We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our 4th hotel on our US holiday and by far and away the best; The service, rooms, cleanliness was second to none.
WiFi is free in the lobby only, $10 per 24 hour period in rooms (unless, like me, you're a member of IHG and it's set up as free)
The hotel is well situated for the historic area of Alexandria and they run a free shuttle to and from Ronald Reagan Airport if required (metro from Washington DC to the airport and free shuttle as opposed to $30-40 for a taxi?)
Superb - highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Phil S.
We thank you for your compliments and positive recognition of our staffs' service and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and service second to none, our staff helpful, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We love knowing we attained our goal in providing you with an overall exceptional experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. Try not to make it so long before you return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    148
    103
    50
    23
See reviews for
76
94
29
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Crowne Plaza with two children for a DC trip. The hotel is clean and in a quiet location, and well-priced.

I had to extend our reservation prior to arrival and had some difficulty with the Crowne Plaza reservations group (bad connection more than once) - which led to some confusion when we arrived at the hotel. Ashiya helped us at the front desk and straightened everything out and generally went above and beyond - an excellent customer service experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear EK,

Thank you for the great comments and review of your recent stay with us. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. It is our goal to provide our guest with a great overall experience. We appreciate your positive name recognition of our staff's services. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel was chosen purely for its proximity to our meeting. The hotel was functional and rooms were clean. Nothing to shout about but no complaints either. Hotel is near the river which was nice for walks after dinner. Breakfast was good. Receptionists were mostly indifferent. I suppose it's an all right choice for short business trips.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Wayfarer21,

Thank you for the comment and feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you were happy with the location and it's convenience for your business meetings. Hopefully they were successful meetings. I apologize your experience with our guest representatives did not seem pleasant. Thank you for that feedback and we are going to address your concerns with our associates. Our goal is that all of guests have an overall great stay. We do hope we will be able to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice hotel in a quiet residential area with views of the Potomac River. Short walk to a Giant supermarket which also sells alcohol. About fifteen minutes easy walk down N Fairfax Street into the centre of Old Town, King Street. Or, take the free once an hour hotel shuttle bus and walk back as we did, a pleasant stroll up King Street. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, no complaints but don't expect free WiFi except in the lobby. Nice bar area, pleasant sevice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear JohnM,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We appreciate the favorable comments on our accommodations, our services and location. We apologize that you were not pleased with the WiFi service. We glad you also enjoyed your stay and anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My mother and I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza in advance of my wedding in Old Town. I chose the Crowne Plaza primarily for its' location around the corner from where my wedding was held - we actually walked over to the ceremony -- and the price was right.

Our room had two double beds, as requested, and a microwave and refrigerator. The room was clean with an excellent view of the river. I had a few appointments in the King Street area that I walked to in about 20 minutes' time. I like walking so the stroll to King Street was enjoyable to me but might be troublesome for others who have difficulty walking. It is my understanding that the Crowne Plaza has a shuttle that goes back and forth to King Street.

On my wedding day, our room was used as a central location for getting ready. Things got a little crazy --and crowded-- with a hair stylist and make-up artist (who each brought two assistants) coming to the room, plus a few other wedding guests coming over, but it was an usual situation. The room was perfectly large enough for two guests.

The breakfast buffet was OK. I had a late night meal in the bar with a friend that was also adequate. I think the hotel could provide better options for vegetarians and vegans but I didn't starve. The staff were friendly and helpful.

My mom stayed another night at the Crowne Plaza to catch her early morning flight out of DCA. The hotel has a convenient shuttle to/from DCA every half hour and that worked well for my mom. We didn't have a car with us; the hotel has a large parking lot where they charge $20/day for hotel guests to park. That strikes me as rather outrageous; it was too pricey for others in my group, so they opted to park on the street. Apparently street parking is only for a few hours at a time.

Overall, very good and worked well for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sojourner68

Thank you for the great comments and review of your recent stay with us. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. It is our goal to provide our guest with a great overall experience. We're happy that we were conveniently located to your travel plans in the area. Congratulations on your day hope we will be your choice for the anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good location, clean and comfortable rooms, good reception staff.

But the breakfast experience was terrible. At least the "service" was; the food was fine (the French toast was excellent!).

Stayed there two nights. First two mornings were ok but then there were maybe 6 people in the restaurant at the same time (about 00800-0830). The third morning it was a bit busier but apparently no cook showed up to work! If they had only mentioned the problem it would have been better but they said nothing, no indication of any difficulties, even when asked. It felt like Africa or the Middle East where staff hate to "disappoint" any customer. They even brought out complimentary bowls of fruit and toast to make it seem like things were progressing. Nice touch but holding to the fiction that nothing was amiss was a big mistake. Weird thing was they kept taking orders for an empty kitchen!

Last day had a pretty well filled restaurant. Unfortunately, not enough staff (don't they know how many people are in the hotel overnight and thus can plan their staffing?). Twenty minutes to get coffee, and I had to grab a waitress (any waitress) to firmly request coffee. Another fifteen to order and fifty (50!) before my omelet came. Totally unacceptable in a hotel of this overall quality.

Room Tip: Request a direct river view (river facing).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Kairho1,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We receive each comment as a vital tool in improving and making changes where needed to best serve our guest. We will share your comments with our Managers to make subsequent improvements. We apologize for slow and inadequate restaurant service even though you enjoyed the food. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. We look forward to you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of cosmos tour. Location is fab, nice and quiet. Overlooking the river and beautiful walk into Alexandria. Only took us ten minutes down the road to walk. Definitely the best hotel on the tour! Staff friendly. Rooms were very clean and spacious and we were provided with a fridge which was good because Washington D.C was sooo hot! And the bathroom was very clean and spacious and the little complimentary shampoos and creams were a nice treat. If I ever went back I would without a doubt stay there. Only thing missing for me was a pool! Oh and the hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from Alexandria which is fab when you achy feet and shopping

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Bex17t,

We are very appreciate your compliments and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with an overall experience that was exceptional. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. We glad you also enjoyed your stay and anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.