We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, just wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
merseyside
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“wonderful, just wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and were delighted with the accomodation, and with the wonderful view from the picture window from our room, of the Potomac. This is a great place to stay if you want to visit DC. They supply shuttles to Ronald Reagan Airport, where you can catch the metro into DC, and the shuttle picks you up on your return. They also run a shuttle service to the town which is just a delight. Such an assortment of shops and places to eat or just wonder around. The place Old Town Alexandria is the most immaculate place I have ever seen. Not a weed to be seen, not a blade of grass out of place and certainly not a sign of any paint peeling. Would recommend this place to anybody comtemplating a visit to DC.

Room Tip: get one with a view of the potomac and DC at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    155
    107
    50
    23
See reviews for
77
97
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I've stayed here a few times, and have always been less than impressed.
The rooms themselves are nice, and some of them have nice views and refrigerators. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms seem clean. There is a lot of airplane noise, as the hotel is right on the landing and take off path from the airport.
Other than the rooms, the experience at this hotel is not that great. The front desk in inconsistent, sometimes they are helpful, and sometimes they could care less. They do not provide coffee on the weekends. WHAT?! Do I stop needing caffeine just because it is Saturday, no way!! I was so mad, because the coffee in the rooms is terrible. Also, I refuse to make coffee in the coffee pots at hotels, I have no idea if and when they have ever been cleaned. Housekeeping doesn't carry around dishsoap.... just sayin. On the weekdays they run out of coffee a lot and are not fast to refill it.
I have also tried the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Both meals were so slow it was pathetic. Lets start with dinner. The prices are high and the food is poor. That makes for a very disappointing night. Forget about ordering alcohol unless of course you are on an expense account. The pours are small and again the prices high. Tip: There is a great Thai place around the corner from hotel :) The breakfast.... I'm not even sure what that was. We didn't get the buffet because I never eat enough to make the prices worth it. I ordered eggs. It took 45 minutes. I'm not exaggerating. And they were ice cold when they came out. Coffee was good though :/ There is a great diner a couple blocks away, I'll walk there from now on.
The fitness center is great. 3 Treadmills, 3 tvs, an elliptical, and 2 bikes I think. As well as free weights. Temperature controlled and lots of space.
If you need their van transportation, schedule your van at least 30 minutes prior to when you need it, the vans fill up in the mornings with airline crews, and they will leave you behind. Don't miss your flight because they are unprepared.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have read some of the other reviews. The breakfast buffet is OK and you do have other selectiions rather the bacon and eggs. Usually people want to read the bad things so, I will high light the items that could be improved. There is a charge for internet.-Thats Bad(There is an internet cafe down the street though). No bar fridge in my room.(-I should have asked.) I had to wait over an hour for the shuttle bus at the airport(.-They must of filled up with crews first, Oh well.) There is no taxi stand so you need to wait anywhere from 10 to 25 minutes for a taxi at the hotel.(-Staff will call you one.)You can hear the jets as the hotel is adjacent their flight path.(-They can't improve their location, just be aware.) I don't want anyone to think I'm mean. This is a nice hotel, reasonably priced, with a friendly staff. I would not hesitate in reccommending it, but it does have a couple of Hiccups though ...

Room Tip: Not a room tip-The shuttle bus is white and has Holiday Inn and Crowne Plaza written on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 21 and 22 September as part of a Cosmos bus tour to Los Angeles. We had a large room with two huge and very comfortable beds, a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities, with a small balcony and a nice view of the Potomac River. The hotel was very clean, has a spacious and quite impressive lobby area and plenty of parking. The wifi costs $9.95.
The nearby area is very quiet, with a few shops in the next block. The main street of Alexandria (worth a visit) is about eight blocks away. We bought return tickets on the public bus, but the bus we caught to return to the hotel was from a different company and didn't accept our return tickets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour and had an enjoyable stay except for the constant noise from the airport. This hotel is located under a major flight path with planes taking off from 5.30am until midnight. The good points are this hotel is located in a beautiful picturesque town, we felt very safe and comfortable walking around. There is a little supermarket within a few minutes walk which is open until midnight, they have a good selection and the staff are very friendly. There are a couple of diners across the road which are ok for breakfast and a couple of small local restaurants. For a real feel to the place take the complementary shuttle bus into town (about 9 blocks), the town is fantastic lots of lovely bars, restaurants and shops and very safe. The town is a nice contrast to busy Washington DC and although it is quite far from the city centre it is a nice relaxing place to be (if you discount the aircraft noise). This hotel does not offer complementary WiFi and this is the first hotel I have stayed in the US the charges for this service. Complementary coffee available in the mornings, staff friendly and efficient. Overall a nice, comfortable and clean hotel if you can cope with the noise.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Staff very unfriendly and reluctant to help. Room and bathroom not updated since years (bath-tube enamel repaired with simply peinture). Restaurant facilities very poor and also not refurbished since years.

Room Tip: Not on the side of the small train
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guillermo Mahr M,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a clean place to stay. I am sorry our hotel fell below your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable comments as this assists us in continually improving the quality and services that we offer to our guests.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is certainly less than optimal. It's about nine blocks from the old town area and approximately 6 blocks from the water taxi which takes you to the national harbor area. They run an extremely limited number of shuttles and take you only to one stop in the the Old Town area. They were not even willing to take me to the train station in Old Town which is only 1.8 miles from the hotel. Instead I spent $14 for their flat fee driver who didn't have change for his overpriced rate. Cabs to the local /Gaylord conference center (6 miles) runs $15-20 one way. Advice from staff about water taxi schedule was completely wrong. Was told it runs every 20-30 minutes when in reality it was 1 hr 20 minutes.

Staff was pleasant throughout- front desk, restaurant, housekeeping. The room was nice/average. The bar/restaurant was average.

I expect better amenities /services from a Crowne Plaza. I've had more from lower star hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.