We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
London UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Overall great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed for 3 weeks on a business trip and was looked after very well by all staff. Great location, 8 blocks (10 min walk) to King Street, 10 minutes by free shuttle to DCA. Enjoyed my stay and will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    184
    126
    59
    35
See reviews for
91
121
40
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We ended up here thanks to Priceline, and it ended up being a great stay! The service was good, and the room and bed were very comfortable! Nice TV and a big window made the room very bright, very cozy. In the hotel there is a cool little pub / restaurant area...quiet and quaint...friendly bartender. We had a drink before heading out and grabbed a dinner there one evening. As far as location, as long as it is in the warmer months, you can enjoy a nice walk along the river in to the main area of town. The walk is beautiful...a trail winds down along the river and there are benches along the way...very scenic and relaxing. It might take 15 minutes to get from the hotel to the downtown area. If walking isn't your thing, they offer a free shuttle from the lobby to the downtown as well.,,so either way you are fine. We had a very enjoyable 3 night stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Hotel does not look great BUT it is conveniently located (close to the lovely Potomac River), easily connected with washington DC through the shuttle and the Metro (for those like me who do not have a car). Above all, the staff is very professionnal and courteous. Jean

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel staff was helpful from check-in to our return five days later from the airport. Getenesh Samuel was wonderful and a pleasure to work with. She took extra care of me and my children to be sure we had a shuttle ride late at night. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The Crowne Plaza at Alexandria is not the "flashest" hotel in the world, nor is it the most central but it is good value for money and is very workable for Washington DC sightseeing, as well as accessing Old Alexandria. For travellers without a car, utilising the shuttle services is key as they get you to the airport/metro or to the Old Alexandria shops (otherwise it is a 12-14min walk). Rooms and and bathrooms were serviceable without being to fancy (which is reflected in the price we paid). My only real complaint is that hallway noise seem to infiltrate into the room too easily - as did noise from an ajoinging room - with a connecting door,even with the door closed and locked.
I would stay again as this was a decent, comfortable hotel at a reasonable price - but if you do not have a car understand the shuttle schedule is key to mitigating its location

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor away from the lift lobby (and its associated traffic) - the view over the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I've stayed here on work trips three times. I was worried initially as it isn't in the Old Town, but the 8-block walk isn't really far and if you are feeling particularly lazy you can get the shuttle - the walk along the waterfront is particularly pleasant in daylight.

The first time I stayed here I had an upper floor room with a river view - it was completely perfect. Had a microwave and a fridge, which was handy as it always seemed to be very hot when I was visiting. There is a supermarket a couple of blocks away, so was easy to stock up on cold drinks and snacks.

The staff here are wonderful and friendly, especially the shuttle bus drivers. Always up for a chat and they made conversation with passengers, which I've found quite unusual when travelling. The shuttle runs to King Street for shops and the airport (which is good for the metro into DC)

The most recent time I stayed I had a room at the front of the hotel on a lower floor, and was bothered by the most awful noise coming from some sort of generator. I'm not sure if it was a one-off, but I'd always request a room on the river side if I go back.

Overall a great choice if you don't mind the walk into town.

Room Tip: River side rooms are the best for quiet and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Crowne plaza alexandria

Good
Staff were very helpful with specifics that made our stay much easier
Lower floor rooms had less by way of airport noise
Location is fairly convenient to old town (tons of shops & places to eat) and although the  metro stop is a bit of a walk, it gives easy access into DC.
Shuttle to both national and national metro stop
Room was ok , needed work in a couple of places.
We arrived just after noon but staff allowed early check in, which made it easier for us to get started sightseeing.
Although parking wasn't cheap, there was flexibility with how long your car could stay, which was helpful
Great shower!


Not so great
Paint was peeling in room, electrical outlets pulling away from wall (safety issues are not ones I'm cool with)
Internet not free unless youre a priority club member (which I was but the service was not that great). Internet connectivity overall fairly poor.
Business center computers had very slow Internet connection as well. 

Bottom line, in this location you probably won't be spending a lot of time in the room.  So it worked for us!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#25 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.