We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUCH Improved!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MUCH Improved!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stay ehre often on business. Thehotel has always met my expectations; however earlier in this month (Nov 2011) I was mnost pleasantly surprised by a significatn improvment in customer care. The staff from check in to check out and in between could not have been nicer or more accomodatring. Aziz in the dining room was awesome! As were Rathail, Floriv and Xiomara-osed.
It was a very positive experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view- great opportunity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    188
    128
    59
    36
See reviews for
91
122
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I just did a 3 day Veterans Day weekend in DC and stayed at this hotel. It is a very nice hotel with great amenities. It is 1 mile north of King Street in Old Town Alexandria and about 5 miles from downtown DC.

They have a shuttle service that runs on the half hour to Reagan National Airport. That is where you catch the Metro to DC. It's about a 5 minute walk from the where the shuttle drops you off to the metro. Just go downstairs to baggage claim and follow the signs to the metro. They pick up on the half hour outside baggage claim door #5. They also have a shuttle that drops off and picks up on King Street on the hour. The shuttles are easy to use. Just know when the drop off and pick up times are. They are free and you won't be disappointed.

Pros:
Clean Hotel
Friendly Staff

Cons:
Expensive Breakfast - Day 1 - Buffet $28.95 for 2, Day 2 - Ordered 2 bagels via room service at $4.00 each. When they arrived at my room the bill was $13.98 plus tip because of associated charges and taxes. What a rip off! My advice: If you are driving, pack a toaster, a bag of bagels, and some fruit and eat in you room. You will save a lot of $$$. There is free in room coffee, also a refrigerator and microwave. There is also a grocery store within walking distance across from the Holiday Inn Express. Maybe a 1/4 mile walk.

Parking on the hotel lot - $20 per day ($15 if you are Priority Club member). Don't pay it! There is free on street parking on the north side of the hotel. If you arrive early and can't find a free spot close by, the free spots will open up at night. We parked our car on Friday at noon and never moved it until Sunday at 10:00 am and didn't pay a dime to park.

If you are touring DC you won't be disappointed in this hotel. Spend your days in DC and your nights walking, dining, and shopping on King St. in Old Town Alexandria. It will be a trip you will enjoy.

One more piece of advice. There are 2 Metro stations closer than the one at Reagan National, Braddock Road and King Street. From the Braddock Road station to the hotel is about a fifteen minute walk straight down Madison Street. We did it during the day. I would not advise it at night unless you are packing your nine, an Uzi, or a deuce deuce. You have to walk about 2 blocks straight through the "hood", and as an obvious tourist, you may be relieved of your valuables. The King Street station is farther away and is about a 2 1/2 mile walk.

Room Tip: High floors on the North side have a great view of DC. Check your Entertainment book rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

From checkin to check out - it is a great experience. Special thanks to Florivi for making the stay extra special and enjoyable.

Great place to stay in Old Town!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Hotel is on the airport route for landing and taking off. Most airlines workers stay here, reason for the price of hotel. Restuarant in hotel bad services. Waited over a half hour not even a waitress come by with even a water or menu. The house keepers come by late on Sunday around 1700. The shuttles drivers need to take driving lessons. The front desk needs to work on the manors.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stay at this Hotel an average of six times a year on business and I always get treated like a king. Staff is friendly and very professional and always remember my name.
Xiomara and Rachad are awesome.

Room Tip: river view of couse. stay away from 3rd floor near elevator: laundry room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend during October. It is close to the harbor and within walking distance of King St. If you're interested in traveling on the metro, it is quite a distance. They do have a shuttle that will take you there, but we did not use it. Our room was large, clean and had a nice view of the Potomac River. We booked on Priceline and got a good deal for the weekend, but were unable to add an additional night. We just moved hotels to the other end of the historic district. I would not recommend paying for the breakfast buffet. There are other choices nearby and for $12.95, I didn't feel it was worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I, together with out 2 friends stayed for 3 nights at the hotel in June.
The room was good, clean and nice. However, the service was horrible.

One afternoon we left the room late (12pm) after a sleep in and came back to find that the room had not been cleaned at all. We buzzed reception and were told that the rooms only got cleaned once a day and we had missed it so too bad.

Unsatisfied with this answer, we went down to the front desk to clarify what was going on. The manager on duty was the rudest I'd ever had to displeasure of dealing with. She repeated that it was our fault that the room had not been made up.
Halfway through our conversation with her, she went off without warning and served another customer and left us hanging for a good 15 minutes. After that she refused to talk to us and was just downright rude.

I am very disappointed in the level of service at this internationally known hotel chain.
I would never recommend anyone stay there. It completely ruined our trip to DC.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
1.2 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#25 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.