We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dave collier!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“dave collier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel was very nice and clean. We really enjoyed the free bike rentals they offered and the many bike paths around town and into DC. I really just want to credit one of the hotel managers, Dave Collier, for going above and beyond and truely caring about his guests' experience:
My friend and I were rushing back to the hotel from the city. When we finally got back and got our bags from the storage room we found out the next airport shuttle wouldn't be for another 30 minutes, which would make it very very probable we would miss our flight home. Even though it was not his or the hotels fault, Dave jumped into action, just grabbed a set of keys and a shuttle van and drove us personally to the airport. It was amazing and a flight saver (see what i did there?). I left him some money for the gas and his trouble but he did this expecting absolutely nothing. He is absolutely just the type of person that couldnt in good concious not help out two panicked and clueless young girls.

Crowne Plaza is lucky to have this guy!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    138
    101
    51
    22
See reviews for
74
89
27
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rshkj
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel rooms are very nice and they are clean. The problem is the front desk people, they act like they don't care if you are there or not. I wanted to add my priority club number at check in, the lady at the counter told me she couldn't add it because the reservation was made in someone else's name. I gave my credit card for the stay and my ID to check in, and I was the only one in the room. This is the way my company does it and it has never been an issue until this Crown Plaza. The bar people were not very friendly either, maybe it was just bad timing on my part to stay there. I moved to the Holiday Inn for nights 2 and 3, the people are much more pleasant. ( I have reviewed them also )

Room Tip: The Dolly Madison suite is very nice, you can hear the planes but they stop about 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear rshkj,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel was clean and staff was courteous. The location is not the best as it relates to public transit. They have one van that leaves every half hour. We were there for a conference and everyone was leaving at the same time. One van is not enough. Its quite a hike to the Metro, if you miss the shuttle. It is also a hike to any restaurants, except for the Japanese Steak House which is located about 2 blocks away. The phrase, location, location, location in DC means a lot. I would probably not stay there again, simply because of the location. Their restaurant for lunch and dinner was average. Breakfast buffet or order off the menu was good. Again, I would stay closer to the metro if I had a choice. This trip I did not have a choice.

Room Tip: If you are a priority member be sure to let them know so you can get an upgrade. Stay on the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear 1953ladybug,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel needs a refresh, but is very passable and a good bargain in the area (which helps the place get a "very good" rating from me). The staff was helpful when we needed something. The Railstop Gastropub (the hotel's restaurant) was a pleasant surprise, in fact my son claims he had "the best dessert there ever"-the Baked Chocolate Puddin'. For runners/bikers/walkers: the hotel is right in the middle of The Mount Vernon Trail, an almost 18 mile asphalt path right along the water. Highly recommended place to exercise outside when the weather is nice. And this trail connects to other trails that take you through VA. I wish I had more time to explore.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water and watch the planes land at Reagan Airport. The windows were soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your pleasant comments and feedback. We are so happy to know you family and especially your son enjoy the delicious food in our restaurant. We are also very pleased know that our location was a great fit to your plans for here and the surrounding area. We love to hear the bicycles are enjoyed so much. So next time you stay with us there are also other local sites to see with the bikes that should be even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is fine - a bit older. It looks like it once hosted some grand events but today is a third string property.

The airport shuttle was confusing. It ran late, the van was too full so folks were left waiting for the next shuttle, the driver spoke little English. I got to the hotel - but it was indicative of the entire experience.

The rooms are decent sized. The property is quiet enough.

Overall it was basically a Holiday Inn with lipstick.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are appreciative of all comments and feedback our guest leave for us. We are happy share all comments with our staff which is helpful and constructive in fueling our mission to make our guest have a more enjoyable to stay with us. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations with the complimentary shuttle service provided. We look forward to you in the future for you to come an stay with us again in the Alexandria area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

On an 18 day trip we spent two days here because my wife was attending a conference at this location. So, we did not pick this hotel utilizing TripAdvisor. On our 18 day trip we always stayed at places with free wireless internet service, free breakfast and reasonable rates given the location. Given our criteria, we could have found other places in the area that met all our needs for less money. But in looking at the reviews we would say that while this was an acceptable place to stay, there are better choices. It is about a 20 minute walk to the “Old Towne” area. Our room was a traditionally sized hotel room and was fine. There is a charge for internet service and no free breakfast provided. Utilize TripAdvisor rankings and you should find places that offer greater value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view up the Potomac River to Washington D.C. (great views of the river, the na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Unionrep1,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Kind regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stay at this hotel on occasion and have found the staff to be very pleasant. Two people who have consistently gone above and beyond the call of duty are Florivi Diaz (front desk) and David Collier (bellman/shuttle van driver). They both deserve public praise. If you stay at this hotel, they will always give you a helping hand if you need one.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.