We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better the second time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
rshkj
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better the second time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This stay was alot better than the first. The rooms at the Crown are very nice, and the staff was very nice this time. The problems are the internet is slow and the food is not good and bar service is not very good either. There are several restaurants close by so it is not that big of a deal, but you would think the food would be better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear rshkj,

Thank you so much, for your comment we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. I am sorry that you had an issue with our restaurant staff's services and our WiFi which is being upgraded to improve our guest connection. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has absolutely fantastic stay. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay. Thank you for choosing us, we hope that you return and allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    166
    110
    53
    28
See reviews for
81
105
32
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I wrote a review for this hotel prior, as I have stayed here quite a few times. While I give the hotel a mediocre rating, as it's a business hotel in a quiet side of town, I'm not expecting anything fancy, but I feel the hotel isn't being very well maintained.

I just checked in for a multi-night stay, and my room isn't just showing signs of needing an update, but complete neglect. There are HUGE stains all over the floor, the bathroom ceiling has bubbles in it, and the wallpaper in the bathroom is peeling.

It's too bad, because the hotel used to be fairly nice. I'm afraid what it will look like 6 months down the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Mikelogan2,

Thank you for your valued comments. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience. We will make sure that our Managers are aware of this to make the necessary changes to improve. Thank you for choosing us, we look forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

There are so many hotel options available in the DC metro area, sometimes it is a challange to make a good choice. On our last trip to the area, we decided to take the opportunity to visit Old Town Alexandria on a Saturday and Sunday. We decided on this hotel because it offered a Potomoc View King Room for a discounted rate. Being an IHG club member added additional amenities; free internet and a luxuriously late 2:pm checkout. The hotel was clean and spacious, not a luxury hotel, but comfortable. I asked for a high floor and the view of the DC skyline from the 10th floor really was just what I asked for. I kept my curtains open practically the entire time we were there. We did see planes landing at Reagan, but we did not hear them. This hotel is about six blocks from the famous King Street shops and there is a jogging/walking/bike trail that runs from the hotel straight into town. On King street a free trolley runs continuously and ends at the metro line if you want to go into DC. The hotel has bikes available to lend, and if you are so inclined, this is a wonderful way to get around and enjoy the waterfront. It was rather chilly and windy while we were there, so we passed on the bikes. We did have breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was a real treat with a full service menu and waiter service, as opposed to the typical buffet. I must say, however, that the thing that most impressed us about this hotel was the level of service. Every person we encountered was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. If you want to get away from the hustle of DC and the predictability of the King Street tourist traps, I suggest you give this hotel a try.

Room Tip: If you choose a Potomoc View Room, ask for a high floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Patti,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We really appreciate your recognition of our staff, we take pride in our staff's ability to serve our guest. We are glad you chose us, and hope you would return and look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I liked this hotel very much, got upgraded due to Platinum status, and had a very large suite.
The hotel was clean and well kept but the internet service was horrendous. I sat down to get work done after returning from dinner and ended up getting nothing done because the internet was so slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear flashbridgewater,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has an absolutely fantastic stay. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. We have recently began making changes in our services with our WiFi provider to improve the WiFi connection for our guest, which should be completely installed in the upcoming months. We are glad you chose us, and we hope you would return, to experience the comfortable accommodations and convenience of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I travel a lot for business and I know the game. Business travelers are a lot less discerning with their corporate card than they are with their own money. This hotel capitalizes on that fact with nickle-and-diming practices that most leisure travelers would never accept.

My wife and I spent a night here while driving to our Thanksgiving destination. Being a business-centric hotel during a holiday week, the place was almost completely deserted.

With the skeleton crew that was working that night, it was less of a hotel and more of a big building with a bunch of beds in it. However, this ghost-town scenario did reap some benefits. I got the room at bottom-basement prices due to the lack of demand. They also waived the parking fee, but I'm unsure if it was due to my IHG loyalty status or the fact that their parking lot was completely empty. Regardless, charging guests for parking in this semi-suburban setting is downright stingy.

The room quality is about what you would expect from a Crown Plaza. Everything in the room is quality, albeit a bit worn. The location of the building itself is a bit odd; a 20 minute walk from King Street and the nearest Metro stop.

The Railstop restaurant is what you would expect. The food and drink were all pretty good (but not great) and the prices were pretty bad (but not terrible). My wife and I were the only customers in the restaurant that night (remember, the hotel was deserted), and had a great time talking with the bartender, since she was probably as eager for human interaction as we were.

We were grateful for a coupon that we recieved at check-in for a free breakfast. We went to the breakfast place at 9am on Wednesday and no hostess was present. While we were stranded, we looked at the menu to see that they only offer the continental breakfast until 8:30am during the week. They still had other items available a la carte, but we doubted the coupon would be good for those. The maitre d' never appeared to clear this issue up, so we ate elsewhere (Le Pain Quotidien on King Street - Really good breakfast place)..

It's tough to rate this place based on our one-off experience. The hotel itself is pretty nice, but not nice enough to justify the antics that they try to pull. It's hard to fault the hotel; they are only doing what they can to maximize profits. If I was a leisure traveler during peak dates, I would avoid it like the plague. If you're a business traveler, you just need to know that it's a typical Crown Plaza in a location that may, or may not, be convenient to you.

Room Tip: My room's view over the Potomac was cool, but underwhelming due to DC being relatively far away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Pat M,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We apologize that you were not pleased with all the aspects of your stay.
Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The room was pretty good. The night we showed up to the hotel, the desk worker wasn't very friendly. The other workers the next day were very nice and friendly. Other then that it was good. Parking is expensive. But overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Kay B,

Thank you for your valued comments. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We are happy you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's services. We train our staff to make sure our guests are satisfied. The parking charges in this area is very comparable. We are glad you chose us, and hope you would return and look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late but transfer bus from Reagan airport was efficient and easy to find. Reception enthusiastic, but no upgrade as an IHG platinum. Asked at reception and told hotel at 60% so no excuses, just a broken promise from another franchisee.

Room not bad, but bed and bathroom linens felt cheap and old. Not soft and warm like you normally get in Crowne Plazas. Heating wastoo noisy to sleep while it was running.

Breakfast was weird. Never more than a few customers. Lots of cold, greasy food and stale bread. Coffee was awful. Orange Juice was just an assortment of E-numbers and chemicals in a glass. It did not taste like oranges were part of the recipe.

Reception staff indifferent. Concierge and bus staff outstanding though, helping all the time and friendly. Easily the best part of our stay.

Do not bother with the free bikes. They are single geared and braking is by peddling backwards. The 24 mile round trip to Mt Vernon felt like double that. Pay the local hire shop for a bike with gears.

Pricing was competitive and location ok. Alexandria was quaint and a combination of free shuttle bus to Reagan airport and the metro meant you could be outside the White House in about 30 minutes.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear David H,

Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's services. We are constantly training our staff to make sure our guests are satisfied. We've got nothing but satisfied guest comments on the use of the free bikes, we are sorry you were not happy with the use of the free bikes. We do thank you for comment and hope we may have you as a valued customer in the future and exceed in our abilty to provide better service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.