We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in July as a part of Cosmos tour group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Aurangabad , India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stayed in July as a part of Cosmos tour group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I am happy from all points of view . Room was spacious and tastefully furnished . Breakfast was sumptuous and good value for money . Hotel staffs were exceptionally courtious . I would particularly like to mention about Ms Florivi -- she was very cooperative and extended all help very cheerfully .

Room Tip: No particular suggestion -- all rooms are excellent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Khokan2013,

We appreciate your comments, your positive name recognition of Ms. Florivi, our services and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we're anticipating your return to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    159
    108
    51
    23
See reviews for
77
104
32
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked at the last minute was able to get a great price. Clean hotel with a great room veiw. Location was perfect close to I95 and DC. Great customer sevice!!!
We were able park on the street right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Shame774

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with an overall experience that was exceptional. We glad you also enjoyed your stay and anticipating your return to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The good things:

1. Parking was free
2. Situated in a quiet part of town by the cycle trail
3. Large room size
4. Partial view of Potomac
5. Comfortable bed

The bad things:

1. Miserable staff, no-one smiled and during check-in the staff member barely even spoke
2. Nothing of any note located in close walking distance
3. Depressing decor and ambience
4. Charge for wifi (except for elite Priority Club members)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Hotelfussy,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It's our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience. We will make sure that our Managers are aware of this to make the necessary changes to improve. We look forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Though I was able to get a good price on a discount travel site, the original quote was really pricey. Staff wasn't overly friendly, though on check out she did take off my internet charge. Sorry who charges for internet these days. STOP IT...Also, was charged $7.50 for a draft in the bar one night. Crazy...think it was only 12 oz as it fit into a coffee go cup...they advertise a shuttle to the metro, but actually you go to the airport and then find it yourself...not very pleasant experience going through Ronald Regan airport looking for a metro and then being picked up at the airport from the shuttle. Alexandria itself is a very nice place to stay, terrific location..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Amtiii,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It is our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience. Our restaurant is a Gastropub which carries crafted brews which yield the higher price, these crafted beers are also not as the usual store bought beers. We are very happy to hear that our location was a terrific spot and enjoyable. We look forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We traveled to Washington DC back in early April this year, which is considered a high season (During the Blossoms festival). Hotel rooms in DC were really expensive so we decided to book a room at Crowne Plaza in Alexandria and take the train to DC. I booked my room with a river view through booking website. When we arrived for check-in, we were told that our room doesn't have a view because all the rooms with a view were occupied. I was certainly not happy and what made it worse is that the reception staff were not very friendly or helpful. After I complained, they gave me the room with a view.

The room itself was not bad. It was clean and spacious. The only thing it doesn't have a safe so don't count on leaving any valuable items in the room if you carry any.

Our reservation included buffet breakfast. The buffet included serials, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, potatoes, cookies and muffins, which was fine for us.

The hotel is about 15 - 20 minutes walk from the subway station (which goes to all the attractions in DC). This was OK for us as we don't mind the walk but it may not be the same for others. It is also 10 minutes walk to King street in Old Town Alexandria.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Hany B,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We are glad you found the rooms clean, however, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A group of us came to Alexandria as part of a professional conference. Part of us stayed July 11-14 and part of us stayed July 12 - 17. We had three rooms. The hotel completely messed up our reservations, placing everybody's room under one name and one credit card. It took numerouse conversations with the front desk staff as well as the manager to use the three credit cards that we originally used.
When it was time to check out, my initial bill was $300.00 more than it should have been. It took me 30 minutes to convince the front desk person to double check the itimizations against their restaurant tickets. Their attitude was awful-- even suggesting that it was ME that had to contact their corporate office (Holiday Inn) to straighten out the bill.
My colleague was subsequently charged an addtional $500.00 to her credit card a week after her stay. As I write this, she is still dealing with them.
The hotel is clean and well maintained. Very close to Old Town. The Customer Service is really really bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear BBorich,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We receive each comment as a vital tool in improving and making changes where needed to best serve our guest. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience. We will make sure that our Managers are aware of this to make the necessary changes to improve. If the issues you have mentioned have not been rectified please contact our hotel directly and speak with our Accounting Department. We again apologize for any inconveniences that you and your colleague may have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, Uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I thought that we'd regret not being right in DC but actually Alexandria is lovely. King Street is about a 20 minute stroll away and has many interesting places to visit, shop and eat. The hotel is clean and well maintained. We had to ask for wifi as Priority Club members and we don't have a fridge which is s shame. But this is a good hotel and I would stay here again. TIP: Washing machine available at only $1.25.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear LE4d,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to give us your comments. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. We apologize that the Wifi service was not up to your expectations, we will look into ways to correct these issues with the provider. We look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;