We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Plaza is not a terrible hotel. I find it curious that the more stars a hotel has, the less in room amentities. In the Plaza's case, you must request a refridgerator ($10), they do not come standard. If you want a hottub, forget it. They only exist in the suites. The rooms are average and the hotel could use some cosmedic surgery.
On the plus side, through the discount sites you can get a room for under $100. If you must travel into DC, the hotel operates a free shuttle every 30 minutes to Reagan airport where you can catch the Metro (subway) starting around 5 A.M.
For food there are 2-3 restraunts around, a grocery store and a liquor store all within about 2 blocks. After that, its about a mile to King st (the main drag) for food and shopping.
Its not bad, its just not good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. We are always appreciative of all comments our guest leave us. They are looked at very seriously to improve our guest's stays with us. Our goal is that our guest stays are an outstanding stay of great service and value. We apologize we were unable to fulfill the request for that particular accommodations and the frustration and inconvenience it caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    138
    101
    51
    22
See reviews for
74
89
27
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed with my husband as part of a large tour group

LOCATION just out of central Alexandria, but walkable to all the action and the Pontomac river. Supermarket only 1 block away. 15 minutes from DC (traffic dependant!)

FACILITIES stock standard. Pool located at partner holiday inn around the corner. Shuttle service to Alexandria if you don't want to walk. Business centre downstairs (2 computers and printer). Heard rumours of free wifi throughout the hotel, but could only locate overpriced service, disappointing given the large business and tourist traffic that comes through

ROOM large and spacious. Excellent air con. Lots of lights and a night light near the toilet in the bathroom is a nice touch. Block out blinds ensure a good nights sleep. No safe in room. Really nice toiletries.

BED super comfortable, lots of pillows

STAFF friendly and helpful. Everyone smiles!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay with us. We extremely happy to hear you stay was a great one. Your experience is the goal we have for all of our guest. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I would call this a great hotel that'll blow you away. It's just what it is-a solid good stay.

I liked the rooms but the lobby and hallways consistently had weird odors. The room was great, had nice toiletries, fancy sleep aids but the bathrooms and ballrooms need a major overhaul. It looks like they were half updated.

The bar leaves something to be desired. It's not bad but its not gear either. They have cheap happy hour drinks.

The hotel is a bit further from the pier and King St where all the action is.

Overall my gf and I were satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for giving us your valued feedback and comment on your stay with us. We are always happy to hear about your experience. In sharing your experiences with us it helps us to ensure great stays for our other guests, so we are very appreciative of you taking the time to do so. They are of great importance and allow us to monitor and improve in the areas you have mentioned. Thank you again and we look forward to you staying in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good location and nice facilities, but really bad service, I made a reservation about a month in advance for two rooms and I requested one handicapped accessible room for my sister and after I booked online I took the time to call to make sure it was available, when we arrived to the hotel they told us that they did not have any; It was really frustrating because my sister is in a wheelchair and she really needed it, I literally had to fight them to get acommodated in a room that was close to what we needed.
I will never go there again and I don't recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Paisita M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I just returned from a business trip at the Crowne Plaza Old Town. Not only did I stay here, but our two-day workshop was held in the Washington Room of the hotel.

The location cannot be beat. This hotel is half a block from the Potomac River and Tide Lock Park with a view of the Capitol. There is a small sand/beach volleyball court on the beach, plenty of benches, and a walking path along the Potomac. Even closer, directly across the street from the hotel is a multi-court tennis court and playground with a gazebo.

I traveled to Alexandra via Amtrak. Getting from Amtrak to the Crowne Plaza was very easy. There are DASH bus stops in front of both the Amtrak station and the hotel and the cost was only $1.50 one-way.

My room was clean and comfortable. The mini-frig worked too well. It was so cold my drinks froze overnight, but the temperature was easily adjustable.

My only complaint was that I ordered room service my first evening, and placed the tray outside of my door when I was finished. The tray was still there at 6:45 the next morning. I returned to my room around 4:45 p.m. and the tray was still there. I called room service at that time to remind them, and was told that someone would pick it up. I left for dinner and returned to the room at 8:30 p.m. to find the tray still in front of my door---more than 24 hours later. At this point I called the front desk, and within half an hour the tray was finally removed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The road warrior is back on the road again. Stayed last week at the Crowne Plaza Old Town Alexandria and was very pleased with this property. First of all, FREE shuttle service to and from the Ronald Regan Airport. SCORE! Got to the hotel and was very pleased with the lobby and the appearance of the public areas. Evening check in after 8p and they had room service still open, so I had dinner sent to my room so I could relax and get ready for my meetings on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Got a 12th floor king bedded room (top floor) and it was very nice. I felt I had plenty of space for the time I would be on the road for this trip. Woke up Thursday AM and had a great shower experience. My only comment about the bathroom was it had the one light over the vanity and the toilet is in a corner without a light over it and the shower was also kinda dim. ALSO, the vanity was large, but the sink was not centered. So shaving in the AM, I was leaning over to see the mirror, because the sink was not in front of the mirror, more to the side. OTHER THAN THAT, I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast available on the 2nd floor in the restaurant and once again got a ride on their shuttle to my Old Town Office. Very convenient location for where I need to be. In the past, my association has placed me at the Westin, but I found these accommodations to be comparable and the prices were better. I will be back in July and I look forward to another great stay.

Room Tip: Free business center in the lobby. Breakfast buffet was very good and lots of variety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear HotelDude,

Thank you so very much for your pleasant comments and feedback. We are always happy to hear about great stays with us. In sharing your experiences with us it helps us to ensure great stays for our other guests, so we are very appreciative of you taking the time to do so. We look forward to your return and hope that during your stay we will out do ourselves again for you to experience an even better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Sent here from the Holiday Inn which was full we got a better deal! Excellent, helpful staff. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. My only complaint was the $15.00 charge for parking. But not unusual for the area.

Room Tip: 8th floor view was nice, our room was on the end of the hall, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.