We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy, but works fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but works fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

There is nothing wrong with this place, but just don't expect luxury. It is a classic example of a 1980's hotel. Plain beds, ugly carpet, plain bathroom, etc. In today's world of flat screen TV's and ultra-comfy beds, this place is a little tired. But I found the staff to be nice, the location to be walking distance from some excellent restaurants, and the place to be clean.

This is a good alternative to a Reagan National airport hotel, which can often be ridiculously priced. It is 5 mins away.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    189
    130
    59
    36
See reviews for
91
124
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

I stayed for three nights on a business trip. Less than 10 minuets from the airport, easy and fast check in. Overall there's really nothing alarming to point out. However, it took 10 minuets+ for the water to get hot and the new heating system fluctuated between hot and cold air that was a bit uncomfortable during the night.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

My sister and I stayed for two days at the Radisson Old Town Alexandria to site see, shop and enjoy seafood restaurants. The room was nice and clean, but nothing special and definitely not worth the money even with my AAA discount. The best thing about the hotel is happy hour in Chequers Lounge.

We first arrived a few hours early and were told the room wasn't ready (not surprising). We came back at check-in time and got our keys, then went to the room and discovered that the housekeeper had barely begun cleaning it (big sigh). We hauled our luggage back down the elevator (from the ninth floor) to the front desk and had to get another room. This was all very odd since the hotel didn't seem busy enough to warrant all that hassle.

On my reservation I requested a nice quiet room and made a point to ask for this again in person. However, we found out too late that the second room we were given was on the river side in the flight path of incoming airport traffic! The bathroom was nice except there were no hooks and only one small towel rack across the room from the bathtub. So, we took a small side table from the room and placed it next to the tub for towels and robes.

The hotel is at least eight blocks from centrally located King Street. So, be prepared to walk a lot or pay for parking garages and taxis. Also, it cost $15 a day just to park in the hotel garage -- ouch! This hidden fee was never mentioned until we got the final bill at check out.

  • Liked — lounge
  • Disliked — charged for parking
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

Our room was for free, so I can't complain too much. We were staying under the auspices of one of those time-share sale deals - can't imagine that hotel would help the company sell a lot of timeshares. We paid for parking for only the first day we were there since it became readily apparent that street parking around the facility was free on the weekend. Breakfast was overpriced, and there is a perfectly good diner (the Royal) within two blocks of the hotel. Location is not good - it's a hefty walk to Old Town, and at least part of it is through a housing project. The hotel runs a shuttle to Old Town once every hour. Nearest Metro stop is a similarly long and dangerous (at night, anyway) walk. The staff was reasonably courteous. The beds and pillows simply were not competitive to modern hotels that advertise the comfort of their beds. While we're talking about modern, it did seem that everything in the hotel was very well preserved from when I went there for a Valentine's Day dinner in the '80s. If I were to have paid for my stay there, I might feel as if I had been cheated.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

My company paid for my stay, but the front desk charged my credit card for the room as well as the incidentals, then it took almost a month before I got reimbursed.

The people at front desk clearly could not have cared less, and the people in accounting are rude and incompetent.

  • Liked — Good deli in the parking lot
  • Disliked — billing, bad attitude of staff
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

We stayed there Sat. night 2/10. $79 + tax. Got a big king on 10th floor (1014) looking twds city - great views. Lower rooms wouldn't have this view b/c of other buildings. Older facility in what looks to be an area converting to office/comm. Did not pay the $12 to park - parked right in front on street. Great coffee shop down the street - Perks or some such. Not in what I would call Old Town.

  • Liked — view
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for one reason: I was attending a meeting there. This is a very ordinary business hotel. Nothing distinctive about it. I'd say it has seen better days, but it probably hasn't. I would not choose this hotel for a vacation/family stay.

Reception area, hallways look dated. Carpet in lobby areas could use a good shampooing.

My room was clean. Comfortable king-size bed. Harsh fluorescent lighting in the bathroom. Good strong shower. Decent view of the Potomac River (I was on the South side of the building).

I did not visit fitness room or pool.

Nice 10 block walk to King St., the main street in Old Town Alexandria - lots of shops, restaurants, historic buildings.

Quiet neighborhood, although it is in the flight path of National Airport - just a couple of miles away. Planes were landing on this approach for both days I was there, but it didn't bother me. There is an active railroad spur right next to the hotel and I did hear freight trains a couple of times, again, not a big deal.

I took free shuttle bus to airport. nice driver, good service.

Best feature of this hotel: FREE WIFI!

  • Liked — Free WIFI.
  • Disliked — That I had to stay there.
  • Tips/Secrets — No.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
1.2 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#25 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.