We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but with some serious management issues” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“OK, but with some serious management issues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The biggest problem with this hotel seems to be the management:

Pros: Location-price-shuttle service from Reagan Airport. Nice rooms.

Cons: Management is cheap and it shows: The fire alarm rang 0406; fortunately a false alarm. But no one knew it was a false alarm, so we evacuated. Upon reaching the outside it was mass confusion; people milling around, wandering in-out of the lobby. Only 1 (one!!) hotel employee; the desk clerk, who was busy fielding phone calls from guests wondering if there was a fire or not, and 1 rent-a-security cop who had no clue what to do. His role seemed to be to watch the desk clerk answer the phone, instead of going outside and controlling the guests.

Another guest and I asked him what was happening; he told us it was a false alarm, and the FD would arrive shortly to turn off the alarm - and would we tell the guests? We did.

1-Why no automatic voice mail telling everyone who dialed 'O' "Please evacuate-this is not a drill"? This could be linked up with the fire alarm system, or a button the desk clerk could trigger if necessary.

2-Why has management not trained the employees & security for such an event? If this was a real fire, the guest confusion could have been costly in lives and injuries.

3-Clearly management needs to hire some non-minimum wage level people for the night shift, or they need to seriously re-evaluate their employment requirements.

3A-We were told various stories the next day; drunk students, children playing (at 0406?); it seems to me the security guard needs to do more than stand in the corner....

...the next day some American Airline hostesses told us the guest noise was so bad on their floor that they asked for another room? Where was the security guard?

3B-At noon the next day, a different security guard was in the lobby-sitting and reading a newspaper. Oh my.

Would we stay there again? If the price was right, maybe, but only on a close-to-the-ground floor.

Room Tip: for safety reasons, floors 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Andew I,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your experience is important to us. The safety of our guest is paramount. We do have procedures in place for an actual emergency that all our desk agents are trained and aware of, however we are reassessing the procedures with the hired security company and their role in accompanying these emergency procedures. We will share your comments with our managers to make improvements. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we didn't accomplish that goal. We're sorry you did not receive a relaxing and comfortable sleep due to the false alarms. We are sorry to hear you may not stay with us in the future. We do hope you would reconsider staying again and afford us the ability to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    171
    115
    53
    31
See reviews for
84
109
35
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
preston, uk
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for three nights as part of an Archers/ Cosmos touring holiday.
It is in the historic area of Alexandria and the surroundings are quiet and felt safe.
The hotel is a typical Crowne Plaza, large, clean and comfortable. No problems at all with the rooms and good and friendly staff.
Food and drink in the hotel are more expensive than the nearby cafés, so if you are on a budget consider eating out. The exception to this is happy hour which lasts from 4.30 to 7.00pm. ( Check this on arrival.). Then drinks and bar food become very good value.
Eating out for breakfast and lunch try the Extra Perks cafe just across the road. Sandwiches and such, and they do have a beer and wine licence.
For dinner try the A la Lucia Italian about a block away. It is fairly expensive, but the food and service are excellent.
Major criticism? They still charge for wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Jcann,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to hear from our guest. We receive constructive comments as a helpful tool to show us where we can work harder to serve our guest better. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed here for the last three days for a workshop at their sister property, the Holiday Inn. The hotel is perfectly okay, but there are some service issues.

First, the good. The rooms are nice. Beds are comfortable, bathroom clean, good water pressure. Housekeeping is efficient. There is also a microfridge; not all that common in full-service hotels. If you are an IHG member, WiFi is free--otherwise, it's a ridiculous 9.95/day--I would have been unhappy with this--it's slow. The hotel shuttle to the airport is also quite convenient; it runs every half hour.

Service is very "meh". Check-in was friendly and efficient (by the one very nice woman that they have working the desk), but the gentlemen working the desk overall are less than friendly. The worst part, though, was when there was a false fire alarm at 4am on my second night. Not a word from management. I was at one end of the sixth floor, and I barely heard it--it didn't even wake my co-worker. Just as we got up, we got a text from our other co-workers letting us know that it was a false alarm. There was never any acknowledgement from anyone in the hotel that it ever happened. This is shoddy service at its worst.

One last thing--they use "Old Town" in their name. The hotel is NOT in Old Town Alexandria--it's in Old Town North, which is a good hike from King Street and the attractions of Old Town. Only one good restaurant in the neighborhood--TJ Stones (which is quite good).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear toddling40,

Thank you for your comment on your recent stay with us. It is our goal to make sure all of our guests have an absolutely fantastic stay. We regret that in your experience with us we did not accomplish that goal. We're sorry you did not find the bed to be comfortable or get a good nights rest due to the inconvenience you suffered from the false alarm so early in the morning. We train our staff to supply our guest with service that would exceed our guest's expectations, which was not accomplished in this occurrence. We are very appreciative of all comments as they are vital tool in helping us to better serve and assist our guest. We do hope we may have you stay with us in the future and exceed in our ability to provide better service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Bought via priceline and was advertised as a 3 1/2 star hotel. That is a gross overstatement.

First room had a dead cockroach. When I asked for a credit back so I could leave they said no since I bought via priceline. A/C was also not working in this room. Matter of fact they offered me nothing and still charged me an outrageous $20 for parking.

Second room was better but still pretty gross. Sink and bath tub barely drained and dust and dirt everywhere. Carpets throughout the hotel were nasty and there is barely a lobby.

Oddly as I checked out nobody even asked how my stay was. Pretty much worse quality than a 2 star hotel. No good, avoid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear timgomer,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We apologize you were not completely comfortable at our hotel. We train our staff to be responsive to our guest needs. We apologize that our staff's attentiveness was not exemplary during your stay. We are currently getting a capital plan formed to make the necessary improvements to refresh the hotel. So that our guest can have an overall great experience. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show our ability to exceed our guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed just one night.
The staff was very helpful - let us check out the room before we made the reservation and found and held a forgotten bag for us. The south facing suite we had on the 11th floor gave a wonderful view of the Potomac and the park where they held the fireworks on the 12th. There was plenty of room for the kids to play and the bed, although a little slim for a 'Queen size' were very comfortable. Great location for taking a walk along the Potomac to Old Town. Coming back next year!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over the Memorial Day weekend. The hotel is clean and the beds are comfy and you can get a good sleep. It is a little out of town but there are shuttles and there is a convenience store nearby. We were very happy with the free wifi even though you had to join to get it. Lucky that we saw the flyer because they didn't tell us about that. I really don't understand the American tradition of ice machines. We not just put in a fridge? We ate in the restaurant which was ok but a little pricey.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here for two nights and was thoroughly impressed. The lobby is large with a selection of newspapers and also computers for guests to use. The room I had was large and overlooked the Potomac river. I could even see Capitol Hill in the distance!

There is a wonderful restaurant in the hotel which I highly recommend for dinner. I was decadent and ordered breakfast to be delivered to my room and it came at the exact time I wrote down for it to arrive.

Great hotel and staff were helpful as well

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.