in the facilities, what distinguishes a hotel is convenience and service. The hotel is standard Courtyard, clean and comfortable. I did not try the restaurant or any of the facilities.

It is located about a 15 min. drive from DCA. Note that you need to CALL the shuttle, they do not just come around as someone at the airport told me. It came quickly.

The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. I love "above and beyond" stories. When the shuttle got back to the hotel to take me to the airport, the driver told the manager that there was a huge accident causing delays. Before I knew it, another employee who knew another route was in the driver's seat, and we were there in record time.

Don't hesitate if you need a good, clean, friendly hotel near the airport!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will certainly share your shuttle experience with the drivers as well as with the entire staff, this is a great example of how we all worked together to overcome an obstacle to assist a guest in need. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to be your first choice on your next visit to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I love this hotel! This hotel has everything you need for any type of trip! The location is excellent and only a few minutes to DC. The WiFi is free!The Manager and front staff are not only helpful but they could write a book on customer service. Customer service is the number one thing for all of the staff. The people who run the breakfast are the best I have ever seen and the food is fantastic!The shuttle drivers are full of helpful information and they always welcome you with a smile! The pool is the best in the DC area and it is indoors so you can swim all year. If you want to have a great time this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and experiences in your review. It was a pleasure having you with us during your visit to the DC area. I will happily share your positive comments with our food and beverage staff, front desk staff and shuttle drivers. We hope to have you with us during your next visit to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This location works for a business meeting IF your participants are okay with being dependent on the hotel shuttle or a cab. There is nothing walk-able. Nothing. However, the hotel shuttle provides outstanding service to and from the airport, and Pentagon City where you can catch the Metro.

Room Tip: 10th floor even numbers will give you a view of the Capitol and the Washington Monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to read that the shuttle service was helpful for you during your visit to DC. The shuttle drivers will be happy to hear that their efforts were so appreciated by a guest. Hopefully we will be your location of choice on your next visit to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Property has recently been renovared, Staff is great, breakfast pretty good, room renovated but sort of outdated, bed comfortable, clean. Bottom line good reasonaly priced location for DC travel - Metro shuttle is great. Just not a shiny new facility as so many properties are today.

Room Tip: Be on time for shuttle we missed one by 2 minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments about the overall condition of the hotel; we rely on this type of guest feedback to help us find opportunities to improve on our product. Thank you for the kind words about the staff and the shuttle, they will be delighted to hear your comments. We hope to have you with us again if your travels should every bring you back to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South

Address: 4641 Kenmore Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22304 (Formerly Sheraton Pentagon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.