We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had about 4 rooms and went to enjoy the cherry blossoms. Though they didn't bloom on time. But we had a great time. Walking distance to old town - King Streeet - Nice restaurants. Drive to Jefferson memorial is about 15 minutes - no traffic though. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We didnot get water views but you could try to get one if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    159
    108
    51
    23
See reviews for
77
104
32
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean hotel and room
friendly staff-loved our bartender
Bed was close to one of the most comfortable we've had in a hotel
Plenty of comfortable pillows
Free shuttle to King Street and Airport
Only downfall is only one side of the hotel has the excellent view of DC

Room Tip: Ask for a view of DC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had been driving a bit and thought this hotel would be close to Rt. 95, and depended on Crown Plaza quality. We had quite a time trying to find the correct exit off of Rt. 95 as it splits into local traffic and thru traffic, so we were a bit nervous following the GPS to get to this hotel. The parking costs $20 a day which we were not aware of until we got there. There is on street parking with meters if you wish to do parking that way. Then we were very tired and thought we could walk to King St. Restaurants which were quite a walking distance away. I think it felt like a half a mile when we were walking, and I would recommend driving closer to King St. The king size bed was very comfortable, and the room was fine. The view from our higher floored room was very nice, top to bottom glass, and we were facing King St. I think we would choose a hotel that was easier to get to and not so far from King St. The next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. The fact that you would give us you feedback is tremendous to us. It is a very good tool to perfect and hone in on what our guest;s needs and what you are looking for in our location and accommodations, and what's convenient for our guest that we can share. I would like to share that if you ever are back in the area we have bicycles that we allow our guest to use for free just for the purpose mentioned to get around the area for exercise and convenience. If that's not something you like doing we do have a complimentary shuttle service to King Street every hour for drop off and pick up. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed there for a few days with my family after being moved from another hotel. From that point my vacation was terrible. The morning staff can barely speak english and was very rude. Management was not very helpful, and was careless to our needs. He seems to talk more than resolve our problems. This hotel needs a lot of work and training on true customer service, and what it takes to satisfy their guest.

Also they have airline crew that bombards the desk when they arrive and are very rude and demanding. My family will never stay here again.

Room Tip: I was told the riverview is the best room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. I am regretful that you had issues with our staff during your stay. We will address your concerns. It is our goal to make sure every one of our guest has absolutely fantastic stay. We are constantly training our staff and empower our people to make sure our guests are satisfied. We apologize for that you did not get the customer service, care and concern to the issues you experienced. Please let us know of your plans to return by contacting our hotel manager. We would like you to afford us the opportunity to rectify your experience with showing you we do have staff that cares and extends hospitality at a level you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I recently came to town for a conference and the Crowne made it all the more wonderful. The front desk ladies were fantastic. Ashiya and Jennifer were by far some of the friendliest employees I've come across in my travels. Most front desk workers just check you in and move on, those two were engaging and went beyond expectations for me. Their concierge is great too! I think his name was Dave? Beside the point, he bent over backwards for me and gave me a good list of what is near the hotel and easy directions too. A great weekend stay thus far.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback and pleasant personal recognition of our staff members. It is truly our pleasure to give exceptional service our guests. I am glad to hear that you found our staff to be engaging and caring. It is our goal to make sure our guest has an absolutely fantastic experience when they stay with us. We are also glad to hear that with the help of David allowed you travel around our area to be an easy one. We look forward to your return for more of the same great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse,NY
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during Easter break: 2 adults, 2 teens. I booked the family value package. It came with 4 metro passes per day, 4 breakfasts per day and parking. Our room, the Martha Washington suite, had great views from the tenth floor. It had french doors separating the bedroom from the living area.( I would suggest they curtain these doors for some extra privacy.) There were two large bathrooms,one with a shower/bath. The foldout couch didn't get any complaints and I wasn't charged for a roll-away bed. Internet service was included in the package. The shuttles ran on time, but as mentioned they were often too crowded to ride. We even had to take a taxi once to the metro station( @$10.00). The walk to King St. is 10 minutes. The cheeseburger at the gastropub was exceptionaly good. I liked staying here, and by buying the package deal I believe it was a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to hear that your family enjoy their stay. I am glad to hear that the value of the family package was something that worked so well for you and your family. Next time you stay with us try out the bicycles that we have available that our free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went on family vacation to visit Washington, DC and spent three nights here. The hotel is older, but well maintained and clean. The surrounding area is mostly residential and office buildings. There is not much within walking distance, especially if the weather isn't nice.

A shuttle to the airport and another one to King St. is available. My only suggestion for improvement would be for the hotel to have more than one vehicle in service at peak times. A number of times there was no space on the van and people were left behind at the airport.

I am a Priority club member and was not given breakfast coupons, just a bag with a water bottle, a pear and pretzels. I had a room that included parking and 2 breakfasts per day, but there were 3 of us and it would have been nice to have the extra breakfast.

I would recommend this property and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request of room with a view of the river or an upper floor room. We had a view of a roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments. We thank you for being a Priority Club Member one of our loyal customers. We are always eager to know how we can give our guest the best service they desire. We are regretful that our complimentary shuttle service did not accommodate your travel itinerary sufficiently. In those rare occasions the volume of traffic to and from the airport may exceed the capacity of our shuttles. We run these complimentary shuttles for more than one location regularly. Our shuttle drivers endeavor to stay on a schedule to move our guest to from both those locations regularly. We hope the next time you visit with us your stay will be a very pleasant one. We do look forward to your return maybe you could try the bicycles we allow our guest to use for free to get around the Old Town Alexandria area for site seeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.