We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Awful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really Awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

I was staying at the Crowne Plaza for business. As other reviewers pointed out, the hotel annoyingly charges for internet service in the room (free at most other hotels these days) and for using the "business center" computers in the lobby. Not even an option to print your airline boarding pass for free. This is just inexcusable in this day and age. When the computer would not print for me (at 59 cents per minute plus surcharge for printing) the front desk attendant had the gall to say that the computers were from a service and not run by Crowne Plaza. Hello?! If you're providing poor service to guests in the lobby isn't that of concern to Crowne Plaza? It should be! Needless to say, should work require that I be in Old Town again, I will make every effort to avoid this dated, surcharge-crazy, unfriendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    155
    107
    50
    23
See reviews for
77
97
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

My wife had a conference which was booked at this hotel, I joined her to see the sights

On the good side:
in DC. The room was nice, well decorated and in good repair. Location was good, close to old town Alexandria. The restaurant had a great soup and salad lunch option.

On the bad side:
The hotel shuttle was always late or didn't show at all picking me up at both the airport and old town Alexandria. When I mentioned this to the staff (after having stood at the pick up location for over an hour) they made some excuse about having lots of guests and it was a free shuttle. The internet didn't work in the conference facilities. The hotel charged extra for everything. The rooms were way over priced for what you got.

Overall this facility is a slightly below average choice for a conference hotel. I would certainly not select it if I were traveling for pleasure or had a choice of hotels. There are lots of other options in the area that are much better values.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

While the exterior is typical, the room is nicely decorated for the price we pay (pretty good price from Hotwire). Yes, there are silly charges, but you can avoid most of them. Parking wise, just park on the street surrounding the hotel and spaces are plentiful.

We didn't use any of the hotel facilities at all, and honestly, it does not matter. You are in the DC area for business or for the museum / monuments. I was able to scout a free internet hotspot from my room.

Yes, you will need a car for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

My family and I enjoyed our stay here very much. The hotel was modern, clean with well appointed rooms. The hotel staff were mostly friendly and helpful, though the breakfast waiting staff did seem to be on th slow side, when it came to service. The food itself was very nice with a great seletion to chose from. However, there is a cafe located not far from the hotel. Turn left outside the hotel, one block up, opposite side of the street. The hotel offers a shuttle service to Old Town Alexandria, which I urge you to take the time to do, as it is a charming location, full of shops and restaurants. We have already agreed that we would stay here when we return to Washington DC.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

Just returned from this hotel. The hotel and room was really nice and very well appointed. Clearly the best hotel we stayed at during our stay in the USA. The bar has a happy hour between 4.30 and 7.30 when local beer and food is half price. My wife and I had a decent meal and a couple of beers for $20! Very reasonable and the barman was so effective under very busy circumstances that we gave him a huge tip.
Food overall was very good but the restaurant was rather chaotic at breakfast time, the waiters didn`t seem to be switched on particularly, which meant you were left without knives, forks or spoons for a while until they got their act together. But I am being very critical. Mostly the service was very good.
My one and only criticism was that you had to pay $10 a day for wi-fi connection, which I thought was very mean spirited. I had just ravelled across America and every hotel had free wi-fi. So why not here? I mean, fancy having to pay $10 a day to use your own computer!
Dear Manager if you read these comments please note: I would have rated your hotel 10/10 if it were not for these silly, mean, stingey charges. I hope you take his feedback on board and that next time we visit the wi-fi is free, like every other hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Va
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

The hotel itself is very nice, and the rooms spacious and clean, and the fitness facility is a good size, but that's it for the positive. All the additional fees- 9.995$ a night for internet service, $15 a night for vehicle parking (espeically when the lot was practically empty) No Free Breakfast, nothing other than points for Priority Club members, makes this not a desirable place to stay. With all the nickel and diming of minor items it makes the value of the hotel go down- especially w/ companies scaling back per diems, travel expenses- yes the hotel room rate is low, but with everything else tacked on after the fact No it is not

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

I stayed here for four nights on a business trip; the hotel was selected by my employer. Overall, I was quite pleased with this hotel and would stay there again. I arrived in the morning prior to check-in time, and the front desk staff gladly stored my luggage for me. My room was larger than I was expecting, and had a wonderful view of the Potomac. Although the hotel is in close proximity to Reagan National airport and railroad tracks, I did not experience any problems with plane or train noise at night. The bathroom was also a good size, and had ample counter space around the sink for makeup, toiletries, etc, which I found to be a nice plus. Enjoyed watching planes flying overhead while using the rooftop swimming pool. A decent breakfast buffet was included (not sure if that normally is the case). The only real negative is the distance from the main shopping and restaurant district of Old Town- a 15-20 minute walk. This was an enjoyable walk for me on most days, but we needed to get a cab back to the hotel after a thunderstorm rolled in one night while dining in Old Town.

  • Liked — Room size and views
  • Disliked — a bit of a walk to get to Old Town
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.