We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with the family package” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Syracuse,NY
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Good value with the family package”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during Easter break: 2 adults, 2 teens. I booked the family value package. It came with 4 metro passes per day, 4 breakfasts per day and parking. Our room, the Martha Washington suite, had great views from the tenth floor. It had french doors separating the bedroom from the living area.( I would suggest they curtain these doors for some extra privacy.) There were two large bathrooms,one with a shower/bath. The foldout couch didn't get any complaints and I wasn't charged for a roll-away bed. Internet service was included in the package. The shuttles ran on time, but as mentioned they were often too crowded to ride. We even had to take a taxi once to the metro station( @$10.00). The walk to King St. is 10 minutes. The cheeseburger at the gastropub was exceptionaly good. I liked staying here, and by buying the package deal I believe it was a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to hear that your family enjoy their stay. I am glad to hear that the value of the family package was something that worked so well for you and your family. Next time you stay with us try out the bicycles that we have available that our free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    164
    109
    51
    24
See reviews for
79
105
32
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went on family vacation to visit Washington, DC and spent three nights here. The hotel is older, but well maintained and clean. The surrounding area is mostly residential and office buildings. There is not much within walking distance, especially if the weather isn't nice.

A shuttle to the airport and another one to King St. is available. My only suggestion for improvement would be for the hotel to have more than one vehicle in service at peak times. A number of times there was no space on the van and people were left behind at the airport.

I am a Priority club member and was not given breakfast coupons, just a bag with a water bottle, a pear and pretzels. I had a room that included parking and 2 breakfasts per day, but there were 3 of us and it would have been nice to have the extra breakfast.

I would recommend this property and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request of room with a view of the river or an upper floor room. We had a view of a roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments. We thank you for being a Priority Club Member one of our loyal customers. We are always eager to know how we can give our guest the best service they desire. We are regretful that our complimentary shuttle service did not accommodate your travel itinerary sufficiently. In those rare occasions the volume of traffic to and from the airport may exceed the capacity of our shuttles. We run these complimentary shuttles for more than one location regularly. Our shuttle drivers endeavor to stay on a schedule to move our guest to from both those locations regularly. We hope the next time you visit with us your stay will be a very pleasant one. We do look forward to your return maybe you could try the bicycles we allow our guest to use for free to get around the Old Town Alexandria area for site seeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My experience with the Crown Plaza was made into a rare and fantastic experience. I am a student who has worked in the hotel/restaurant industry for over 10 years. Therefore, I know that customer service can make or break your business. Mr.Tim Thornton one of the managers at the Crown Plaza is also aware of this fact. Mr. Thornton is determined to make his guests have a pleasurable and exceptional experience. He showed remarkable flexibility, unequivocal caring, and astute knowledge of both the hotel industry and in handling unique circumstances. Mr. Thornton is expedient when he handles any/all situations. He is also discreet. Although the Crown Plaza is a wonderful hotel, like any other business, situations arise that require immediate attention and at times empathy. Mr. Thornton is highly skilled in both areas. If anyone travels to the Crown Plaza please ask for him. I sincerely hope that his supervisors will acknowledge and reward this hard working and ethical individual.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments, we always look forward to hearing from our guest. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has absolutely fantastic stay. And in your words "an experience that was made into a rare and fantastic experience". We will pass this on to our staff as a prime example of the kind of attitude and ownership of the vision we have of great customer service for our guest. We take pride in our staff for going above and beyond in doing whatever it takes to making our guest have the absolutely fantastic experience you've expressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here for three nights for a business trip to the area. The rooms were spacious and clean enough. It is very close to the airport, which is a big plus, and the shuttle to the airport was helpful. In the future, I would prefer being closer to a different Metro stop than the airport, even with the ease of the shuttle. We got breakfast each morning, which wasn't terrible. The free breakfast cards through Priority Club made it better, as it was quite expensive otherwise (breakfast sandwich for $10+). A co-worker got room service two different nights, and did not give it a great review. The area seemed ok, though there was a questionable neighborhood pretty close to the hotel. There are a few places to eat (Thailand on Royal St. is very good), but I would suggest driving to Old Town for more places.

Room Tip: I overlooked the dog park, which was fun, but apparently there are great river views on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are sorry we didn't meet all the expectation you desired in our location. Our desire is that you have a fantastic experience when you stay with us in every aspect. If you are ever in the area again let us know, and we can give you some information on other neat spots to visit surrounding us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night getaway. Have stayed in another crowne in Richmond, this one was much nicer. Beautiful views of the Potomac. Room was really clean, bed was super soft and comfortable. The tv wasn't too great, kept going in and out, fuzzy, or randomly turned on, scaring the day lights out of us. Bathroom was decent, could use an update. But we did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We appreciate your comments and feedback. We are always wanting to know what could make our guest stay their best stay. When we consider updates we look to the comments and consensus of what our guest have mentioned would make their stay more comfortable. We welcome your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. Great place to stay for visit of Washingthon DC. View from the room is beatriful. Special tanks to excelent Font desk peopele - Nasra is outstanding and very helpful person ! We will defenetly come back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your pleasantly pleased comments and feedback. We desire that each of our guest has an absolutely impeccable stay. We are so elated to know your stay was such an experience. We are also happy to know that our facility and staff were able to give you the memorable service and accommodations. Thank you once again for you comments we look forward to you visiting us again and hope to exceed, and succeed in making your stay a fantastic stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for many, many years from when it was a Ramada. The present owners have updated the facility and it is now a VERY comfortable place to stay for a visit to DC. View from the room was beautiful. Bed was very comfortable. Thick walls so you don't hear your neighbor. Railroad pub in the hotel was very good and better than the pub we tried in downtown Alexandria the following night. We wished we went back to the hotel pub. The staff aimed to please and they did. It's nice to be wanted. It's a 10 minute drive to DC and an 8 block drive to the main street of Alexandria. We prefer this to staying in downtown DC. We will return, quickly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to service our guests. I am glad to hear that are location worked out so well for you. Next time you stay with us try out the bicycles that we have available that our free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.