We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so - avoid breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“So so - avoid breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Extremely sullen receptionist - must have been a bad day ...Hoped to get a good upgrade with my platinum priority club membership. But at 3pm when I checked in the best rooms on the 12th floor overlooking the river had still not been serviced. Free wifi with PC - cost taken off the bill. Got a welcome pack of popcorn an apple and some water at reception - ho hum. The bed was comfortable and had my best sleep of the week but the breakfast was poor. If it wasn't free I would have complained. good packages if you look on the ICH website - I got a night b&b plus free parking for USD129 on a Saturday night. they also provide a shuttle service into the main tourist area of Alexandria which might suit some but it was only 15 mins walk from King St. Try o'connells pub for a lively night - they also show rugby if you are that way inclined.

Room Tip: Ask for 12th floor overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
JMHGlobetrotter,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    167
    112
    53
    29
See reviews for
82
106
33
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire, USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My most recent stay here shows that reinvesting in the rooms makes a huge difference.

The hotel bar/restaurant was quite a surprise, lots of local beers on tap, nice range of good food and not a per diem crusher.

The front desk staff seem bored, but the place is a decent place to stay and grab some food.

Breakfast is nothing to write home about. Typical buffet and unimpressive menu items.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Food was excellent. Great selection and choice of breakfast foods.
Clean, bright and great service. Was served by a waitress named Senait
who was very efficient and friendly. Try it, you will like it.
Randy McDonald

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I often stay at the Crown Plaza Old Town and the morning restaurant manager Nancy is always a pleasant face and insures excellent service. She often goes out of her way to insure that each guest is taken care of.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I recently returned to work after maternity leave and attended a conference at the Crowne Plaza Old Town Alexandria. I was concerned about finding a private place to pump breastmilk during my day-long conference, so I called the hotel the night before and Fernando at the front desk suggested I ask the banquet manager upon arrival if I could use an unoccuppied banquet room. When I arrived at the hotel the next morning, I first asked an unhelpful lady at the front desk where I could pump, and she told me there was no private place to do this. (Really? In the entire HOTEL? Not helpful.) Upon hearing her response and seeing my stress, the manager Sonya quickly stepped in and offered to walk me around the area near my conference room to check out the options. I told her I just needed a private place with an outlet and a chair to sit on. She knew the bathroom and the banquet room wouldn't be optimal, so she kindly (and humanely) told me to come find her when I needed to pump and she would have a key to a vacant guest room ready for me. Sonya was extremely helpful, considerate and sympathetic to my situation. Her kindess and superior customer service put my mind at ease, and allowed me to stop worrying about where I was going to pump without someone walking in on me! She definitely took the extra effort to problem solve my unique situation and I am very grateful she was at the front desk when I arrived. THANK YOU SONYA!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herreh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear TheBostonK
I thank you the comments regarding your stay with us and the compliments regarding Sonya our Guest Services Manager. Sonya took the department over as department head two weeks ago and good things are happening.
I thank you for staying with us, and if your travels bring you to our area, I hope you will stay with us.
Hubert Herre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Have stayed at the Crowne Plaza Old Town several times for business and liked it so much our family has used it as a base for a couple of vacations. Big plusses are the free shuttles--one to Reagan National and the Metro station and one to King Street. It's a pleasant 8 block walk through Old Town to the King St action and the path along the Potomac is only a block away. Rooms are large and quiet and the Priority Club benefits are very nice--vouchers for drinks and breakfasts, etc. The reinvented pub is fun, good app's and a rotating selection of microbrews. Within a block or so are Japanese, Italian, French and Thai dining options. True it's not right on King St, but the shuttles make that a non-issue and the location is much quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing north. The view up the Potomac to the Capitol is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I recently spent 2 days here over the President's Day holiday and was impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and the great customer service that I had received. In addition, Priority Club Platinum members are treated very well here as I received 2 complimentary vouchers for the full breakfast buffet based upon my status as my rate did not come with this perk. In addition, I was upgraded to a spacious King room with a view of the Potomac and the Capitol building in the distance.

As others have noted, this hotel is not right in downtown but about 8 blocks away -- approx. 15 - 20 mins walking time through a safe neighborhood. Others have written that there are closer hotels than this one and this is simply not true. There is only 1 hotel in the downtown area -- the Monaco hotel which is part of the Kimpton chain -- and which is at least twice the price of the Crowne Plaza. All the other hotels, be they the Sheraton, the sister property Holiday Inn or the hotels near Duke street on the north end of town, such as both Residence Inn properties, the Westin, etc. are about the same amount of walking time to the downtown area, as is the Crowne Plaza. Just do a Google walking search to verify what I have written.

In addition, I had occasion to speak to the General Manager about this property and he advised that as part of this hotel meeting the new brand standard set forth by Crowne Plaza, the hotel will be updating its linens to a higher thread count, as well as issuing larger King size pillows for the beds. This changeover will take place no later than January 2013.

The hotel is also very green friendly as they have limiters on the amount of water used when you take a shower and flush the toilet. Some may not be happy with this conscientous decision, but one should get used to it as this is the direction that many hotels and municiplaities are adopting to make a less impact on our environment. Thus, one should just use common sense when using these items.

The customer service at this hotel is excellent and I should know as I left certain items in the drawers before I left, and unlike reports from other hotels, the chambermaids not only found those items but bagged them up for me and they were readily found when I called to report my error. The hotel sent them to me via FedEx and I received them within one day of my reporting them missing.

Having stayed at the Westin before, I can honestly state that one can recieve a room that with the future changes discussed above, will better compete with that hotel's offerings at a fraction of its price point.

My rate you ask? I booked a fully refundable AAA rate of $72.00, for both nights. Beat that Sheraton, Westin, Marriott, or Hilton!

Room Tip: Ask for a complimentary upgrade to a Potomac view room -- you may just receive it if the hotel is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.