We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that Bad...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Not that Bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza over Labor Day weekend. The hotel is not as bad as some reviews indicated.
The hotel is located in an upscale residential district about 4 blocks away from the main street of Alexandria near a very picturesque park on the Potomac River. The neighborhood is quiet and did not seem unsafe. While the hotel is not new, the public areas, bar and restaurant were pleasant and appear relatively new. We were promptly checked in, but were given a room that had not been cleaned. The front desk then reassigned us to another room that had a view of the river and facing National Airport, so you can see the planes take off and land. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable with nice linens. The staff was responsive to our needs. Breakfast and a light dinner were fine. This is not a ritzy hotel and appears to be in transition, but it is just fine for a visit to Alexandria and the Washington, DC area. It was a comfortable room to come back to after a day of sightseeing. I got a great rate through Priceline, $60 per night.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — a little off the beaten path from downtown Alexandria
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    144
    102
    52
    23
See reviews for
76
93
28
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
International
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

I called the Hoilday Inn reservation telephone number to book a room in the Alexandria area and the employee recommended this hotel. The selling point was that this is a brand new hotel and that I would not be disappointed. This is not a brand new hotel, it is an old hotel newly acquired by Crowne Plaza. Very misleading.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

Got this hotel at a great Priceline price, was a little leary of what to expect based on reviews I had read. We had 4 kids with us, 3 adults. Overall we were satisfied with our stay. Hotel staff friendly, rooms clean, beds comfortable, kids loved the rooftop pool. At check-in our rooms were "smoking" so staff upgraded us to rooms with beautiful view of Potomac. Free parking. Downside: hotel in somewhat unsafe neighborhood, not convenient to King street metro. Free shuttle to metro runs every half-hour but it takes you to Reagan Airport metro, not King street. Shuttle pick-up from Reagan back to hotel was 1/2 hour late. The next day we decided that driving to King street metro and parking at station was better way to go. We requested a refrigerator for room that took 3 phone calls to get. Otherwise, we were very satisfied with our stay and would book at this hotel again.

  • Liked — comfort and price
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

The hotel has recently been acquired by Crowne Plaza from SAS Radisson. It is tired, dirty and shabby and has a general air of depression and decay. It seemed that the staff were too few, undertrained and far from motivated - understandable I guess if the managers have been uncertain about their future during change of ownership.
In the room everything is old fashioned and tatty. The air conditioning is a huge machine in the corner that sounds like you have a small jet plane in the room with you if you start it up. The desk chair was broken and several lamps did not work.
I am sure that Crowne Plaza eventually will remodel the place and sort it out but until then avoid!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

This hotel is currently undergoing a brand change (Raddison to Crowne Plaza). Despite the renovation, the hotel was quiet and clean. Our rooms had great views of the river and we only paid $50 on priceline. The area surrounding the hotel is safe; however, on one side of the street are the projects surrounded by $500,000 houses. . .for this reason the area is very safe as there many police around. The area is very quaint, nice shops and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel runs a free shuttle to the shopping area if you can not walk (about a mile each way). The beds were comfortable, the showers were clean, and the hotel staff was very knowledgable. Clemens (the front desk staff member) was very knowledgable about the area and willing to help us with all of our questions. The hotel staff is a great asset to the hotel. They were able to direct us to the best ice cream, the easist way to to the metro, and many other tourist questions. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler. It is a few minutes from the blue/yellow metro lines making it easy to get to downtown D.C. ALSO, ask for discounted parking rates. . .if you don't ask, you don't know what you may receive.

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

I should say that I didn't stay here but met friends who did for breakfast in the hotel's restaurant. The coordinator of the group had contacted the hotel and informed that we would have a large group of 30 and told them the time just to make sure they would be prepared. They most certainly weren't. The buffet was nearly empty when we arrived and when asked about it they took at least 20 min to get any more food out even food that doesn't require preparation such as pastries. Mind you, they were told when we would be there. The restaurant was not busy at all only about three or four other parties. Our waiter was rarely around and when we waited several minutes for the cashier we went to the front desk to ask what the problem was. I calmly explained my disappointment and the man at the front desk told me he didn't like MY attitude (no, I never raised my voice or used any personal slurs) This was particularly annoying becuase one of our group whi did stay at the hotel had to ask to have their room changed twice. First they were taken to a room that had not been cleaned and had soiled sheets! The second room was a smoking room when a nonsmoking room was requested. When my friends asked to have the key brought up rather than making a second trip down to the front desk to exchange keys the man at the front desk used the same line; he said he didn't like their attitude. The staff here doesn't seem to understand the concept of customer service. I attend a lot of seminars in these sort of hotels and I will admit that the staff in most don't seem to find their jobs fulfilling but in this place they were down right surly.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL (Lincoln Park)
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

I had read some poor reviews on TA prior to booking my trip; however I had hoped that maybe they had worked the bugs out of their transition from an old hotel to a Crowne Plaza... they havent. Rate for the room was $230 which seems far to expensive for the quality. Chief complaints... loud and old AC unit in the wall similar to ones you'd see in "motel" so much so I had to wear earplugs! My non smoking room was VERY musty (this was the worst part ..the kind of smell that is still on your clothes when you get home. It was really yucky). Old, stained, burned carpet. They had partially replaced the bathroom fixtures but left old grout and tiles. the bed wasnt the new comfort beds used in many of the Crowne Plaza hotels... just simple motel style bedspread and mattress. The airflow throughout the whole hotel is pretty bad. As for the good stuff... not too far from King Street entertainment, the airport shuttle was prompt and easy (to DCA) and the morning room service was delivered on time. Service was polite and professional at the front desk and associated with the shuttle service/bell service. All in all, I expect better quality from a Crowne Plaza - they shouldve renovated completely before reopening - seems like doing it "half way" is damaging to their brand.

  • Liked — Airport Shuttle service
  • Disliked — Smelly room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.