We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Austin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

I think it's all a matter of expectations. After having read the bad reviews on this site, I was prepared for the worst AND pleasantly surprised. I booked the room on Hotwire for $70 (per night including taxes) which is nothing compared to other hotels in this area. True, the hotel could use an overhaul (especially the hallways and elevators!), but I really liked the huge room and the clean bathroom.

Service was fine too, I requested a different room after my first night and got it with no problem. I also used the metro station and the airport shuttle which were both excellent. There are tennis courts, a playground and upscale office buildings next to the hotel; I didn't feel unsafe in the area.

Slight drawbacks for me were the parking fees, the distance to Old Town (7 blocks to walk) and the shaky internet connection.

  • Liked — large, clean rooms
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — find cheaper parking
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    156
    107
    51
    23
See reviews for
77
101
32
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selma, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

I am shocked at how much some of ya'll paid for the room. Go to priceline and get it for 77$ tax included!!!
So the bad thing is that it is not by Old Town.
The area is Safe!! I cant believe someone said they didnt feel safe. Alexandria is a pricey place to live.
No metro station within walking distance but they have a shuttle that runs to the airport and there is a station there. The shuttle does not run after a certain time so we did have to take a cab from the aiport and it cost like 15 plus tip.
I was not charged for parking, so i dont know why some reviewers were.
The staff was great and friendly, the room was good but we could only kinda see the river from our window. Oh the river stinks, really. but inside it does not smell :-)
The room was great, huge bathroom with nice hot water. I am surprised to see so many bad reviews but i guess thats because you were expected a $150 room? I am not sure. Dont go to the Presidents Inn now that is a scary area!!!
Have fun in DC!!!!! get ready to walk......

  • Liked — The bed!!
  • Disliked — No metro station within walking distance
  • Tips/Secrets — Wear comfy shoes when going to DC
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for a conference from August 8 to 11, 2006 and, since we had read the trip advisor reviews prior to our departure, we were not expecting very much.

Other than the pleasant lobby and the decent food (both room service and served during the conference), the hotel is outdated and in need of renovation. The service, especially at the front desk, was mediocre at best. The location (although only 8 blocks from King Street) is a little dodgy and felt unsafe at night. We also experienced a lack of hot water in the shower in the morning.

The nail in the coffin came on our final morning. As we were packing our things a MASSIVE COCKROACH crawled from under our bags and went INTO THE BED. Needless to say, we will not be returning to this hotel. Ever.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

My husband & just stayed @ this hotel on june 22nd. To start off I think I was ripped off.. I paid $250/night from hotels.com. So my expectations of this hotel were very high. The lobby was nice but the rooms were a disappointment. Our first room the air conditioner was broke so we had to move to another. The views from the rooms were nice of the river & the roof top pool was cool.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

It was one of the worst hotel I haver ever stayed in. First of all, when we went on Hotels and paid 250.oo per night for a room with a king size bed and in the smoking section. When we arrived, there were customer invoices in clear sight on the reception desk, and not only did we pay the most money per night, we received a NON SMOKING room with two double beds on the fifth floor. When we requested a room that smoking was allowable, the guy at the front desk was very rude. The only thing that that front desk knew about was how to get you a taxi. Other than that they were'nt very helpful. The first room we were put in had no a/c. That is when they put us in another room. This one had stains all over the carpets. The pool was nice even though part of the railing is broken and its on the 13th FLOOR! Check out the view from the pool at dusk. The restaurant and room service staff were very nice and the food was good. Our iron was broken and they never sent up a replacement. The final straw was when we were told a shuttle was avaliable to us when needed, we called them after a scenic pm cruise and were told that it was closed forcing us to find a cab service after midnight. It is 12 dollars a day to park on their lot. It is much cheaper to park in a public lot and take a cab to the hotel .
consequently, we will never return to this hotel.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

The hotel was cheap and also had free wireless, which allowed us to access the internet on our lap top easily. I traveled with my mother and I to explore Old Town Alexandria and it was a decent hotel for 2 nights. The neighborhood does not feel completely safe, but there is a shuttle which can take you right to the heart of Old Town Alxandria and it will bring you back as well.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

A very average 3 star hotel. Service is good and friendly, though hotel has some issues with their housekeepers (we were checking in at about 9 at night and the first two rooms we were checked into had not yet been cleaned). The manager was quite upset with the housekeepers, who were still working away very slowly, and was accomodating by taking care of our breakfast and parking charges. Overall, a very average 3 star hotel. Rooms are big, clean, and decently furnished.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.