We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room - not as close to Old Town as we would have liked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Comfortable room - not as close to Old Town as we would have liked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We thought this was a bit closer to King Street but it was a good 15-20 minute walk - about 8 blocks. Rooms are comfortable with nice linens. Parking was additional $20 but it's outside with no protection so seemed a bit high. Check in was fast and easy.

There was a bit of confusion on the deposit required for "incidentals" - they charged a very odd amount of $32.88 and this should have gone back on our card after several days as we had no incidentals. The $20 parking fee was charged in a different transaction. Upon returning home I noticed the deposit amount had actually cleared and charged to our card and not cancelled or credited back as promised. I called the hotel and was promised a call back. This did not happen. I finally sent an email which quickly resulted in a phone call from them saying they would look into it. No response as of yet so I finally had to dispute with my credit card company.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Malcolmsmom,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    184
    126
    59
    35
See reviews for
91
121
40
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here on business. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Hotel has shuttle to and from Reagan airport, and to King St for shopping and restaurants. Quiet area and away from hustle and bustle but not too far to get to DC area attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Not the best Crowne Plaza I have ever been to, but wonderful location to experience Old Town Arlington, which is worth the visit. The rooms are average, but very clean. The staff will go out of their way to accommodate you. I would without hesitation recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here for five nights on business. The hotel and room itself were clean and well presented. Alexandria Old Town proper is about 15 minutes' walk south of here and the nearest Metro station (King Street) is around 30-40minutes' walk.
The location is a mix of good and bad, it's right on the shores of the Potomac and there's a pleasant promenade area along the waterfront with a view into the centre of Washington DC and the Capitol Building. However, the river is the approach for the National Airport so aircraft noise is noticeable (or was in my room) but not oppressive.
If you're going to regularly be using the Metro I would recommend staying somewhere slightly closer, that being said it is a pleasant walk through the suburbs and there is a shuttle bus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the DC side, from the higher floors there will be a view to the Capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We thank you for you comment. We strive for guest to have a pleasant stay with us. When you stay with us in the future, we do have sleep amenities for your room to help suppress any disturbances while you are sleeping. You are right about the view, we had many compliments of the rooms view of the Capitol. Again we hope that next stay with us that will be just as pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjenred5
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I made a reservation here for myself and two colleagues and really only did because something was going on in town and everything else in DC and Alexandria was booked. But I was pleasantly surprised.

It's nothing to take pictures of, it's very functional, but it's clean and the staff is very nice and helpful. It does the job and is priced appropriately.

Feels a bit like a commuter hotel - lots of airline staff, military, business people and some families.

The beds are very comfy (though I'm not a fan of high pillows which is all they had in my room), the food in the restaurant is surprisingly good, there's a shuttle every thirty minutes starting very early in the morning to the airport. One of my colleagues is a runner and loved the nearby trail. If you can get a high floor the views are good. Free wifi and b&w printing in the lobby. It's a quick trip into the city.

A couple small things that bugged me - in my room the bathroom fan was quite loud and always went on whenever the light was turned on, and the paid wifi is not very strong but adequate if you don't have massive files to transfer.

The place itself clearly hasn't been renovated in a long time but the staff is doing a great job with what they have to work with.

There are a couple restaurants within a block or two and a ton about ten blocks away.

The parking is an open air lot. Twice heard a train over my four night stay but wasn't bothered by the planes at all. There's a Trader Joe's nearby which is helpful for longer stays.

This is not a trendy luxury hotel, but if you're ok with that, for the price, it's a really great option.

Room Tip: high rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Decent hotel, but the parking fees and internet fees for non rewards members will keep me from ever returning. Rooms are decent, check in was not the friendliest but others through the week were much friendlier. Also hotwire is not eligible for points on rewards card.

Room Tip: Beware of the paid parking and internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and didn't have any problems at all. The staff was extremely friendly. They let us check in at 10:30 am, which was wonderful since we had driven all night. The rooms were clean and the view was great. I did notice a slight musty smell when we first got to our room, but I must have gotten used to it. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#25 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.