We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
West Chester
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a nice place within walking distance of Old Town. Plenty of parking, nice lobby, efficient & fast check-in. Pricing was reasonable compared to other Old Town hotels. The room had all the amenities I need such as good working desk, hot shower, etc. Unfortunately, like days of old, there is a healthy charge to use the wireless internet - $9.95 per day; I did not use it.

Bigger problem is the walls, door & windows are paper-thin. I forgot to set my heater fan on high, so even on the 10th floor I heard street noise and hallway noise starting at 5 AM. Does not make for a good sleep.

Room Tip: Be sure to set your heater or AC fan on high, take it off auto. Make sure the switch on the side is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    146
    103
    50
    23
See reviews for
76
94
28
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

As a Crowne Plaza this hotel could use renovation. And charging for parking when the lot is empty seems odd. That said, our experience was wonderful. The free shuttle to King Street is welcome, the breakfast was very good and the upgrade to the Eleanor Roosevelt was exceptional. We were delighted with the experience with the minor exception of the parking fee. Good value and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

This is one of my least favorite hotels. For a 'Crowne Plaza' this hotel lacks many basic requirements even a motel has; for example proper plumbing in the bathrooms. I've stayed at many many many rooms in this hotel and just about every bathroom sink is clogged!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear F35Captain,

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

But this hotel does. $10 for 24 hours, on top of the $190 room charge. Very slow check-in. Rooms are comfortable and with a great view along the Potomac. But when the breakfast menu says "fresh-squeezed orange juice," they must mean that someone squeezed the jug just before pouring it out. The croissants are also inedible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear travelingwriter1,

Thank you for your recent stay and leaving feedback. We are pleased you liked your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the breakfast options as well as our internet charges. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family stayed here - 4 in a room with 2 dbl beds. Beds were very comfortable. Others have complained about noise, which we did not experience, but we were there over a weekend when it was not terribly full. Staff helpful. Nice shuttle service to King St. and to airport and metro. We used one of the package deals that allowed free parking. Came with one free brunch - which we did not use since the regular price for the brunch was quite expensive and there are many other nearby options. On-site pub was friendly ... we also had appetizers which were tasty. Internet in room is free is you join the CP rewards program. Would have liked an in-room refrigerator, but you can't have everything! All in all I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: View of the Potomac is not great ... it is obstructed ... probably not worth the extra $$!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

As a woman travelling alone on a 4 day business trip, I found this to be a great hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. I felt safe both in the hotel and in the neighborhood. A free shuttle to the airport is available. The hotel was spotless, bed very comfortable, linens and towels all of good quality. The room had a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. Only thing I didn't care for was the $20 parking charge ($15 if you are a member of the Crowne Plaza reward program. Rooms are expensive - I thought the extra charge for parking was uncalled for. I read other reviews and want to mention that I had no problem with keys, it worked fine every time I used it. I also did not experience any problem with noise from other rooms.

There is a great breakfast buffet ($12.95). On a morning that I wasn't very hungry I asked the waiter if they had a banana muffin. He said he'd check and I said that if they didn't, a croissant would be fine. He brought be both but and after serving me coffee left the carafe on the table for refills. The pub had a nice variety of sandwiches and burgers - both the portobella mushroom burger burger and the crabcake sandwich came with a nice salad or fries and were excellent.

No question that I will stay here again should I be lucky enough to be in Old Alexandria again!

Room Tip: Great view from the upper floor rooms that overlook the Potomac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

First time here. I'm usually a Holiday Inn customer but was very pleased. Kudos to Nasra on the front desk who bumped us up to a suite and free buffet. However they still haven't fixed the Key thing and I kept returning for a new key. Lots to do in Old Towne including Restaurants,pubs and walking or boat tours. It was a leisurely 15 min walk to King Street or take the Hotel Shuttle which leaves every hour. We also loved the paved Bike/walking trail that hugged the Potomac river. There were about 4 PC's and no waiting in the lobby. The only activity seemed to be in Old towne. Walking the streets around the hotel I noticed it was very desolate of people. It is a Business area but we were there Sat-Tuesday. Lastly, add a star if you like American History. There's plenty here.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.