We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great comfort, great view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Staines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great value, great comfort, great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Ignore the poor reviews you see. I imagine they were written before the hotel was refurbished. We found it immaculate, with a large, clean and very well equipped room and a superb view of the Potomac River from the 12th floor. Parking is free overnight after 5pm on the road outside, so you can avoid the $20 parking charge. Have breakfast at Perk's just across the road - lovely food and offers a full English if you prefer it. We would definitely return. We booked through a third party and got amazing value!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    164
    110
    53
    24
See reviews for
80
105
32
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

It has been renovated about 2 years ago but the furniture (side table) and room carpets show more than reasonable wear and tear. The location is not close to King St. but it is very close to the river.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Went to DC for the July 4th and got this through priceline. The location is very good, about 7 miles from DC downtown and was a easy drive to the hotel. The hotel itself is maintained very well. Very clean, nice carpets, beautiful common areas. The rooms are very nice as well. We got one with two double beds and the beds were very comfortable, with lots of plushy pillows and nice linens. The bathroom compared to the room size was a little smaller. But since the layout was nice, the space usage was very efficient and very comfortable. We could see the Washington monument at a distance and that was a plus. Also our room had a partial river view and that was excellent too.

The maid service was fine, cleaned the room and it was perfect when we returned. There was a power outage one night in the Alexandria area. The hotel staff were very cooperative and tried to answer all the questions and kept the guests calm. So over all very nice experience.

Few things you need to know before booking this hotel. They don't have a pool. Also they charge $20 for overnight car parking. If you have a priority club membership, this drops to $10.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We attended our son's wedding and were delighted with the accommodations, friendly staff, and service we received. We 40 guests spend the weekend and everyone was charmed by the hotel and the staff. It is located .5 miles from the heart of Old Town but was close enough for everything we needed. The shuttle to/from the airport served us well. There were several restaurants within a short walk. It was a great setting for the wedding celebration. The hotel did an excellent job with all of the food and drink service associated with a wedding of 150 people. We had a great time with no issues. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I booked this hotel without knowing the exact location of nearby metro stations etc. If I were to book again, I would definately stay closer to King Street , Crystal City, or in DC. This hotel was nice, but the transportation options were limited. Walking to and from the Metro stations nearby is not an option- they are too far and not safe. The hotel has a shuttle to and from the airport metro and King street (but the the King street metro). The hours and frequency were just a little limited for us, and if we were closer to a metro, we could have come and gone more freely.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Mediocre maid and shuttle service detracted from the enjoyment of our stay. I booked a “Potomac View” room for a week through the hotel web site. The experience began well. Because I had also signed up for the Priority Club, we were welcomed with a goodie bag which included a couple of snacks and a sleep kit (eye shades, ear plugs, lavender spray). The room was next to the Presidential Suite and, being higher than the building to the east, had a decent view of the Potomac. There were plenty of pillows, a night light in the bathroom, a mini fridge and microwave with a blinking clock (which I reset) and a coffee maker. It was an auspicious start. We took the shuttle to King Street and had dinner in town at Bilbo Baggins which became our favorite restaurant in Alexandria.

The next morning we had breakfast in the hotel’s Chequers Restaurant. The waitress seemed less than thrilled that we chose to order from the menu (rather than the buffet) and the service was lackluster at best. When we finally were presented with the check the plastic holder in which it came had a large gob of jelly on it. We ate elsewhere for the remainder of our stay. Nearby Perk’s Coffee Shops was our frequent choice for breakfast. La Madeleine had more variety but 500 King Street was a longer walk on an empty stomach.

That evening we returned to find the carpet had not been vacuumed. The next morning I discovered that the coffee maker hadn’t been cleaned. The maid never replenished the bath soap and after three days it was paper thin. I had to obtain a replacement at the front desk, which the desk clerks found amusing.

The shuttle to King Street ran only from mid-afternoon until evening. Most of the time we just walked the nine blocks to King Street, although on one return trip from the George Washing Masonic Monument (not to be missed) we used our SmartTrip cards to ride the city bus.

The shuttle to the metro was another story. It ran on the hour and half hour and, to economize, stopped at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites (another IGH property) on the way to and from National Airport. This is where hotel guests would board the Metro, unless no one was going to the airport, in which case they would drop you off at the closer Braddock Road Metro Station. This arrangement worked fine until the third or fourth afternoon when we arrived at National Airport five or ten minutes ahead of the shuttle and were unable to board the small bus because of the number of guests who had arrived ahead of us. The driver promised to send another shuttle but we were forced to wait another half-hour for the regular shuttle to arrive. I was more disturbed by the lie than the wait.

While I will not say unequivocally that we will never stay there again when in the area, the price differential would have to be substantial. Our first choice will be a property close to the Metro

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Large clean rooms,view of Potomac a bonus.Easy 15 minute stroll down Fairfax to King Street and river frontage.Free bus along King Street takes you to the metro so good link to Washington.Excellent deli on Fairfax(same side as hotel)great for breakfasts and snacks very friendly and helpful staff.DONT go to the deli Perks(yellow awning) owner very rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.