We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putting up with Bigotry” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Putting up with Bigotry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Aside from the title the hotel personnel WERE wonderful and courteous. Given my grievance i feel the hotel does NOT have protocols to deal with bigoted and insensitive patrons in public areas... I sat in the hotel bar, after a 10 hour drive from South Carolina and a interview in the area.. The last thing i wanted to listen to was a large group of anglo-saxon men and one women, making negative remarks about other races- my race PUERTORRICAN MIX AND including the bartender who happen to be from Morrocco.

I will not stay in this hotel again, people should be able in this date and time to be sensitive and watch what is said in public.. HMMM wonder how would they feel if I came with a large group of Latinos and in a insensitive way talk about them.????. But at the same token people regardless of their should be more civilized.... and keep the negative remarks within the confines of their own group. i have been in all parts of the globe, but nothing like these Neanderthals, in the hotel bar. Rather than relaxing i was perturbed 11/13/2013

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Lissa M,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. Your comments are important to us.
In light of your recent experience in the restaurant, we would like to say here at the Crowne Plaza we celebrate our diversity of cultures, beliefs, races. We believe that all of our employees that work here are so diverse, and are very important that no one is of a lesser value because of any cultural background, race and/or belief. We would hope that individuals in our society would be the voices of reason, what is right, and would speak louder than the indifference which has been a corrosion to our society. However, in this instance, had these individuals become threatening in anyway with their words and actions towards any individual in our establishment, we are sensitive enough to intervene for the safety of our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    166
    110
    53
    28
See reviews for
81
105
32
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellison Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked 5 nights with breakfast (for a fee). Unfortunately, Crowne Plaza’s restaurant is ill-equiped to serve regular hotel patrons when hosting large conferences. Unless a first arrival at 6 am (we arrived at 8; breakfast served 'til 10), tables stand with dirty dishes (gross), at least half of the buffet servers are empty, hot food (what remains) is lukewarm at best, wait staff (too few and working scattered) bring beverages but forget utensils and napkins. We forgave Day 1, complained to Crowne Plaza’s front desk manager on Day 2. Initial response was, “We’re sorry, we’ll look into it, but you didn't book through Crowne Plaza.” No explanation for that, plus we paid Crowne Plaza upon check-in. Two later conversations and we were offered complimentary drinks but no agreement to credit or refund breakfast. Still two more conversations -- the last upon check-out -- and Crowne Plaza finally refunded breakfast fees and tax. It took five exchanges before Crowne Plaza responded adequately to repeated guest complaints. Despite okay accommodations (room was clean; view of the Potomac nice), we’ll stay elsewhere next time. Alexandria has better options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear 385cjh,

Thank you so much, for your valuable comment we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's services and our ability to address the issues you had with our restaurant service. We are constantly training our staff to make sure our guests are satisfied. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has an absolutely fantastic stay. I have solace in hearing you were finally given a pleasing and fitting end to your issue before leaving our hotel. We look forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for the DC marathon in Oct 2013. The room was clean and nice. The location does not have much around it and the shuttle runs infrequently. We walked to St Marys church for mass Saturday evening and it was a fine walk - just not convenient when you want to be somewhere (like a race or to the airport). Daily maid service showed up about 5 pm when we were back in the room getting ready for dinner both days so our room didn't get restocked with coffee, etc. Not a big deal - i just would stay there again unless necessary. Oh yeah - the bed was TERRIBLE. We rolled to the middle all night. The mattress was in serious need of being replaced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear rpngirl,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that our location was not convenient to your itinerary. It our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience. We regret we did not meet our goal. We will make sure that our Managers are aware of bed not being as comfortable as it should, and make the those changes to improve. We look forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

When I checked in on Friday there were two people at the desk. I was the only one checking in and they were both on the phone and I had to wait about 5-10 minutes for them to check me in and then I felt like I was imposing upon them. The hotel is old and the furniture in the rooms was beat up and the upholstery was torn. The internet speed is about equal to "dial up"...I thought I had stepped into a time warp. The only good thing was the driver of the shuttle was pleasant. I was there for a conference and the conference will be there again next year but I am staying down the street at the Sheraton next year.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here stay in the "even numbered rooms". They have a lovely view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Pat M,

Thank you for your comments and feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. Our goal is that we meet the needs of our guest while staying us. We regret we did not meet that goal. We apologize that you were not pleased with the WiFi service. We have recently began making changes in our services with our WiFi provider to improve the speed and connectability for our guest. Though we prefer you would've had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel offers good value compared to other chains in Old Town with Wi Fi, breakfast and parking included in my rate. Facilities were good although there is no pool unlike the holiday inn and hilton. Although not on Kings Street the hotel is a safe 10 minute walk from the shops and restaurants and a shuttle is also run. The Potomac side offers nice views towards DC. Service was good with a good selection of food for both room service and the bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear JL,

We appreciate your compliments, positive recognition of our staff and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are looking forward to you returning to our area to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Positives- Great location in Old Town, free shuttle to airport, great view of Potomac from the room.
Negatives- I did not see one employee smile the entire time there. Front desk at check in- Only a "do you have a reservation?" No conversation, interest, or information on internet, breakfast options, etc. I was traveling with a colleague and our rooms were right next to eachother. Her room had a fridge. Mine did not. One of my pet peaves is when housekeeping doesnt replace the coffee. I had to call down both mornings for more coffee. Rooms service breakfast one morning took 45 minutes. And my breakfast and internet showed up on my colleagues bill even though we had separate rooms and credit cards. Room was clean and comfortable but trash in the hallways and by elevators was left there for more than 24 hours on two separate occasions. The Railstop Bar was ok but again, not very friendly staff and one bartender could not speak English. HOWEVER- Staff recommended our restaurant that we were there on business for two separate times so that was good.
I work for hotel/restaurant company so I may be extra critical. So that being said- I would stay there again at a really good rate but the staff really needs to gain personality and just SMILE. Dont act like every time I am in front of you, I am an inconvenience or interuption. The only person who was awesome was the Chef who we road in the shuttle with from CP to Holiday Inn down the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear GypsyTravel78,

Thank you so much for your comments, we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's services. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has absolutely fantastic stay. We are constantly training our staff to make sure our guests are satisfied. We are sorry that you felt that we did not live up to that goal. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage efforts of generous hospitality. We are anticipating your returning to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The price was just right. It was clean and the staff was very helpful. We only ran into one issue when the power went out our last morning. The hotel staff was very helpful and offered free coffee. It is located about eight blocks from King Street.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear JaneenG
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We glad that we were conveniently located to your travel plans in the area. We're happy we could accommodate during the unforeseen power outage in the area. We try to make even the unexpected not so uncomfortable for our guest. We are glad you chose us, and we look forward to serving you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.