We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best unexpected adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best unexpected adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Wow, I have to start off by saying I am astounded by the lack of intelligence in the other reviews...some people are complaining about the weather when they stayed at this hotel. Blaming the weather on the hotel? Really?? I guess some people just aren't the brightest of the bunch!

Anyways, I stayed at this hotel because of a cancelled flight. I've never even heard of Alexandria before, but I'm always up for an adventure! I called the front desk several times to make sure that the free shuttle from the hotel to the airport was on its way, and every time the staff was very kind and willing to put up with my paranoia! Haha. The shuttle driver quickly got me to the hotel, and the front staff was as kind and friendly as I expected. He even informed me of the free wifi service that the hotel offered, which required the most simple and painless sign up (no credit card needed! I was sold!!!). I was able to Skype home from my room, and that was wonderful.

The room itself was wonderful. I have an incredible view of the river, and the bed was absolutely fantastic. The bathroom even had a mat in the bathtub to prevent slippage; I've never seen that in a hotel before!

After a while, I started to get hungry, and went down to the front desk and ask if there were nearby restaurants. He said there were a few, but I could use the hotel's free shuttle service to take me to downtown Alexandria where there were a lot more options. He told me when they left, how often, and the pick-up location; super convenient! So I went for it, and took the shuttle several blocks south towards King Street. It was a quick drive, and the street was absolutely gorgeous. I had my pick of restaurants, and it was a lovely experience! Afterwards I went to the pick-up location and waited. The pick-up time came and went, and I called the front desk and asked if I was in the right location. Apparently I wasn't (my fault!!), but I told him where I was, and the shuttle came and found me, no problems. I'm definitely grateful for that!

I had a lovely night's sleep, and the next morning check out was less than 10 seconds. The shuttle took me safely and soundly to the airport, leaving me with an absolutely lovely Alexandria experience.

All in all, it was an unexpected adventure, but completely worth it. All thanks to Crowne Plaza. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    171
    115
    53
    31
See reviews for
84
109
36
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for one night when my flight was cancelled. I chose this hotel because it had an airport shuttle and I had a 6am flight from DCA. Turns out the shuttle doesn't start until 5am for guests, so I had to take a taxi.

The beds were really hard, and while the weather was atrociously cold, the bedding was very thin. I ended up pulling the sheets off the other bed and doubling up so I wouldn't freeze. As well as there was a spot light from the building across the street that shown directly into my room and was visible around the blackout curtains.

The hotel says it's in Old Town, but that is a stretch. It is very near old town, and if anything on the northern boarder, but I still had to take a taxi to get to a decent dinner.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishtown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recent stay was nice. Room was clean and well furnished. Towels could have been softer. Room heat was problematic to control. The hotel is located in a good area. Private pay parking. Front desk staff handled check in fast. Common areas were clean. Room service breakfast was cold and unappealing. Seemed like reheated pancakes and bacon. The rest of the order was meh. The on site bar and restaurant was sufficient. Nice beer selection. Service at the bar/restaurant was good. Stick with bar food. We has burgers and steak. Both were good.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was just fine, we had no issues with the water temperature or staff; other reviewers complained about this and it almost made me second guess my decision in choosing this place. The only small issue was that we attempted to go to the restaurant/pub area around 3:30 (during a time in which they were supposed to be open on a Saturday) and there was no one there. Waited awhile, still no one. Also I noticed that there was a huge very slow moving check in line (that we fortunately didn't have to sit it). Our stay was pleasant and staff was nice. No complaints.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this through Priceline. Spacious room and bathroom. Lighting in the bathroom could have been brighter. Even though we had a standard (two double bed) room facing south towards Old Town, we could still see the Potomac, the Beltway bridge, and the Ferris wheel and lights of National Harbor--all of which we very pretty lit up at night. The hotel was clean and I didn't notice any areas in need of maintenance or repair. Convenient to Old Town and there is a free shuttle to King Street every hour. Shuttle driver was very nice. There is a charge for wi-Fi but it is free for IHG members and you are encouraged at check-in to join to take advantage of the promotion. Parking is on-site and is $20.00 per day with in and out privileges. All in all a good value for our money and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this location for one night on business. They have a shuttle that will pick up from DCA, which is also a Metro stop. The hotel is well maintained and comfortable. The room was standard but did have a view of the Potomac. The bed was comfortable and had nice, king size pillows (this is a big plus since many hotels put small pillows on big beds). The room was fairly quiet but you will hear aircraft due to proximity to DCA.

I had breakfast in the restaurant. Food was fine and service was efficient. The front desk held my bag while I attended my meeting and the shuttle returned me to DCA. This hotel works well for an overnight in Alexandria.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for one night on last New Year Eve. And I will never come back to this hotel anymore!!!!!!!!!!!! The parking is not free, The alarm in the room so terrible keep beeping just because steam from the iron, how to ironing shirt then>?, called the lobby and so late respons until they answer the phone and the worst experience is we have to moved to another room at 2am in the morning just because The HEATER IS NOT WORKING!!!!! annoying. After all the travel bags already opened and we have to moved to their spare room, and the spare room really really miserable, we can heard voices from people who stayed in the room beside our room during a night. CRAZY!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mourin E,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. Sharing your experience is vital in showing us where we can work harder to serve, assist and accommodate our guest better. We sorry your experience was below expectations. We're always wanting the opportunity to make our guest stay with us a great experience. We're sorry you did not get a good nights rest due to the inconvenience you suffered from the alarm constantly beeping and the room change. Please bring to our attention what's not quite right, that we may give you the best quality service you deserve as our guest. We do thank you for comment and hope we may have you as a valued customer in the future and exceed in service to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.