We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. Great place to stay for visit of Washingthon DC. View from the room is beatriful. Special tanks to excelent Font desk peopele - Nasra is outstanding and very helpful person ! We will defenetly come back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your pleasantly pleased comments and feedback. We desire that each of our guest has an absolutely impeccable stay. We are so elated to know your stay was such an experience. We are also happy to know that our facility and staff were able to give you the memorable service and accommodations. Thank you once again for you comments we look forward to you visiting us again and hope to exceed, and succeed in making your stay a fantastic stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    155
    107
    50
    23
See reviews for
77
97
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for many, many years from when it was a Ramada. The present owners have updated the facility and it is now a VERY comfortable place to stay for a visit to DC. View from the room was beautiful. Bed was very comfortable. Thick walls so you don't hear your neighbor. Railroad pub in the hotel was very good and better than the pub we tried in downtown Alexandria the following night. We wished we went back to the hotel pub. The staff aimed to please and they did. It's nice to be wanted. It's a 10 minute drive to DC and an 8 block drive to the main street of Alexandria. We prefer this to staying in downtown DC. We will return, quickly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to service our guests. I am glad to hear that are location worked out so well for you. Next time you stay with us try out the bicycles that we have available that our free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hi. The room was as its star rating said it would be. It's right on the river and ten minutes to airport or metro rail to city. They have an airport shuttle on the hour and the half hour so if you won't ot go to the city, you don't have to take a taxi. I was in a hurry and couldn't wait so the metro was only a six dollar taxi ride. Parking is $20.00 per night so watch that. There are meters on the street a five minute walk but not sure how much or if you have to keep feeding the meter. Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for the recognition and feedback on your stay with us. It pleases us to know that we were able to accommodate and give the service you expected. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has absolutely fantastic stay. Next time you stay with us and aren't in a hurry try out the bicycles that we have available that our free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I think this is an older hotel, but the rooms are up to date with great furnishing and an excellent bed. My only complaint about the room was a noisy and erratic heater/air conditioner. If I stayed more than one night I might have changed rooms.

As an IHG Priority Club member you get a goody bag, free internet and a free breakfast. That's a good thing, but I wonder why they don't offer free parking in their spacious garage area? They want to charge you $20 a day, $15 if you're a member. I can appreciate that the hotels on King St charge for parking, but the Crowne Plaza is several blocks away. Free parking would be a great incentive to stay there.

Overall, it's the room that counts, and this room was spacious, comfortable and worth the price when compared to others in the area.

Room Tip: See how much noise the air conditioner makes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I was recently there on a conference meeting for the Autism Society. The check in with Ashiya was excellent.I had arrived fairly early and luckly she had a room for me. This room had a very beautiful view of the river and had a microwave and refidgerator for my medication. Later that evening my colleagues where arriving in off the shuttle to check in and I was greated by Ashiya again with her family. My colleageues informed me that they had been chatting with her daughger during the ride over to hear that they where going on Vacation to Disney for the first time and she was so excited. As they approched the lobby to check in, it was very crowded with people. Ashiya took her coat off and made her family have a seat and went behind the counter and jumped in to help right away. With her assistance my colleagues and I was able to make it for dinner in which she reserved and recommended. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your affirming comments about our staff and hotel. We are extremely happy to hear that a member of our staff exemplifies the hotel's desire for a great guest service experience, and at such a personal level. Great job Ashiya! We hope that when you're back in the area, that you return here to be greeted with more of the same great experiences we desire every guest to encounter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently on business, have a very favorable opinion of this hotel! This hotel offers all of the trappings of a luxury hotel, just minus the price and the pretension. This property offers access to DC and the Old Town district. I enjoyed the guestroom; it was clean, comfortable and large enough to spread out. If you ever find yourself in need of somewhere clean and comfy, look these guys up. By the way, the breakfast is an awesome way to get your day going.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the very nice comments and positive recognition. We are happy that you found your stay with us to be a great stay. We look forward to your returning to visit us on a vacation in the future, you know the saying all work and no play. So when your ready to play we hope you come and play here and enjoy yourself and experience the area with that intent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. It is an older hotel but very clean and nice. The view of the Potomac is great. Walking distance to King Street and great Alexandria restaurants. The room was very clean. The staff was really nice too. They went out of their way to accomodate us in every way. They answered questions, helped with restaurant reservations, etc. Ayisha at the front desk may be the nicest person I have encountered while traveling. They should make her management. She knows how to treat a guest. The best part is they have bikes for loan for guests. We got up early and rode bikes along the river and then to get coffee. Again, great stay! Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to service our guests. I am glad to hear that are location worked out so well for you. We are extremely happy to hear that our staff made your stay a memorable stay. And we are really happy to here your thoughts on the bikes for our guest. We thought it be a great niche for the visitors to this area. We certainly look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.