We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, pay for wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, pay for wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 21 and 22 September as part of a Cosmos bus tour to Los Angeles. We had a large room with two huge and very comfortable beds, a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities, with a small balcony and a nice view of the Potomac River. The hotel was very clean, has a spacious and quite impressive lobby area and plenty of parking. The wifi costs $9.95.
The nearby area is very quiet, with a few shops in the next block. The main street of Alexandria (worth a visit) is about eight blocks away. We bought return tickets on the public bus, but the bus we caught to return to the hotel was from a different company and didn't accept our return tickets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    155
    107
    50
    23
See reviews for
77
97
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour and had an enjoyable stay except for the constant noise from the airport. This hotel is located under a major flight path with planes taking off from 5.30am until midnight. The good points are this hotel is located in a beautiful picturesque town, we felt very safe and comfortable walking around. There is a little supermarket within a few minutes walk which is open until midnight, they have a good selection and the staff are very friendly. There are a couple of diners across the road which are ok for breakfast and a couple of small local restaurants. For a real feel to the place take the complementary shuttle bus into town (about 9 blocks), the town is fantastic lots of lovely bars, restaurants and shops and very safe. The town is a nice contrast to busy Washington DC and although it is quite far from the city centre it is a nice relaxing place to be (if you discount the aircraft noise). This hotel does not offer complementary WiFi and this is the first hotel I have stayed in the US the charges for this service. Complementary coffee available in the mornings, staff friendly and efficient. Overall a nice, comfortable and clean hotel if you can cope with the noise.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Staff very unfriendly and reluctant to help. Room and bathroom not updated since years (bath-tube enamel repaired with simply peinture). Restaurant facilities very poor and also not refurbished since years.

Room Tip: Not on the side of the small train
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guillermo Mahr M,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a clean place to stay. I am sorry our hotel fell below your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable comments as this assists us in continually improving the quality and services that we offer to our guests.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is certainly less than optimal. It's about nine blocks from the old town area and approximately 6 blocks from the water taxi which takes you to the national harbor area. They run an extremely limited number of shuttles and take you only to one stop in the the Old Town area. They were not even willing to take me to the train station in Old Town which is only 1.8 miles from the hotel. Instead I spent $14 for their flat fee driver who didn't have change for his overpriced rate. Cabs to the local /Gaylord conference center (6 miles) runs $15-20 one way. Advice from staff about water taxi schedule was completely wrong. Was told it runs every 20-30 minutes when in reality it was 1 hr 20 minutes.

Staff was pleasant throughout- front desk, restaurant, housekeeping. The room was nice/average. The bar/restaurant was average.

I expect better amenities /services from a Crowne Plaza. I've had more from lower star hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is my second time staying at this hotel. Labor Day weekend my boyfriend and I decided to book a last minute trip to D.C and found a great deal for Crowne Plaza online. This hotel definitely exceeded my expectations!!! There are so many parks surrounding this hotel where you can jog or just relax and have a picnic. The front desk was very helpful especially Ashiya.
She was patient with us as while we asked her a thousand questions...The restaurant staff was also friendly. The shuttle service is convenient, they come about every 30 mins to take you to the metro station. This hotel is close enough to D.C but far enough that you dont have to deal with the hustle and bustle. I love this hotel and will definitely stay here every time i visit the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel was very clean, comfy beds, and have great restaurant in there too. We had a few things that could have been better - Shuttle service to King Street doesn't start until after 2pm. It's not a bad walk, but it would be nice to get down there a little earlier by shuttle. Also, the cleaning staff knocked on our door and opened it without even saying "house keeping" or letting us know who they were and there wasn't enough time to get to the door to open it for them. It was a little noisy in the mornings with trucks and stuff going by, but other than that, the rooms were mostly quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our $120 nite weekend rate was great for this area of DC. It is a very nice, clean, comfortable hotel. All of the staff were polie and helpful. Close to all of the action in Old Town. The hotel offers transportation back and forth to Old Town running a shuttle hourly and the airport. We opted to walk along the Potomoc waterfront to Old Town about 6 blocks awat. There are fantastic unobstructed views of the river from the East facing rooms. The breakfast buffet had a lot of offerings. It was 12.99 which makes it a bit pricey if you have a family but the convenience is nice and we'd probably spend at least that elsewhere.

Room Tip: East side has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.