We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location for a great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great location for a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Location - directly on Mt Vernon Trail.  Great breakfast spot across the street (called Extra Perks).  8 blocks to King Street and wharf.  2 blocks to Giant grocery store and Holiday Inn where Crowne plaza guests have access to pool. Stop at holiday inn front desk, present Crowne Plaza room key and they will give you guest pass to access pool on 2nd floor. To get to holiday inn and grocery store, walk out front of Crowne Plaza and walk through park. Cross next street and walk through parking lot. You'll be on the side of the grocery store. Look to you right and that's the Holiday Inn. 

We booked using Priceline Express Deals and chose a 3.5 star hotel in Alexandria Old Town area. Using this method, you wont know exact hotel, until you pay.  I studied Priceline pretty thoroughly. I concluded Priceline gave 3 hotels a 3.5 rating in that area. Crowne Plaza, Embassy Suites on Diagonal Rd, Sheraton Suites Old Town, all of which were a similar distance from the wharf at King St which was my target location. The rate was $56 plus tax per night for 4 nights - Wednesday night through Sunday morning.   You can't beat that rate so I selected the 3.5 star hotel for $56 and the result was Crowne Plaza.  We were not disappointed. 

Our room had a fridge, a view to the south of Potomac River and National Harbor in the distance. Our friends had a view to the north with Jefferson memorial, Washington monument and Capitol bldg visible. 

There was a restaurant/bar in the hotel. I peeked in, it looked nice but we never went there. Too much to do around Old Town to warrant hanging inside. 

One day we walked to the National Mall and the Nationals Park for a baseball game.  The Mall was only about 7 miles away, approx 6 miles north on the Mt Vernon trail to the Twin bridges, then cross the Twin bridges and arrive at Jefferson Memorial.  Then a few tenths of a mile to the mall.   After checkin out the museums, we walked about another 1.5 miles to ball park (cabbed back for about $25 cab fare). All flat walking. People who visit DC usually enjoy walking a lot so I thought I'd throw that info in. It's also possible to continue north on Mt Vernon trail to Arlington Nat Cemetery, statue of Iwo Jima and then on to Georgetown via the Key Bridge. 

Also, we were able to rent bikes and ride the Mt Vernon trail south to Mt. Vernon (approx 10-11 miles south). Took a boat back. 

Although we never needed it, the metro was an easy walk to the west of the hotel. 

I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear mquest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel. We are glad you were pleased with our location perfect for your itinerary. Glad you enjoyed the bikes too. You definitely made the most of your time with us. Sounds like you left no stone unturned. We are glad you chose us, and we’re happy to know you would recommend us and would return we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    166
    110
    53
    28
See reviews for
81
105
32
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

First, this hotel is very convenient to Old Town and not far from the airport. Service was your typical DC-area service: competent but not at all friendly (I know, I'm stereotyping, but it's what I've come to expect here). Rooms are comfortable enough. However, there were crumbs on the desk when I arrived and they never got cleaned the two nights I was here. Also, it's a bit noisy with all the air traffic out of Reagan. No coffee in the lobby (you have to pay $2 for a cup of take-out from the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear dwg51357,

Thank you for you feedback and comments on your experience at our hotel. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay. We apologize that our staff's attentiveness was not exemplary during your stay with us. We train our staff to exceed our guest's expectations. We apologize that we were sub par or just ok in serving you. Thank you for sharing your views and experience with us and thanks for choosing us, we hope you will return that we may better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu City, Taiwan, Republic of China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

服務差得不得了。辦理入住登記的職員竟不知道白金卡會員應有的特別禮遇,旁邊提醒他的主管竟然還將左腳翹起來。雖然負責退房的職員人很好,但也不太專業。房間清理做得也不理想,我進房時不僅發現桌子沒有對齊,第二天回來時更發現其中一個枕頭被放在地上,即便我離開時所有枕頭都是在床上。旅館的網路系統顯示要求付費,櫃檯人員也僅是口頭承諾最後不會在帳單上出現。另外,前往DCA機場的免費接駁車晚上10:30後就沒有了。

Service in this hotel was horrible. The check-in agent didn't know that Platinum members should receive benefits, and the manager who reminded him didn't have his left foot on the floor. Although the check-out agent was very nice, she is not very professional, either. The hotel also didn't do a good job cleaning the room. When I first entered, the table was not aligned properly. Although I left all the pillows on my bed when I left in the day, one pillow was on the floor when I came back. It was also weird that the hotel asked you to choose a paid subsription option for the Internet, and only verbally told you that they wouldn't charge you. Also the free shuttle bus to DCA stops at 10:30pm.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Ernestnywang,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience. We regret that we did not exceed in you receiving the services you should have experienced as a valued customer. I do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We hope that you return and allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 1 night between a business trip and personal trip. I was flying out of Reagan National so I chose it due to price and convenience to the airport. They have a free shuttle to the airport that runs on the half hour. Room was on the 9th floor over looking the Potomac and could see the US Capital. It was nice and clean.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear James C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We're happy that you were more than pleased with our staff, the clean and comfortable accommodations and in particular your room with the view, also that we were conveniently located to your travel plans in the area. We're looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed here for business in Old Towne. The rooms are nice and the front desk is staffed with helpful people. I had a lower floor room facing Old Town. While the view was not the water, it was nice and there was no road noise. Parking was slightly inconvenient but Old Town has strict parking regulations so it was not worth the risk. A very short walk to Old Town which was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Jane D,

We appreciate your comments, your positive recognition of our services and feedback on our hotel during your recent stay. It is our utmost pleasure in serving you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We apologize for the slight inconvenience you experienced with the parking. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and anticipating your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

When I first arrived at the hotel, it seemed like ti was far away from everything, but it turned out to be pretty convenient. Free shuttle to DCA airport with a Metro station. There is also a metro station within walking distance. Dash Bus stops right out front as well. Supermarkets all around as well as restaurants and other shopping nearby. The food at the hotel restaurant for dinner was just OK.

The room was a comfortable size, clean, great view of the river. I switched rooms during my stay because of a pest issue, but the staff was accommodating with getting me moved. I didn't have any issue with noise.

The front desk staff was pleasant and responsive with requests. Two computers at the lobby business center were pretty much free every time I needed to use one. Free wifi in your room if you are a hotel rewards member.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Sc00p,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found our staff helpful, and our location to be the perfect for your itinerary. We are glad you chose us, and we look forward to serving you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staff is great, wonderfully trained, helped out with the resv. and clean. Best place to stay when around the city. Great outside view and distances away from attraction. Take your family to this place and if you need ride for trolley free:))

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Mustafa Y,

We appreciate your comments, your positive recognition of our staff, services and feedback on our hotel. It is good to hear our location was a plus for you here in Old Town. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We are glad you chose us for your stay, and anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.