We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Presidential Suite Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Presidential Suite Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in the presidential suite, which was rather nice. The view was excellent overlooking the Potomac river and clear line to DC! The suite was rather large. Hade a nice size dining table that would seat 6. Kitchen with microwave and full size fridge. However, otherwise was NOT well appointed. There were two bathrooms. One in the main area and one was en-suite. The En-suite was very large! a jacuzzi tub and glass enclosed shower with steam feature. The bedroom was facing the water as well with a great sunrise view! The bed was very comfy. The suite overall was decorated nicely. However, the quality of the furnishings and decor was noticable. The bathroom tile work showed numerous imperfections as did the kitchen. However, the suite was truly comfortable and with that view, well worth it! I would absolutely stay in the presidential suite again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    164
    110
    53
    24
See reviews for
80
105
32
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Got to this hotel blind off of hotwire's deep discount page and wasn't disappointed. Crowne Plaza's, in my experience, have extremely comfortable beds and cozy rooms. The view facing north was of the Capitol building and the Monument. It's close to King Street, but far enough to avoid all the crazy crowds (it gets suuuper overrun by tourists during the summer).

Well worth the money--especially at a discount.

Room Tip: Upper floors, facing north have a view of DC skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel location close to famous old area of Alexandria. Good hotel rates but service was average and hotel needs some renovation

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

After reading some of the negative reviews, my wife and I was cautious about staying here. Nevertheless we decided to give it a try. We booked for four days and we really enjoyed our stay. The front desk folks were very nice, helpful and professional to us and all guest in our presence.The room was very clean. We had a late night dinner on our first night in the pub, the food and the service was great. The remaining evenings we ate in D.C. We had buffet breakfast 2 mornings at the hotel and 2 mornings at a local coffee just a 3 minute walk from the hotel. As expected the coffee shop had a wider selections menu and less costly. If you are the out doors type there is an excellent bike/walking path behind the hotel that is very active and extends all the way to RIA. The shuttle service is limited, it only goes to RIA and back every 45 minutes. We were advised by the shuttle driver to take the shuttle to the airport then the metrorail to D.C. This worked great for us as we toured D.C.The front desk will arrange for taxi service if asked. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The river view rooms over look the Potomac River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamihara, Japan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed in one of the suite rooms for a couple weeks. Was going to stay for longer but there were a few things that bothered me: 1) When I first checked into my room, the carpet was very damp. There was no other suite room available to switch into so I had to deal with the dampness - it dried eventually. 2) The room keys. If they didn't demagnitize, they were keyed wrong, or the door handle was just a bit off so it wasn't accepting anything. 3) Breakfast - it sounded like there would be a lot of options available, but if something is not out on the buffet table, it's not available...odd. 4) The HVAC units were too loud in the bedroom; luckily the one in the living room was less rattley so I blasted that one on at night time. Other than that, the room package was great - included internet, breakfast, parking. Yes, it is a bit far from Old Town but the view of the Potomac is beautiful and walking around the "boardwalk" at night is refreshing. Nice sized refrigerator in the suite, and the internet had pretty decent bandwidth. No in-room safe. Bed is super comfortable, which was a pleasant surprise. That comforter will hug you to sleep! Overall decent, but I'll probably be choosing other hotels before this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nicely done but showing signs of being dated. Staff was pleasant the entire stay but this hotel is WAY WAY out of the loop for dining, shopping and just about anything else.

PROS: Right next to STG if you are here for business. One of the closest hotels to Reagan National Airport and offers Free parking. A dry cleaner is just 1/2 block away, plus two small mom-pop dining choices. View of the waterfront in the distance, from our hotel room was quite nice to see. If Crown Plaza had balconies I would raise the rating because of the view.

Neutral: There is a small neighborhood grocery about 3 blocks east near Holiday Inn and Best Western Old Town. But that's about all within walking or bus.

CONS: Essentially convenient to none of great places that make Old Town Special. Water front is 7-8 long blocks due south to King Street, half hour walk - so take a cab. All travel without a rental car is by cab. Far cry from the other choices closer to King Street.

I would recommend this as your backup option. We paid $109 night thru Travelocity for 3 week nights. Nice breakfast buffet for $22 person without mimosas, just coffee. It was pleasant start to each morning (about average $$ in this zip code).

I prefer a fresher looking place to stay once you get past the lobby. Other choices I'd consider include Embassy suites (paid parking), King street Hampton Inn (paid parking), Westin (my favorite, yet paid parking) or the older yet friendly, quaint and comfortable Best Western (free parking).

Overall it was a clean friendly place to stay, but I felt disconnected from Old Town because of the distance barrier.

Room Tip: Shop expedia, travelocity and orbitz. Nice water views north or south above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

On arrival at The Crowne Plaza I was allocated a room on the 5th floor.There are three lifts located in the lobby area,so access to the higher floors posed no problem.The room was clean and spacious with two large beds,wide screen TV,Coffee/Tea maker and Iron/Ironboard.The en-suite was a good size with a plentiful supply of towels.
While I was staying at The Crowne Plaza there was a real heat wave going on,so the air-conditioning was in constant use for the duration of my stay.There was no mini-refridgerator in my room but there was an ice-making machine a few metres from my room which was the next best thing.
There are two computers and a printer located in the lobby area for hotel guests to use,which was ideal for me.Safety deposit boxes were available,but all of them were being used during my stay,which was a bit of a disappointment.There is a guests laundry service located on the 3rd floor with a washing machine,tumble-dryer and detergent machine(very handy).
The hotel also provides a free Shuttle bus service which goes from the hotel to King Street,a popular and busy area,every hour,starting just after 2.00pm.I did not have breakfast in the hotel,so I cannot comment on that.But,all in all,I was very satisfied with The Crowne Plaza,Old Town Alexandria and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Good views from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.