We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wifi is difficult to login!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Indonesia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wifi is difficult to login!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The location to go to old town Alexandria is about 10 minutes by car. You can use shuttle car from hotel and it's free.
But to go to the city (capital, White House, museum) is far and thinking for traffic jam.

The room is comfortable and have beautiful view, i can see The Capital from my room.

Free wifi is only in Lobby, and it's difficult to login and slow!
I think it must be prepare because wifi is very important for me (and us)

My recommended for breakfast is outside hotel, just cross the street, you can found cafe for breakfast, it's good, delicious, and cheap. there are English and American breakfast for 5-10 dollar.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear arnoldusIndonesia,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you liked our room accommodations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. However, I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in a few areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    143
    102
    52
    23
See reviews for
76
92
28
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and in a good location the rooms are great, but why no safe? Why no fridge? And why two double beds? These things are a mystery to me.
other wise a great hotel with a free shuttle bus to local shoppng area in King street

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear RT_51,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We are happy that you were please with your accommodations and location. We hope you return in the near future to once again experience the comfortable accommodations and convenience of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nw indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We are a foursome of 60 somethings who like to travel. We chose this hotel for our sightseeing trip to DC on the advise of someone in the travel biz. The hotel is very nice in a lovely quiet mostly residential area. Right behind the hotel is a public park like setting along the Potomoc river. We sat out there nearly every night watching the air traffic from Reagan National take off and land. We felt very safe. It is a 8 block walk to King Street where there is an abundance of restaurants, bars and shopping. This is also very safe area, we never felt threatened even after dark. There is a shuttle to take you and pick you up from King Street that runs every hour from around noon to 10:00 pm. There is another shuttle that goes to Reagan National airport that leaves every half hour from very early am to 10:30 pm. Take this shuttle for the Metro station at the airport also--very convenient. The Metro is the way to go into DC. We are NOT public transportation people but after the first day getting acclimated to the system it was a breeze to get to everything we wanted to do. If you go online the Metro operation is explained in detail and with a map you can navigate easily. This also was extremely safe--again we never felt threatened by anything--even one night when we returned around 10:00 at night. The only place we wanted to see that was not on the Metro line was Mount Vernon. A friendly bartender suggested the water taxi to go there, which we did and it was delightful! We are so glad we did it.
You can get tickets down at the waterfront in front of the Torpedo factory shops. The ticket is for the boat ride and admission to Mount Vernon all in one. The only negative about the hotel was the breakfast restaurant which just was not that good considering the prices. There is a little diner across the street Extra Perks that we thought awesome and very reasonable. We were there for a week and ate there every morning after that first breakfast at the hotel. There is a grocery store about 2 blocks away along with an ABC store, which if you don't know is the only place where you are able to buy hard spirits retail in the area. There is no pool at this hotel, but that was not an issue for us. There is no free wifi which I can't understand, but it did not spoil my trip. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view, although if you are on the front of the building there is a dog park across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear MJM59,

We appreciate your comments, your positive recognition of our services and feedback on our hotel during your recent stay. It is our utmost pleasure in serving you. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. We love knowing we attained our goal in providing you with an overall exceptional experience. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we are anticipating your return to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Ashiya and Tim made my long trip even more pleasurable! This staff understands the power of excellent customer service. Ashiya went the extra 10 miles for me to make my evening even more relaxing! Thanks to you both, crowne plaza is my hotel of choice in DC!

Room Tip: King bed with sunset view really rocks, the lavender spray and lotions make the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear bnbyoung,

We appreciate your comments. We take pride in your positive name recognition of our staff, feedback on our services and hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are anticipating your return to yet again serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our 4th hotel on our US holiday and by far and away the best; The service, rooms, cleanliness was second to none.
WiFi is free in the lobby only, $10 per 24 hour period in rooms (unless, like me, you're a member of IHG and it's set up as free)
The hotel is well situated for the historic area of Alexandria and they run a free shuttle to and from Ronald Reagan Airport if required (metro from Washington DC to the airport and free shuttle as opposed to $30-40 for a taxi?)
Superb - highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Phil S.
We thank you for your compliments and positive recognition of our staffs' service and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and service second to none, our staff helpful, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We love knowing we attained our goal in providing you with an overall exceptional experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. Try not to make it so long before you return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Crowne Plaza with two children for a DC trip. The hotel is clean and in a quiet location, and well-priced.

I had to extend our reservation prior to arrival and had some difficulty with the Crowne Plaza reservations group (bad connection more than once) - which led to some confusion when we arrived at the hotel. Ashiya helped us at the front desk and straightened everything out and generally went above and beyond - an excellent customer service experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear EK,

Thank you for the great comments and review of your recent stay with us. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. It is our goal to provide our guest with a great overall experience. We appreciate your positive name recognition of our staff's services. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel was chosen purely for its proximity to our meeting. The hotel was functional and rooms were clean. Nothing to shout about but no complaints either. Hotel is near the river which was nice for walks after dinner. Breakfast was good. Receptionists were mostly indifferent. I suppose it's an all right choice for short business trips.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Wayfarer21,

Thank you for the comment and feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you were happy with the location and it's convenience for your business meetings. Hopefully they were successful meetings. I apologize your experience with our guest representatives did not seem pleasant. Thank you for that feedback and we are going to address your concerns with our associates. Our goal is that all of guests have an overall great stay. We do hope we will be able to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.