We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Michigan town
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel four times now, each time for business. It's a great location with a free shuttle from Reagan National and to downtown Alexandria, King Street. Nice, clean room and nice amenities if you are a Priority Club member. My only complaint is the service in the lounge and the lack of a restaurant for lunch/dinner. You can eat in the lounge but with a VERY limited menu.

I do think I will try the Sheraton Suites for my next visit to Alexandria.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear weekendgetaways010,

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
However I am a little confused by this. You state that there is a lack of restaurant for lunch
and dinner, however the Crowne Plaza is a full service hotel and our restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You also state at the end of you review that you will not stay at Sheraton Suites for your next visit. Our hotel is called the Crowne Plaza. I do thank you for the high ratings however I fear you may have posted your review on the wrong page.

Thanks
Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    166
    110
    53
    27
See reviews for
81
105
32
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeedah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

When you try to choose a hotel you should also look for the staff of the selected hotel. In this hptel, I felt I am home not hotel. Clean, calmn, location and great staff. I would appreciate Florivi ,the most professionnal receptionest ever seen, also the front desk manager. I would recommend this hotel for any one who is looking for such great monent to stay

Room Tip: Sea view is marvalous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I was staying four business for three nights in Mid November, The room was great as well as ther service. I want to give specail recognition to a night desk worker, who on mu last night noticed I was roaming the lobby, we spoke and I said I was unable to sleep. She went and got me some "sleepy time" tea bags and hot water. It helped! Sometimes it is the little things that make an impression. Her name was Getenash Samuel, I thank her!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Have been staying at this hotel for years. John in Reservations always helps me get great rooms, and it's a nice walk along the water down to King St. and plenty of restaurants...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We got a 12th floor river view room thanks to the help of the other reviewers on this page. The front desk personnel were friendly and helped us decide when, where, what, and how to visit the places on our itinerary. Despite the warnings on the web sight we had free parking and a free hot continental breakfast every morning. This may have been due to our Thanksgiving weekend stay when it was considerably less crowded and businesses quite generous throughout the town.

The room was clean and comfortable and housekeeping was good about visiting daily without being too conspicuous.

Now for the negatives: We never could get our lap top to connect in the room and relied on one of the two complimentary PCs in the lobby, not a problem on a weekend in November but certainly through the week or in the summer would cause many delays.
Breakfast was good every morning but by the third day I longed for a little surprise, of course I suppose I could have had a bowl of cereal for something different.
We used Expedia to get the points and our best price.

Room Tip: Our 12th foor room had a wonderful view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Town Alexanderia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Our stay at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexanderia was great and we are satisfied with the service we get. At the front desk Nasra and Flonvi were were given us a warm welcome and helped us our stay to be very enjoyable. They are very good and know what they are doing, which is very profesional and exellent service. Crowne Plaza has to be proud to have efficient employees like them.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My stay at this property was definitely a mixed experience- some good and some bad. On the plus side, the hotel is located conveniently to Reagan National Airport with frequent complimentary shuttle service. Check-in was smooth, and as a Priority Club member I was offered coupons for a free drink (beer or wine) and appetizer each evening and a free complimentary breakfast each morning. In addition I was given a free goodie bag at check-in that included an apple, chips, and bottled water. I had a room witha great view of the Potomoc so I definitely encountered some nice things. Unfortunately, the room was in poor shape- the carpet was not tacked down (glaringly so) in a few places; a ceiling mounted light fixture was not flush with the ceiling; water pressure was inconsistent; and the picture on the flat screen tv was awful- many stations were "snowy" and the audio was difficult to hear. I stayed several nights at the pproperty and the free appetizer was not always offered each night and the breakfast buffet was ok but at times the "hot" food was cold, which is inexcusable. The location is near Old Town Alexandria, but it is about a 15 minute walk away so it's not as close as many other properties- this was not a big deal to me, but if that's important to you then stay elsewhere. I do not plan on staying at this property again- too many negative issues that impacted my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.