We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least the bed was comfortable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“At least the bed was comfortable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

I ended up at this hotel after having my flight cancelled at Reagan National. The rate was incredibly low, 65 plus taxes. The experience was unfortunately worthy of the low low price(at for DC during peak tourist season). I would not stay at this hotel again for anything more than 100 dollars, and definitely not the going rate of 200 plus a night.
The negatives:
The hotel has no self service laundry facilities. Instead they direct you to the Holiday Inn two blocks away. Old Town Alexandria is a bit confusing, and it could be a bit scary for some travelers to lug a load of laundry past the local liquor store after dark.
The hotel recently implemented a 10 dollar a day internet usage fee. Not the end of the world, but annoying since most every hole in the wall motel in America seems to have free access.
The shower at 4:15 in the morning was downright chilly. It finally warmed up after a few minutes. Again most every hole in the wall motel in this country seems to have ample hot water.
The worst complaint I leave for last. As a distressed traveler, I had an early morning flight out of the airport. When I asked about the return shuttle, the front desk claimed that no shuttles left before 5:00 AM. I arrived by 4:50 AM to wait the shuttle. 20 minutes later it finally arrived. In addition to potentially ruining my travel plans with the needless delay, apparently there had been a shuttle earlier than 5:00 AM. Maybe it was a mistake, but I felt like the front desk had lied to my face.
So what do you get for 200 a night. A great bed. I hand it to the Holiday Inn family for spending well for comfortable mattresses. That said, you can probably get similar at a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    164
    108
    51
    24
See reviews for
79
105
32
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights after calling in to see if they had vacancies, with a room on the 11th floor with a great view of the Potomac and planes flying in and out of the National Airport (and a spectular thunderstorm on the 1st night). Rate wasn't cheap but they did throw in free parking (normally have to pay) and it is very well located

Room was large and very comfortable with 2 double beds and LOADS of pillows

There is an hourly courtesy shuttle bus to both the old town and National Airport, while the Metro stop at Braddock Road is only a 15-minute walk away, as is the old town through a safe neighbourhood. There is also a pleasant riverside park neaby plus shops and places for breakfast. The hotal lounge (bar) is pleasant for a drink but we did not eat here.

There is some aircraft noise but not at night, and while there is a railroad siding alongside with level crossings each side of the buidling we only saw (and heard) one train in 2 days.

Overall highly recommended

  • Liked — The view and location
  • Disliked — Bit pricey but to be expected given where it is!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Stayed here with 8th grade class on our trip to Washington D.C. The rooms were much better than expected, had a nice flat screen tv, upgraded bedding, plenty of pillows, nice bathroom. The view was nice, good look on the potomac. Staff was friendly. Its very close to D.C, so I would recommend staying here if you plan on touring the city. Very pleased with my stay!

  • Liked — The rooms were very nice and clean with good accomodations
  • Disliked — Not enough elevators
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

We stayed 5 nights at the Crowne Plaza 4/28-5/2 2008. All the construction is complete except for a little section in the lobby area. But I'm not sure when they worked on that area because I never heard a thing!

We had a nice, clean room with a great view. We bid on the room through Priceline and received a rate of $80 a night and free parking. Never had a problem finding a parking place.

You can take the shuttle to the Reagan National Airport and catch the Metro into DC. Very convenient and cheap way to get into the city. They also shuttled you to King Street which is where most of the restaraunts, shopping and bars are located.

The staff is courteous (except for the bartender in the lounge who never smiled).

Overall I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — convenice and price
  • Disliked — waitng for the shutte
  • Stayed April 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

Our family booked via Priceline and bid $66 for 2 nights. GREAT PRICE!! Finding it was easy and parking was not a problem. We parked under the hotel. Parking is the cheapest in DC $10 a day. Can't beat that.

After checking in, the crib I asked for was set up with his own sheets, towel and soap.

Anyroom above 4th floor has a good view. Floor to ceiling windows. Nice flat screen TV. Wireless cost additional but they have a PC in the lobby for free.

Free shuttle to National Airport and Blue Line Metro system. No need to drive into DC staying here!!!

The lounge on the 2nd floor is decent, spendy drinks but a nice place to go to without wander the streets.

Our family had a nice stay and would recommend Priceline to bid on your room.

  • Liked — Location, Services, TV and Shuttle Service
  • Disliked — Pay for parking and WI Fi additional
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

Very nice room with upgraded sheets etc, flat screen TV, coffeemaker. Somehow I got a rate of $60 for the one night we stayed there. I forgot I had booked a "river view" and half expected it to be a sliver of water between ugly buildings. It was amazing. A big picture window with a long vista of the Potomac River, DC on the other side, a bridge and airplanes coming in over it. Wow. It was a treat to look at that.

The hotel personnel were nice, the shuttle from National Airport was helpful and it takes you into Old Town too. It doesn't run that often. One night we opted to walk home from Old Town It was 8-10 blocks.

I think they said they finished their construction, though we went to the rooftop and there were guys painting. No problem with noise at all.

If the room had had a fridge & microwave and that same price, I might have stayed longer. Instead we moved to the One Washington Circle Hotel for several days as we needed a separate bedroom.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

After reading many of the negative reviews, we were very apprehensive about the place. Upon getting there, our attitude was turned completely around as the construction many reviews have discussed has been completed. The room was very nice, neat, with a flat screen TV and a great view of the Potomac. We watched the fireworks at the new Gaylord hotel from our room. Staff was friendly and helpful, location easy to navigate and the food was good too.

Don't be afraid to stay there. All is well.

  • Liked — Proximity to DC area, easy and free parking
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.