We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if noisy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice if noisy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here for five nights on business. The hotel and room itself were clean and well presented. Alexandria Old Town proper is about 15 minutes' walk south of here and the nearest Metro station (King Street) is around 30-40minutes' walk.
The location is a mix of good and bad, it's right on the shores of the Potomac and there's a pleasant promenade area along the waterfront with a view into the centre of Washington DC and the Capitol Building. However, the river is the approach for the National Airport so aircraft noise is noticeable (or was in my room) but not oppressive.
If you're going to regularly be using the Metro I would recommend staying somewhere slightly closer, that being said it is a pleasant walk through the suburbs and there is a shuttle bus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the DC side, from the higher floors there will be a view to the Capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Administrator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We thank you for you comment. We strive for guest to have a pleasant stay with us. When you stay with us in the future, we do have sleep amenities for your room to help suppress any disturbances while you are sleeping. You are right about the view, we had many compliments of the rooms view of the Capitol. Again we hope that next stay with us that will be just as pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    122
    93
    47
    21
See reviews for
64
80
27
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
jjenred5
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I made a reservation here for myself and two colleagues and really only did because something was going on in town and everything else in DC and Alexandria was booked. But I was pleasantly surprised.

It's nothing to take pictures of, it's very functional, but it's clean and the staff is very nice and helpful. It does the job and is priced appropriately.

Feels a bit like a commuter hotel - lots of airline staff, military, business people and some families.

The beds are very comfy (though I'm not a fan of high pillows which is all they had in my room), the food in the restaurant is surprisingly good, there's a shuttle every thirty minutes starting very early in the morning to the airport. One of my colleagues is a runner and loved the nearby trail. If you can get a high floor the views are good. Free wifi and b&w printing in the lobby. It's a quick trip into the city.

A couple small things that bugged me - in my room the bathroom fan was quite loud and always went on whenever the light was turned on, and the paid wifi is not very strong but adequate if you don't have massive files to transfer.

The place itself clearly hasn't been renovated in a long time but the staff is doing a great job with what they have to work with.

There are a couple restaurants within a block or two and a ton about ten blocks away.

The parking is an open air lot. Twice heard a train over my four night stay but wasn't bothered by the planes at all. There's a Trader Joe's nearby which is helpful for longer stays.

This is not a trendy luxury hotel, but if you're ok with that, for the price, it's a really great option.

Room Tip: high rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Decent hotel, but the parking fees and internet fees for non rewards members will keep me from ever returning. Rooms are decent, check in was not the friendliest but others through the week were much friendlier. Also hotwire is not eligible for points on rewards card.

Room Tip: Beware of the paid parking and internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and didn't have any problems at all. The staff was extremely friendly. They let us check in at 10:30 am, which was wonderful since we had driven all night. The rooms were clean and the view was great. I did notice a slight musty smell when we first got to our room, but I must have gotten used to it. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The first room I check into smells like someone used it as a public restroom. After switching to a clean room I cannot stay connected to the wifi as it turns on and off every few minutes. When it is working it struggles to even pull up googles homepage. I call the front desk about the Internet and they could care less. They have no idea why it's not working and when they transfer me to someone that can help I get hung up on. I give up on the Internet and go to take a shower and mid shower the water turns cold, freezing cold. This is one of the worst hotels to stay at in the area. There are plenty of better options for close to the same price. Do yourself a favor and book elsewhere, I can see a nice Sheraton nearby that I wish I had stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and were delighted with the accomodation, and with the wonderful view from the picture window from our room, of the Potomac. This is a great place to stay if you want to visit DC. They supply shuttles to Ronald Reagan Airport, where you can catch the metro into DC, and the shuttle picks you up on your return. They also run a shuttle service to the town which is just a delight. Such an assortment of shops and places to eat or just wonder around. The place Old Town Alexandria is the most immaculate place I have ever seen. Not a weed to be seen, not a blade of grass out of place and certainly not a sign of any paint peeling. Would recommend this place to anybody comtemplating a visit to DC.

Room Tip: get one with a view of the potomac and DC at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I've stayed here a few times, and have always been less than impressed.
The rooms themselves are nice, and some of them have nice views and refrigerators. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms seem clean. There is a lot of airplane noise, as the hotel is right on the landing and take off path from the airport.
Other than the rooms, the experience at this hotel is not that great. The front desk in inconsistent, sometimes they are helpful, and sometimes they could care less. They do not provide coffee on the weekends. WHAT?! Do I stop needing caffeine just because it is Saturday, no way!! I was so mad, because the coffee in the rooms is terrible. Also, I refuse to make coffee in the coffee pots at hotels, I have no idea if and when they have ever been cleaned. Housekeeping doesn't carry around dishsoap.... just sayin. On the weekdays they run out of coffee a lot and are not fast to refill it.
I have also tried the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Both meals were so slow it was pathetic. Lets start with dinner. The prices are high and the food is poor. That makes for a very disappointing night. Forget about ordering alcohol unless of course you are on an expense account. The pours are small and again the prices high. Tip: There is a great Thai place around the corner from hotel :) The breakfast.... I'm not even sure what that was. We didn't get the buffet because I never eat enough to make the prices worth it. I ordered eggs. It took 45 minutes. I'm not exaggerating. And they were ice cold when they came out. Coffee was good though :/ There is a great diner a couple blocks away, I'll walk there from now on.
The fitness center is great. 3 Treadmills, 3 tvs, an elliptical, and 2 bikes I think. As well as free weights. Temperature controlled and lots of space.
If you need their van transportation, schedule your van at least 30 minutes prior to when you need it, the vans fill up in the mornings with airline crews, and they will leave you behind. Don't miss your flight because they are unprepared.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza
Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.