We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was here for a meeting. The meeting room was spacious and set up well. Internet connection was fast. The staff were wonderful -- responsive, friendly, efficient. The hotel is located within walking distance of lots of little lunch places, as well as a Trader Joe's and Harris Teeter. It's only steps from the Potomac River, which is lovely for a morning stroll. The only complaint is that air "freshener" in the lobby. It was horrendously strong and just walking through to get outside set off a migraine. I was able to stop the migraine, but I was unhappy to use one of my precious pills (only get 9 every month and always use every one of them). But great job on everything else! The customer service was top notch.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    189
    130
    59
    36
See reviews for
91
124
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My first impression of the hotel was that it was so laid back that I instantly relaxed. Room was clean and well designed but a bit dated with a good view of the river. Planes flew past quite close by dropping in to Reagan airport but no noise problem. Glad I didn't pre pay hotel parking which is $20 because there is plenty of street parking free. Hours are 8-5 limit 2 hours so if you arrive after 3 and go before 10 you will be OK. There are a few restaurants within walking distance but the main town is in my view too far to walk to. On check in they gave a scratch card and I won a nights free parking but it was no real advantage. There is a great little take away café on the corner which serves drinks and salads, .sandwiches fresh and cheap.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We only stayed here 2 nights room was clean 2 double beds in the room good size bathroom ,also had a laundry room 1 washer & 1 dryer had to pay but good to catch up with Laundry when u have been traveling nice Thai Restaraunt across the road , good cafe down the road . Pleasant staff , wish we could had stayed longer

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful time in the Washington DC area and enjoyed the monuments. My wife and I go to DC often and agree it is one of our favorite places to go year round for any occasion. We typically stay in a military facility but for a change of pace we too friends of ours with us on this vacation and stayed in the Crowne Plaza Old Town Alexandria. We did this because Old Town is one of those places that you can wonder and be transported back in time if you allow yourself. The brick sidewalks and the dated buildings are a reminder of similar times and the founding of our nation. I find myself daydreaming a lot there, and the restaurants are the best for seafood in the area. Now for the topic of my review I feel the staff of the hotel were very dedicated and pleasant my stay and our friends was adequate. I did find the lack of amenities discouraging the hotel has nothing for you if you plan to spend a day relaxing or an evening at the pool; because there is none. Parking is in a enclosed paid lot and the space is restrictive so if you have a large vehicle it may be complicated. We all enjoyed the time we spent in Old Town but will not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWARK, DELAWARE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Here I am again at this hotel for business. I choose this for price and convenience while traveling for both work and pleasure. The hotel is nice, but the valet parking nazi needs to chill out. I arrived this afternoon and pulled in up in front and parked to simply check-in and drop my carry on bag in the room before heading to work. I was immediately approached by the valet guy asking if I was checking in for the night. I told him I was checking in, going up to the room to drop my single bag and use the rest room and would be right back down to head out to work. He asked if I would be paying for parking and I told him no, that I would be parking on the street when I returned from work 10 hours later. He told me that I could check in, but couldn't go up to the room unless I left my car keys with him. I went into the lobby to check in and after the check in process, I asked the desk agent if it was ok if I left my vehicle where it was until I went to the room and dropped my bag and used the bathroom...said I'd be back down in 10 minutes as I had to head to work. The desk clerk said that it was ok and I headed to the elevator. As I pressed the button for the elevator, the valet parking guy ran over and told me he needed my keys. I was so irritated that I left the hotel, pulled out of the lot, turned the corner and parked 10 feet away and walked back into the hotel to do exactly what I said I was doing. I am a gold member and have stayed in this hotel probably 10 nights in the past year or so. This treatment is embarrassing and rude. I just can't understand why this hotel can't get customer service right. By the way, there were 10+ valet spots and 0 were taken when I arrived and then 10 minutes after I left. The hotel charges $20 per night in a place that is not deserving of that cost. I am so frustrated with this place sometimes and it isn't the only review I have written about it. Here is a picture of the valet lot tonight....figure it out !!

Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear ChrisB,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience with the parking valet. However, the parking and staff is managed by a contracted company. We will make sure the manager is informed of the incident to improve the valet service. We do thank you for comment and hope we may have you as a valued customer in the future and exceed in our service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I did not want to rent a vehicle and fight Washington traffic, and did not want to pay the premium prices charged by D.C. hotels so I chose the Crowne Plaza in Alexandria, and to use the Metro for transportation. The hotel was comfortable and quiet, and reasonably priced. The staff was very helpful and attentive. While it is roughly a 20 minute walk to the Braddock Road Metro stop, the hotel has a shuttle to Reagan National which is close by which leaves on the hour and half hour and therefore allows one to use the Metro stop at the airport. The shuttle also runs from the airport back to the hotel on the quarter hour with the last one leaving at 10:45 p.m. One drawback was that breakfast was not complimentary and somewhat pricey, but the food itself was quite good and so was the service. It is located several blocks from King Street, which is where the nightlife and pubs are. Drinks in the hotel bar seemed quite a bit higher priced than at other places in Alexandria which require a bit of a walk to get to. However, all in all, it is a good value and I would likely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the rooms were a little dated but very clean good location free shuttle to airport which you could get on the metro also walking distance to old town i would stay there again priced right with there rewards membership

Room Tip: we were on the 7th floor could see the capital could see more if you were higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
1.2 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#25 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.