We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay that is a good value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay that is a good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was here for Week with our National Sales Conference.

Nice place, good facilities & good food.

Internet service here is not good (it's slow at best) and costs $10/day. This needs to be upgraded to be a great place for meetings.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Dave K,

We appreciate your comments, your positive recognition of our services and your valuable feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We apologize that you were not pleased with the WiFi service. We have recently made changes with our WiFi provider to improve the speed and connectability for our guest. We are glad you chose us, and we look forward to serving you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    188
    128
    59
    36
See reviews for
91
122
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

There are free shuttles every half an hour to the Reagan airport, and hourly 2-10pm to King St (where the food choices are). We ate at the Gastro pub in the hotel last night. Very very nice, but slow to receive food. Staff at desk of hotel not very friendly. Rooms quite nice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear MrsCoulson-555,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It's great to hear that you liked our room accommodations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior. However, I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in a few areas. Please accept our sincerest apologies that our guest representatives appeared to be unfriendly. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here during our visit to Mount Vernon. We really enjoyed our visit. The room was comfortable and very clean. I was even "dared" by my boyfriend to wipe the top of the pictures in the room and I didn't find a speck of dust! Great job Housekeeping! The room was spacious, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. Check-in was smooth and both front desk agents were pleasant and friendly. The room overlooked tennis courts, a playground and a dog park. Seemed kindof ironic since I was missing my two little dogs at home. So we walked down to the dog park and talked to the friendly people down there. The TV worked well and it seemed like it had a lot of choices. Parking was $20 and we didn't mind since this was a weekend mini-vacation for us. Internet for the room I think was $9.95 and although I had my Kindle with me, I really didn't need internet. I could of checked email downstairs for free on my Kindle or I could of used one of the two complimentary computers in the lobby area. We had a very good experience and it was perfect for our trip. Thank you staff at Crowne Plaza! This was a special birthday trip for my boyfriend and he loved your hotel! See you again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Worry FreePhilly,

We appreciate your comments. We take pride in your positive recognition of our staff, feedback on our services and hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and anticipating your return to serve you. So try not to make it too long before you return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I picked this hotel because it was supposed to be near everything and I thought it would be a good deal since hotels in Washington were expensive on that particular weekend. It was a real downer after coming from a Westin, the room looked shabby in comparison! I was disappointed in the room and hotel in general and really just wanted to leave. I was annoyed that there was no safe in the room and was really glad I was only there one night. I was amazed that the star rating was 3 and a half.....1 at best. Not going to be a return guest for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Karen_SB6344FF,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. Our primary goal is that all of our guest experience with us is to be an exceptional one. We apologize that we were unable to accomplish that goal for you. If in the future you are needing to store your valuables, we offer safety deposit boxes no charge at the front desk. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is a little dated, but it's convenient to DC and in a lovely area just on the outskirts of the Old Town area. Not a bad walk though. Plenty of shopping and good dining close by. Easy drive into the DC area and to Mt Vernon. Great area to walk along the water with parks close by and a very safe feel to it.
Probably wouldn't rate it very high if I was paying premium rates but at the vacation rate I booked, I'm very pleased.
I came here with kids and they enjoyed it. Would stay here again. Was worried that the air traffic into Reagan was a problem but was pleasantly surprising that we didn't notice it, except to watch the planes go by as they went to land.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Frank L,

Thank you for the great comments and review of your recent stay with us. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. It is our goal to provide our guest with a great overall experience. We're happy that we were conveniently located to your travel plans in the area. We look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was my first stay here and I was pleasantly surprised. The service and accommodations were great and there was a complimentary aromatherapy kit in the room that was a really nice touch. I attended a meeting in the hotel and the conference room was well appointed and convenient and the lunch they served was wonderful! The location is several blocks away from the shopping/dining area on King St. but it was a pleasant walk. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Ml1031,

Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. We are happy that you were please with your accommodations and service. It is our goal that each guest would have a great overall experience while staying with us. We are glad you chose us, and we look forward to serving you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The family stumbled across this hotel during our trip to the USA this summer. From the time we arrived to the time we left the stay was outstanding. Very helpful staff especially 'Ashija' who always pointed us in the right direction of things to see and do around Washington. Many thanks to the staff and would highly recommend this hotel to friends, family and other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear thegilberts00,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found our staff helpful, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are glad you chose us, and we look forward to serving you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
1.2 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#25 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.