We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere near what I expect” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nowhere near what I expect”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

To put this review in context, I am a Platinum Priority Club member, with over 360,000 points. I travel a lot, and I stay at the Holiday Inn/Crowne Plaza chain a lot. I don't think my expectations are unreasonable.

I've been traveling to the Washington DC area once or twice a month on business for about three years, and I tend to stay in Alexandria because it's close to my major business partners.

When I first started going to Washington DC, I thought this Crowne Plaza might be my hotel of choice: good location, nice view, decent rooms. But it turned out that on literally every visit I had to make a special trip down to the front desk at least once a day to get me electronic key re-magnetized. No matter how far I kept the key away from anything that could affect it, it lost its magic at least once a day. After a while that got old, and a year or so ago I stopped staying here.

Due to a mistake in scheduling on my part, I recently ended up staying here once again, and I was equally disappointed once again.

I tend to get up very early, and I really enjoy starting the day with an espresso-laden Starbucks latte. Typically I am up before a Starbucks is open, so typically I buy one the night before and microwave it in the morning.

Well, my room at the Crowne Plaza did not have a microwave. It had a refrigerator and other amenities, but no microwave. I went down to the front desk to ask about this. The manager informed me that they don't have enough microwaves for every room, so they move them around. I asked if he would mind trying to locate one for me, and he said he would. He also said that in the event none were available, I could come down in the morning and use the one at the front desk.

I went back to my room, and a while later tried to call the front desk with an question about the Internet. The phone did not work. Neither the internal nor the external circuits would take a call.

As luck would have it, as I was trying to call the front desk, the manager called me to make sure he had the right room number just in case they found a microwave. I gave him my room number, and that was the last I heard about the microwave. I never got one.

I woke up at about 4:30 am, and went down to the front desk with my cold coffee in hand. But when I got there, the desk clerk informed me that the microwave at the front desk was broken. I repeated my story of the night before, and he just shrugged his shoulders.

And so I sat looking out at the beautiful river view, drinking my ice cold coffee as the day began.

Again, my fault for bad scheduling. I will do my very, very best to make sure I don't end up staying here again on future trips.

Room Tip: For business travels and Priority Club members, book early and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    188
    128
    59
    36
See reviews for
91
122
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Parking Should be free...but nice and very clean many of the TV channels were snowy and not many channel options, the bathroom was nice... the Lobby is very stylish and staff were very nice...Sleeping on the bed, made me feel like I was in Heaven!!!

Room Tip: Parking should be free, Compl shuttle to Washington National Airport..lots of airline employees stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

A dear friend got married around the corner from here and for some reason the reception dinner was 3 hours after the ceremony, I booked here for the convenience and had nowhere to hang out until. Since I had no expectations of being in one of their properties, I was very surprised at the level of service and the room I was in. Granted it was a one nighter but damn was it better than anticipated. The view was great from the 11th floor and my laptop hooked up to the TV was seamless and entertained the wedding party after the ceremony. Planning my return already.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Level Contributor
219 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a nice place within walking distance of Old Town. Plenty of parking, nice lobby, efficient & fast check-in. Pricing was reasonable compared to other Old Town hotels. The room had all the amenities I need such as good working desk, hot shower, etc. Unfortunately, like days of old, there is a healthy charge to use the wireless internet - $9.95 per day; I did not use it.

Bigger problem is the walls, door & windows are paper-thin. I forgot to set my heater fan on high, so even on the 10th floor I heard street noise and hallway noise starting at 5 AM. Does not make for a good sleep.

Room Tip: Be sure to set your heater or AC fan on high, take it off auto. Make sure the switch on the side is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

As a Crowne Plaza this hotel could use renovation. And charging for parking when the lot is empty seems odd. That said, our experience was wonderful. The free shuttle to King Street is welcome, the breakfast was very good and the upgrade to the Eleanor Roosevelt was exceptional. We were delighted with the experience with the minor exception of the parking fee. Good value and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

This is one of my least favorite hotels. For a 'Crowne Plaza' this hotel lacks many basic requirements even a motel has; for example proper plumbing in the bathrooms. I've stayed at many many many rooms in this hotel and just about every bathroom sink is clogged!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear F35Captain,

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

But this hotel does. $10 for 24 hours, on top of the $190 room charge. Very slow check-in. Rooms are comfortable and with a great view along the Potomac. But when the breakfast menu says "fresh-squeezed orange juice," they must mean that someone squeezed the jug just before pouring it out. The croissants are also inedible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear travelingwriter1,

Thank you for your recent stay and leaving feedback. We are pleased you liked your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the breakfast options as well as our internet charges. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
1.2 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#25 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.