We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hotel, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I am a Priority Club Gold member and recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Old Town Alexandria twice within a month--once for seven nights and the other for three nights. The room was comfortable and the view of the Potomac was excellent. The room service and especially the front desk staff (like other guests, extra kudos to Ashiya) made our stay special! As a frequent traveler, I appreciate your service and hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for the being one of our Loyal Priority Club members and having such positive feedback for us. We are glad and it our pleasure to have made your stay an enjoyable one. We hope the next time you visit us you will take advantage bikes we have available for the our guest to explore the area. There's a farmer market near by if you happen to stay over on a weekend you might enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    137
    101
    51
    22
See reviews for
73
89
27
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merchantville, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was very average and bland. Rooms are a little outdated and in need of upgrades, we had a partial view of the city. We came during inauguration so it was madness the entire time. Not enough staff was on duty to handle the large groups in house. It was pointless to ask the front desk any questions because we would have to stand in line for 30 minutes to ask a question. Not impressed...
We had an issue being double charged for parking but when we called a nice lady corrected the mistake without any hassle. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear HotelLove88,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. . I was delighted to read that after some initial issues with your stay, these were soon sorted and this allowed you to enjoy your stay with us. We will always endeavor to ensure that all our guests stays are comfortable. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I recently had a , three day stay at the Crown Plaza. I was having a bad day but went to check-in and was greeted by the front desk staff. I'm sure they seen that I was upset at the the time, Ashiya was great and very professional. She let me know about things to do in the area and I thank her for that. Had a great one and stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently stayed here for a business trip to the area, the front desk staff were prompt in checking me in and I was provided free drink tickets for each day I was there which was a nice surprise. Breakfast at the restaurant was included in our work package with the hotel, otherwise I would have not eaten there. Food was just ok. The food at the Gastropub was good though for dinner. I had a crab cake salad and the crab was very fresh. The amenities were nice and the bed was very comfy. Overall a good stay for a business trip or a short vacation to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to hear that our location worked out so well for you that you would consider it also a great location for your vacation. It was our great pleasure to have delighted your appetite in our restaurant. Since you were here previously for business the next you stay with us, try the bicycles that we have available that our free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future for your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

So coming here, I thought this place was really really nice, starting at the front desk, as a Priority Club member and platiium status, you would think they would recongnize you for that status. Not at all!!! I thought an upgrade would come, Not all all. Rooms are not that impressive at all. Nice views of the city and the water, but that's about it. This is not was I expect of an Crown Plaza and I feel it's way over priced for what I paid for this place. The staff does not appear they have a clue what they are doing. Im so looking forward to checking out of this place and to never return. I would not recommend this place, unless you have no other choice. This is most likely why they offered bonus points to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a presidental suite, if you can, that's about the only way you will enjoy this place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. Thank you for the feedback and we are going to address your concern with our associates. As our loyal customers as yourself are the basis of our growth and recognition. Our intention at the Crowne Plaza is to make you feel as comfortable in our hotel as you would if you're at your own home. I apologize if the room you stayed in with the water view room was not a sufficient upgrade. Please let us know when you return again so we give you the service we you so desired initially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel. There is an unlimited amount of things to do in walking distance. Bikes, trails, dining, king st, shopping .... unlimited!

Staff is always helpful. And it's always clean. Most hotels in my opinion could use a little updating in the bathrooms - but not everything can be brand new. I've never had a bad stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to service our guests. I am glad to hear that are location worked out so well for you. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope you enjoyed the bicycles that we had available that are free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a very straightforward hotel. Decent-sized rooms, good amenities. However, breakfast was supposed to offer a buffet but there was none. It took nearly 30 minutes just to order and get an omelette! Check-in was ok for me because I happened to arrive first, but the single desk clerk and long wait was quiite annoying for the 5 people that lined up after me. It's also a nearly $30 taxi ride into DC if you're not inclined to take the Metro. The only negative about the room was that there was someone else's hair all over the hair dryer - that was a bit gross

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear kadels_s,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding breakfast experience and room cleanliness. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.